We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable and enjoyable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sugar Beach to your Saves list
Sugar Beach
23044 Perdido Beach Blvd., Orange Beach, AL 36561   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Orange Beach
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Affordable and enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Decent rooms - fairly clean and plenty of space for a family of 4. Three pools to choose from as well as a kiddie pool. Nice beach access.

Two negatives,1- dirty dishes upon check in. Nothing like seeing lipstick on mugs. 2 - no WiFi for the week we stayed.

Lots to do while there and we had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    10
    15
    8
    8
See reviews for
21
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southeast Missouri
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We stayed in unit 325 from June 30-July 5, 2014. Our family had a great experience. The complex seems full of families, everyone was very friendly and willing to offer advice. The beach sand is amazing. My girls loved finding shells and wading in the waves. Our condo was fully stocked with everything you would need for a vacation. The only cleaning issue I saw were some dust bunnies in the corners, behind the bed and the walls/air vents needed to be cleaned. These weren't issues that made our stay less pleasurable. The parking did seem to get crowded after 10pm, and some spaces were difficult to get into. Our girls enjoyed the pools, but we really spent more time at the beach. We even watched fireworks from the beach that were being set off at the Gulf State Pier. Overall this place is great if you get an updated nice unit. I would definitely recommend Sugar Beach!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas, OK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Unit was clean. Front of building towards beach. Carts available to take up luggage. Parking tiny and could get door dinged easily. Security always greeted us upon arrival. Sugar Shack handy for snacks or beverages. 3 pools which was wonderful when they were busy! Location a little out of the way...long walk to activities. Overall I liked this place. Not fancy, but our unit was exactly what we needed. Everything worked like TVs, washer/dryer, stove, blah. No problems at all. Worth the money better than a $200 a night hotel with no appliances!!!!

Room Tip: Read reviews. Remember some people are OVER picky. If you see a common trend and everyone agrees...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

This is one of the oldest facilities in the area, but that is no excuse for the number of repair issues that there are. Doors and railings are rusting out, the whole facility could use a simple coat of paint, the hallways and many condos smell old and musty. I can say it isn't the worst place I have ever stayed, but I believe I can safely say that it is the worst place I have stayed on the Gulf Coast, if some of my wife's family had not already booked a non refundable unit I would have trusted the reviews and we would not have been staying at this facility.

To beat it all they oversell the parking so of you are staying at a busy time make sure to return to your condos early so you aren't being told to illegally park in fire lanes and handicap spots or parked outside the facility along the fence.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort smith
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

We just spent a week at sugar sands- rooms are very wore out- blinds missing - TVs not working or ceiling fans- beds completely wore out an sunk in an had to put books under it to keep middle up- an we weren't the only ones complaining- the pool was full of people talking about it- an the price for it was ridiculous- complained but the young girl working the office wasn't in charge to do anything!!! Won't be staying there next year - very disappointed -

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southaven, Mississippi
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The rental owner was very nice but clueless on the condition of property. The room was filthy and I told her and she apologized. This eff. not a one bed room. There is a 110 A/C window unit in room which is not big enough to cool room. Dishwasher does not work and there is no view what so ever except for debri filled lot. We were totally dissatisfied.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

The location was great, but the room was extremely outdated, small, and absolutely filthy. I re-washed the towels and sheets because they weren't very clean. The tub was extremely clogged up with hair from previous guests. There was sand all over the room when we got there. The room even smelled like mold. I have no intentions of ever staying at this location ever again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sugar Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Beach

Address: 23044 Perdido Beach Blvd., Orange Beach, AL 36561
Location: United States > Alabama > Orange Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Orange Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Sugar Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Beach Hotel Orange Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.