We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Sugar Beach to your Saves list
Sugar Beach
23044 Perdido Beach Blvd., Orange Beach, AL 36561   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Orange Beach
2 reviews
“Great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

First time coming to Orange Beach, AL with friends that been staying here for the last few years; who said good things as well. We stayed in rm #357 and had decent accommodations for my family of 4. Great location for the beach & has 3 1/2 pools too. Always something to do that's close to the condo or just a short drive in either direction for retailers or food. Would like to come back soon!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    10
    15
    8
    8
See reviews for
21
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

My two sons and I visited orange beach for 3 days. Since most properties require a one week minimum stay, we were happy to get this condo right on the beach. We knew that the condo would be small. That wasn't the problem. First, there was no wifi. I called and followed the instructions but it kept going out. There was pretty good wifi access at the pool area. Second, if you use the outlet in the bathroom, the power in the room will go out. Luckily, we figured out how to flip the breaker switch. Second, the balcony door was difficult to open and close. But that didn't matter because it was not a very pleasant place to sit. The window unit (that runs continuously) blows hot air on you on the tiny balcony that overlooks an adjacent parking lot. If you crane your neck you can see the ocean. The furniture out there is plastic crap. Kitchen drawers were broken. There was a wall that could have used some hooks for hanging things as the space is tiny. I would only rent this place for two maximum. There were three of us and the futon was uncomfortable. The hallways were prison like. I'm no prima Donna but this place was a dump. On the plus side, it is right on the beach. Great location. The pool and concession area is nice. I would recommend that the owners shut this place down and do a complete renovation. It's old and it shows. Nevertheless we enjoyed orange beach and gulf shores.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

I absolutely loved this place ! We stayed in unit 177 which is perfect for 2 people ! We rented through Brett Robinson #BRbeachlife and was pleasantly surprised at how nice our condo was ! We originally picked this condo for the great low price not knowing how nice it was going to be . It was super clean and decorated so nicely ! Absolutely loved the updated shower ! Going to the beach from our unit was effortless , great beach access ! they had a snack bar and 3 pools plus one just for small kids ! The location was great ! Very relaxed atmosphere ! Had a great place to eat fresh seafood across the street that we thoroughly enjoyed ! I would recommend this place to everyone!!! I give it a 5 star

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

We were very happy with our stay at Sugar Beach! The rooms are nice and clean with comfy beds. We really enjoy having a snack bar beside the pool area that serves everything from hamburgers to mixed drinks. They also sell items you may have forgotten such as sunscreen, pool floats and Tylenol. The condo is located on the beach with chair & umbrella service available for a fee. The chair attendants will even go back and forth to the snack bar (sugar shack) for you. There are only 3 floors so elevator wait time was minimal. We also love that there are 3 pools to pick from and also a kiddie pool. We will definitely be booking here again with Brett Robinson realty. They are an awesome company to book with. We have booked with them for years now and they have always exceeded our expectations!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Decent rooms - fairly clean and plenty of space for a family of 4. Three pools to choose from as well as a kiddie pool. Nice beach access.

Two negatives,1- dirty dishes upon check in. Nothing like seeing lipstick on mugs. 2 - no WiFi for the week we stayed.

Lots to do while there and we had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast Missouri
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We stayed in unit 325 from June 30-July 5, 2014. Our family had a great experience. The complex seems full of families, everyone was very friendly and willing to offer advice. The beach sand is amazing. My girls loved finding shells and wading in the waves. Our condo was fully stocked with everything you would need for a vacation. The only cleaning issue I saw were some dust bunnies in the corners, behind the bed and the walls/air vents needed to be cleaned. These weren't issues that made our stay less pleasurable. The parking did seem to get crowded after 10pm, and some spaces were difficult to get into. Our girls enjoyed the pools, but we really spent more time at the beach. We even watched fireworks from the beach that were being set off at the Gulf State Pier. Overall this place is great if you get an updated nice unit. I would definitely recommend Sugar Beach!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas, OK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Unit was clean. Front of building towards beach. Carts available to take up luggage. Parking tiny and could get door dinged easily. Security always greeted us upon arrival. Sugar Shack handy for snacks or beverages. 3 pools which was wonderful when they were busy! Location a little out of the way...long walk to activities. Overall I liked this place. Not fancy, but our unit was exactly what we needed. Everything worked like TVs, washer/dryer, stove, blah. No problems at all. Worth the money better than a $200 a night hotel with no appliances!!!!

Room Tip: Read reviews. Remember some people are OVER picky. If you see a common trend and everyone agrees...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sugar Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Beach

Address: 23044 Perdido Beach Blvd., Orange Beach, AL 36561
Location: United States > Alabama > Orange Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Orange Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sugar Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Beach Hotel Orange Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.