We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean safe and great for families!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Perdido Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Perdido Beach Resort to your Saves list
Perdido Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   27200 Perdido Beach Blvd, Orange Beach, AL 36561   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Orange Beach
Birmingham, Alabama
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Clean safe and great for families!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

It was great to go back to this hotel. My family and I hadn't been there in several years. The place continues to be very good and peaceful. Our room was very quiet and had a good view of the ocean, despite not being "ocean front" (you pay extra for that). The beds were comfortable and the decoration was tasteful. The pool area is very nice, and you can swim from there to the indoor pool. The beach in front of the hotel is wonderful, and the area seems very safe even at night. One of my suggestions for improvement would be more food options around the pool area.

Room Tip: If you are bothered by noise in the evening, the lower level rooms facing the pool are probably a li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    105
    64
    30
    21
See reviews for
88
86
2
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Don't bother to pay for an ocean view when the partial view was spectacular! We had full view of the pool and the beach as well. We felt totally safe in the hotel and didn't hesitate to let our 10 and 12 year old walk ahead of us to and from the pool. The walk to the beach was a good workout and you'll either need to bring a lawn chair with you or rent the chairs from the hotel at $25.00 a day. (the grocery store, Dollar General and souvenir stores all had chairs for sale as well as boogie boards for a reasonable price.)

The room was clean, we had plenty of towels and pillows. There was more than enough room for our group of 5 in the room even with the roll-a-way bed set up in the corner. Now, by that I mean, we weren't stacked on top of each other but we also kept things picked up and put away. We unpacked our clothes taking advantage of the closet, (consider buying or bringing extra hangers as the hotel only had six) and the dresser. We stored our water, Gatorade and suitcases under the roll-a-way. We kept our bathroom items in a small bag under the sink near the closet for quick access if someone was using the full bathroom. The alarm clock in the room worked double duty as a clock and night lite. If I didn't have a sleeping mask it would have been unplugged, yes it was that bright. The rooms AC worked GREAT! So nice to come back to a nice cool room after being out at the pool and beach all day. Maid service was either knocking on the door at 8:00am or 4:00pm ish. Always seemed to be there when we were so they never made the beds or vacuumed just changed out the towels, emptied the trash.

It's a good thing the pool closes at 11:00pm because everything echoed up the walls into the room. We could hear everything going on at the pool.

The fitness center needs some attention! The machines are rusted, noisy and dirty but they worked.

Valet service was always fast and friendly but the self parking would have worked just as well.

The only time we ate in the hotel was on the first night and we had pizza from the shop on beach level. I recommend it if you want a fast meal by the pool or even to take to the beach or your room.

Save your suitcase space for clothes and leave your towels at home. The hotel has PLENTY of towels to use poolside and to carry down to the beach. If there aren't towels under the little hut poolside there were always towels on the bench next to the Jacuzzi.

I agree with others reviews who said the staff didn't really care about you as an individual. While "resort" is in the title the service wasn't any better than any low end chain. No one went out of their way to make the stay a special one. Two families in our reunion group of seven asked for a late check out, (after their 4 night stay) and were offered a 30 minute extension. When they asked about an additional night they were offered a rate savings of $1.00. Yes, you read that right, ONE dollar. We asked about extending our stay and were told it wouldn't be a problem at all because they were slow and had plenty of available rooms.

This resort was picked for us by someone in our reunion and while overall the hotel wasn't bad it wasn't somewhere I would recommend to others or be eager to return too. I would definitely look for other accommodations if we ever return to the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer P, Interactive Marketing Manager at Perdido Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
We are sorry to hear that your stay fell short of expectations and that the service you received left you dissatisfied. Please be assured that your comments are of deep concern to us and we are taking steps to insure that the problems you experienced are corrected. Thank you for the candid response and thank you for your business. We hope that you will give us another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Really nice staff, best pool in OB with live music in afternoon/evenings. Pool bar and outside restaurant was perfect! Would definitely go back. The only thing is the balcony is very small if you are in Gulf/Pool view room. No more than 2 people can fit.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

