We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still looking for the sweet spot in Vacation Rentals. This was close” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Beach

Save Saved
You added Sugar Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sugar Beach
23044 Perdido Beach Blvd., Orange Beach, AL 36561   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 17 hotels in Orange Beach
Little Rock, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Still looking for the sweet spot in Vacation Rentals. This was close”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Older property. Parking secured by guarded gate most of parking shaded as it is the first floor.Only one elevator for whole complex. If this is out it could be a real problem for some folks. it was out when we first got there but began working before we started to move our stuff up. We didn't use it again until we were leaving and repacking car. There are plenty stairwells. I saw lots of folks cleaning the common areas each morning. 3 grills and 6 or so picnic tables. The Snack bar was always busy and had a good selection. Pools right under the full ocean view rooms not sure how that would workout for those rooms.( we stayed in partial view). Which has a small view of water and sand and a clear view across to otherbuilding. There are two good size pools and a decent size kiddie pool between the dunes and the building. There is another pool on the second floor and has view of ocean also tennis courts and shuffle board area. All of these second floor areas have some shade in parts of morning and afternoon as they are between the two buildings. Older place but clean.Good basic place to stay.
Unit we rented was an efficiency. Paint reminded me of when I would paint my rental places in college, no taping lots of overlap and odd color choices. It was full of fake plants and knickknacks. Moved the big plants outside to balcony. Dryer vented back into room with a pair of panty hose over the end of output to minimize the dust and lint. Towel rack broken. Need towel rack at beach and the whole place has a rule of not hanging towels on balcony. Blender broken, but there was a bottom to another blender. Couldn't match them. Furniture a little beat. Everything tight for four (2 adults and 2 medium size kids). Balcony pretty useless as the air conditioner was vented on it and the chairs were broken as was table. It was almost a good deal. A little bit better unit and it would have been. It is the beach. Where do we want to be when we are at the beach? We want to be at the beach not in the room. the beach. Sand, salt and water are going to ruin everything. We will go back as it really was easy and pricing was decent . Beach was good, we left some our our items there over night and returned to them the next day with no issues. There is chair and umbrella service available as well. This is a good place. I will stay again. I will probably find a different owner and get a 1 bedroom for more space and privacy. Hopefully that will be the sweet spot.

Room Tip: Pure ocean view rooms are over the 2 main pools and kiddie pools, partial views are everything else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    7
    12
    6
    2
See reviews for
16
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Xi'an, China
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

I suppose it's with anything, but there are certainly pros and cons with this property. It still may be the place for you, but at least know what you're getting. We had unit 108, and I know an experience can vary greatly based on which condo you get.
Pros:
*One of the least expensive ocean front condos we found in the area.
*The Sugar Shack snack bar was a great perk. Their burgers, corn dogs, BLTs, drinks etc were all very reasonably priced and meant you didn't have to leave the property for lunch.
*It is ocean front, so the walk from condo to beach is easy.
*There are at least three pools and a kiddie pool. These can be a nice break from the seaweed.
*Our condo was clean and cheery.
Cons:
*Our unit was advertised (different website) as "Ocean view." Ocean front and ocean view are not the same thing, and our condo had a close-up view of the parking garage and tennis courts. Not only did we not have the view we expected, we felt we had to keep the curtain closed for any privacy.
*No privacy on balconies. Most had a view of the parking garage.
*Fold out couch was terrible - unusable. We were glad we'd brought a blow-up mattress as a back-up. Don't count on that sofa.
*Parking garage is cramped. If a bigger SUV doesn't park just right, the space next to it is out. There aren't a whole lot of spaces.
*No free Wi-Fi. It's around $8 per day or $20 per week, give or take a dollar.

Room Tip: Choose an ocean view room, if possible. Double check that it is as ours was incorrectly labeled as s...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Pros: Beautiful view, great beach, clean condo with cheerful interior paint, nice master bedroom, low key, relaxing area, proximity to major retail stores and restaurants.

