We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Location, 345E needs some TLC” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sugar Beach to your Saves list
Sugar Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   23044 Perdido Beach Blvd., Orange Beach, AL 36561   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Orange Beach
Swansea, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Location, 345E needs some TLC”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Pros: Beautiful view, great beach, clean condo with cheerful interior paint, nice master bedroom, low key, relaxing area, proximity to major retail stores and restaurants.

Cons: Unfriendly office staff, older interior furniture, the patio furniture is riddled with smoke burns and is the poorest furniture on any balcony with a side or gulf view. One pool ladder broke causing the adult pool nearest the kiddie pool to be off limits for 36 hours.

Room Tip: If the balcony isn't displayed in the picture (just the view), then there's probably a reaso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    14
    15
    8
    8
See reviews for
24
18
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Branson, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Outside of building was good. 2 pools plus a kiddie pool. Bar complete with snacks. Beach nice. However inside of building was like a parking garage. Room was awful. All appliances were rusted, bedspread had stains, overall dirty and shabby. Not happy with our stay there.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We just returned from our 5th stay at Sugar Beach condos and have been very happy with them. Granted, they are older and not the fanciest or as many ammenities as the newer high-rises; but if you want to save money, aren't too picky, and want to avoid the crowds, it is a great choice. It is a low-rise, concrete structure, so sturdy, and the beach is not nearly as crowded. I rarely hear noise from nieghbors beside, above, or below, though sometimes from the hallways or pool if you are ocean front. We have stayed in both the 1-br loft an 3-br condos, both ocean front and side view. The 3-br are pretty spacious and depending on how many beds in each room, you can fit quite a few people in there! Ocean front is nice, but you save quite a bit if you don't mind settling for a side-view. We usually go during fall break in October, and that is definitely the best time to go! The rates are really cheap, you almost have the beach to yourself, and the air and water temps are still warm, but the humidity is lower. Just be sure you check out pics of the units before you rent one. We have always rented thru Sugar Sands Realty (just across the street) and have never had any problems. Note: you are only allowed one parking pass per unit, not a problem for us, but could be for some.

Room Tip: Check out photos of individual units online! They can vary greatly in the style & quality of de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

3 bedroom/2 level unit. Tile throughout which was nice. Simple but nice decor. A couple doors (i.e. bathroom) were broken and wouldn't latch. This was our first time to the Alabama gulf coast and we quite liked it. We look forward to a return. The beach was nice but there was a fair amount of trash; not sure if that was normal or a consequence of tropical storm Lee which paid us a visit. The complex requires all cars to purchase a parking pass.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed in a studio condo towards the front of the complex.
This complex is gulf front, but our condo was a side view. We loved the location in Orange Beach--have fallen in love with this area, as it is not as crowded and developed as many places along the gulf coast. There was a storm during our stay--so the water was not as clear as we would like, waves were big, and it rained a lot--but we also know that everyday is a new day on the beach. Certainly, every week is new.
Our room could use a remodel and a very good cleaning. It was adaquate and we would stay there again but it had several small issues. The bottom line was--bed was comfortable and air was cold. I dont require a lot. In comparison, this unit was very inexpesive--so we tend to over look a lot when we feel we have a bargain.
Nothing is provided--no towels, no kitchen towels,cleaners, etc. The kitchen was stock at a bare minimum. Several things in kitchen needed repaired--dishwasher was not bolted in, ice maker didnt work, cabinets were warped and not very clean inside. While on the balcony, you had to turn off ac to avoid heat and noise put out by unit. Carpet seemed dirty.
The complex has a neat set up--with 4 pools (one being a kiddy pool) and a nice snack bar that serves food, snacks, drinks.
To the west, there is one condo complex and a group of houses/duplexes and then a state park begins and about 2 miles down is the pier. We walked to the pier and back one night.
I scored this an average b/c I feel there is room for improvement with the particular condo we stayed in--however, I would stay there again. We have stayed in much nicer condos, but we have also paid a lot more.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

My husband and i just returned from a 4day stay at Sugar Beach 243! The condo itself if very nice. A previous reviewer stated that it was very dim lit, i think they must have reviewed the wrong unit as the lighting was fine!! The unit has a gulf view; however, it is right above the pool so it can be noisy! It was high season so this was expected! The AC Unit is on the balcony so in order to enjoy the view without the noise and heat from the AC we had to shut off the unit when we were outside.
The room has a king bed that is really comfy but could use a new comfortor as it is showing it's age. The sheets and the comfortable were both clean though..
The kitchen is very nice and has plenty of dishes and utensils to use if you like to cook while you are at the beach. The kitchen really was a hit for us as it was stocked with anything we need to cook with as well as granite countertops and new cabinetry that made it even more pleasant.
The Sugar Beach condos are very old in comparison to many of the places in Orange Beach and i can see how one unit could possible be way better than others if they had not been renovated like 243 clearly has been.
The interior of the building is very dimly lit with no air conditioning. It reminded me of a college dormitory! It was fine considering we had a great little studio overlooking the ocean.
I was not as impressed with the beach!! Everyone said to expect blue water but that is just not the case in Orange Beach. The water was the same color as the lakes we have here in TN! It was not bad just not what folks led us to believe we would be experiencing! The beach is not well maintained and folks leave their beach gear overnight in piles!! Really weird and simply a mess! Lots of cigarette butts and trash on the beach as well. Even though our condo interior was very nice I will likely chose a different beach than Orange beach in the future!!! There are nicer and cleaner beaches with nicer accomodations than Orange Beach!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

I think the key to booking at this property is to make sure you are in a recently renovated condo. I was a little worried that a trip to the beach over the 4th of July weekend would result in crowded pools and noise, but I was pleasantly surprised.

There are 3 large pools and a kiddie pool here so there was plenty of room to spread out and plenty of chairs available. The Sugar Shack by the pool makes excellent frozen drinks and you are right on the beach, so no driving.

As for the condo, we rented a 1 bedroom. The bedroom was upstairs, which allowed for a little privacy when you also have someone sleeping on the fold out sofa.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sugar Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Beach

Address: 23044 Perdido Beach Blvd., Orange Beach, AL 36561
Location: United States > Alabama > Orange Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Orange Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sugar Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sugar Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Beach Hotel Orange Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.