When finding our room we realized it had been smoked in. This disgusted us. They tried very hard to fix it and make the smell disappear. It didn't. My husband went to front desk and talked with them. They changed our room and gave us a room with a better view. We were happy with our stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a couple days with our grandchildren. It is clean and quite. It is a lot outdated though. The rooms still have the popcorn ceilings and the style to everything is just a look of the early 80's. They said they have 4 different restaurants but we only ate in two. The pizza place really isn't a restaurant to me. It is counter service with tables to sit at if you want. We ate there and it is just pizza. We ate at the Café Palm Breeze and it has an old outdated look as well. The food was average and that was about it. The staff was about average, not friendly. They answered any questions but that was about it. On Saturday they had a 3 piece band by the pool which was nice, but, the pool is very small for the size of the hotel. All in all, when we go back to Orange Beach we will look for a different hotel, but, if we couldn't find somewhere else for close to the same price, we would stay here. There just was not anything special about our stay there at all.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one week during July, upon arrival we were pleased to learn they were upgrading our room due to an opening, which we were not charged for. Staff at front desk was great and helpful, rooms were clean with no issues. I was mildly disappointed with the cell phone service and internet connections, but that is not really their fault. Food was good, and there was very easy access to the ocean, which was less than 5 minutes away from the pool. Live music playing at night on the piano, which was nice but a little too loud. Overall I truly enjoyed the stay and am sad to go. Come see the place sometime, especially if you are looking for a clean family friendly environment.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

My husband and I visited Orange Beach for the first time in mid July. We are well traveled and have stayed at every hotel category from a rustic cabin to a luxury five star Ritz Carlton. Following is an honest review or our experience at Perdido Beach Resort.

We always research an area and hotel extensively prior to arrival and PBR seemed to be the nicest and have the most amenities for the Orange Beach area. This is reflected in cost as well. Upon check in we were upgraded to a pool/beach view, very nice this was done. Self parking and valet is complimentary, as is Wi Fi. Another plus. A bellman assisted me to our room with luggage, he was nice enough but did not do anything above and beyond such as offer to get ice, or talk about room or property features. This was the experience with all employees at this hotel, nice but not polished and almost just going through the motions. If excellent service is what you need/demand perhaps look to another beach destination.

We ate breakfast at Cafe Palm, it was reasonable at 9.95 pp. Omelette station, all the obligatory sides, with again sub par service. Had to ask for coffee and juice, when this was brought to waiters attention he almost scolded me because he was "busy". Also, buffet was full of children who were allowed to maneuver it unaccompanied, touching food with bare hands or putting it back. After that experience we did not partake of any other restaurants on site so I cannot state an opinion of those.

The hotel itself sits directly on a powdery white sand beach, by far the best feature of the property. In general, hotel is slightly run down and rather dirty. Old, torn carpet in hallways and rooms. Pool had mildew on tiles, as did shower in our room. Balcony chairs were flithy, I cleaned them myself with a wipe which was black when I was done. Beach chairs and umbrellas are not complimentary, rent for $25 a day. Noticed decidedly above the norm when it comes to those who smoke in this area. Beach air was ruined as was pool experience with a lot of smokers. Pool was over run with screaming, cannon balling kids. This may not be the norm, as it was just after 4th of July. I will suggest a seperate adults only pool if this hotel does get alot of familes. They probably do not get much repeat business from couples seeking relaxation and quiet. Another example is being woken up very early every morning by screaming kids in the hallway. Overall, we had a nice time but will not return. We will stick to Amelia Island in Fl or Kiawah Island in SC. Orange Beach is ok, however there are much nicer, more luxurious resorts for the same money. Keep this in mind if you are looking for a couples get away in search of peace and quiet.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Perdido Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Perdido Beach Resort

Address: 27200 Perdido Beach Blvd, Orange Beach, AL 36561
Location: United States > Alabama > Orange Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Orange Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Orange Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Orange Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Perdido Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a full-service Mediterranean-style resort hotel located on the beautiful white sand beaches of the Alabama Gulf Coast. Perdido Beach Resort is perfect for a weekend-getaway, a relaxing vacation or a business meeting accompanied by beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Perdido Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Perdido Beach Hotel Orange Beach
Orange Beach Perdido Beach
Perdido Beach Orange Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Perdido Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.