Cons: Unfriendly office staff, older interior furniture, the patio furniture is riddled with smoke burns and is the poorest furniture on any balcony with a side or gulf view. One pool ladder broke causing the adult pool nearest the kiddie pool to be off limits for 36 hours.

Room Tip: If the balcony isn't displayed in the picture (just the view), then there's probably a reaso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branson, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Outside of building was good. 2 pools plus a kiddie pool. Bar complete with snacks. Beach nice. However inside of building was like a parking garage. Room was awful. All appliances were rusted, bedspread had stains, overall dirty and shabby. Not happy with our stay there.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We just returned from our 5th stay at Sugar Beach condos and have been very happy with them. Granted, they are older and not the fanciest or as many ammenities as the newer high-rises; but if you want to save money, aren't too picky, and want to avoid the crowds, it is a great choice. It is a low-rise, concrete structure, so sturdy, and the beach is not nearly as crowded. I rarely hear noise from nieghbors beside, above, or below, though sometimes from the hallways or pool if you are ocean front. We have stayed in both the 1-br loft an 3-br condos, both ocean front and side view. The 3-br are pretty spacious and depending on how many beds in each room, you can fit quite a few people in there! Ocean front is nice, but you save quite a bit if you don't mind settling for a side-view. We usually go during fall break in October, and that is definitely the best time to go! The rates are really cheap, you almost have the beach to yourself, and the air and water temps are still warm, but the humidity is lower. Just be sure you check out pics of the units before you rent one. We have always rented thru Sugar Sands Realty (just across the street) and have never had any problems. Note: you are only allowed one parking pass per unit, not a problem for us, but could be for some.

Room Tip: Check out photos of individual units online! They can vary greatly in the style & quality of de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011 via mobile

3 bedroom/2 level unit. Tile throughout which was nice. Simple but nice decor. A couple doors (i.e. bathroom) were broken and wouldn't latch. This was our first time to the Alabama gulf coast and we quite liked it. We look forward to a return. The beach was nice but there was a fair amount of trash; not sure if that was normal or a consequence of tropical storm Lee which paid us a visit. The complex requires all cars to purchase a parking pass.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed in a studio condo towards the front of the complex.
This complex is gulf front, but our condo was a side view. We loved the location in Orange Beach--have fallen in love with this area, as it is not as crowded and developed as many places along the gulf coast. There was a storm during our stay--so the water was not as clear as we would like, waves were big, and it rained a lot--but we also know that everyday is a new day on the beach. Certainly, every week is new.
Our room could use a remodel and a very good cleaning. It was adaquate and we would stay there again but it had several small issues. The bottom line was--bed was comfortable and air was cold. I dont require a lot. In comparison, this unit was very inexpesive--so we tend to over look a lot when we feel we have a bargain.
Nothing is provided--no towels, no kitchen towels,cleaners, etc. The kitchen was stock at a bare minimum. Several things in kitchen needed repaired--dishwasher was not bolted in, ice maker didnt work, cabinets were warped and not very clean inside. While on the balcony, you had to turn off ac to avoid heat and noise put out by unit. Carpet seemed dirty.
The complex has a neat set up--with 4 pools (one being a kiddy pool) and a nice snack bar that serves food, snacks, drinks.
To the west, there is one condo complex and a group of houses/duplexes and then a state park begins and about 2 miles down is the pier. We walked to the pier and back one night.
I scored this an average b/c I feel there is room for improvement with the particular condo we stayed in--however, I would stay there again. We have stayed in much nicer condos, but we have also paid a lot more.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sugar Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Beach

Also Known As:
Sugar Beach Hotel Orange Beach
Sugar Beach Hotel
Address: 23044 Perdido Beach Blvd., Orange Beach, AL 36561
Location: United States > Alabama > Orange Beach
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Orange Beach
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Sugar Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.