We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort, perfect for a family vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Perdido Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Perdido Beach Resort to your Saves list
Perdido Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   27200 Perdido Beach Blvd, Orange Beach, AL 36561   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Valet Parking
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Orange Beach
Lafayette, Louisiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Resort, perfect for a family vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Really nice staff, best pool in OB with live music in afternoon/evenings. Pool bar and outside restaurant was perfect! Would definitely go back. The only thing is the balcony is very small if you are in Gulf/Pool view room. No more than 2 people can fit.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    110
    65
    30
    22
See reviews for
90
88
2
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

When finding our room we realized it had been smoked in. This disgusted us. They tried very hard to fix it and make the smell disappear. It didn't. My husband went to front desk and talked with them. They changed our room and gave us a room with a better view. We were happy with our stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a couple days with our grandchildren. It is clean and quite. It is a lot outdated though. The rooms still have the popcorn ceilings and the style to everything is just a look of the early 80's. They said they have 4 different restaurants but we only ate in two. The pizza place really isn't a restaurant to me. It is counter service with tables to sit at if you want. We ate there and it is just pizza. We ate at the Café Palm Breeze and it has an old outdated look as well. The food was average and that was about it. The staff was about average, not friendly. They answered any questions but that was about it. On Saturday they had a 3 piece band by the pool which was nice, but, the pool is very small for the size of the hotel. All in all, when we go back to Orange Beach we will look for a different hotel, but, if we couldn't find somewhere else for close to the same price, we would stay here. There just was not anything special about our stay there at all.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one week during July, upon arrival we were pleased to learn they were upgrading our room due to an opening, which we were not charged for. Staff at front desk was great and helpful, rooms were clean with no issues. I was mildly disappointed with the cell phone service and internet connections, but that is not really their fault. Food was good, and there was very easy access to the ocean, which was less than 5 minutes away from the pool. Live music playing at night on the piano, which was nice but a little too loud. Overall I truly enjoyed the stay and am sad to go. Come see the place sometime, especially if you are looking for a clean family friendly environment.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

My husband and I visited Orange Beach for the first time in mid July. We are well traveled and have stayed at every hotel category from a rustic cabin to a luxury five star Ritz Carlton. Following is an honest review or our experience at Perdido Beach Resort.

We always research an area and hotel extensively prior to arrival and PBR seemed to be the nicest and have the most amenities for the Orange Beach area. This is reflected in cost as well. Upon check in we were upgraded to a pool/beach view, very nice this was done. Self parking and valet is complimentary, as is Wi Fi. Another plus. A bellman assisted me to our room with luggage, he was nice enough but did not do anything above and beyond such as offer to get ice, or talk about room or property features. This was the experience with all employees at this hotel, nice but not polished and almost just going through the motions. If excellent service is what you need/demand perhaps look to another beach destination.

We ate breakfast at Cafe Palm, it was reasonable at 9.95 pp. Omelette station, all the obligatory sides, with again sub par service. Had to ask for coffee and juice, when this was brought to waiters attention he almost scolded me because he was "busy". Also, buffet was full of children who were allowed to maneuver it unaccompanied, touching food with bare hands or putting it back. After that experience we did not partake of any other restaurants on site so I cannot state an opinion of those.

The hotel itself sits directly on a powdery white sand beach, by far the best feature of the property. In general, hotel is slightly run down and rather dirty. Old, torn carpet in hallways and rooms. Pool had mildew on tiles, as did shower in our room. Balcony chairs were flithy, I cleaned them myself with a wipe which was black when I was done. Beach chairs and umbrellas are not complimentary, rent for $25 a day. Noticed decidedly above the norm when it comes to those who smoke in this area. Beach air was ruined as was pool experience with a lot of smokers. Pool was over run with screaming, cannon balling kids. This may not be the norm, as it was just after 4th of July. I will suggest a seperate adults only pool if this hotel does get alot of familes. They probably do not get much repeat business from couples seeking relaxation and quiet. Another example is being woken up very early every morning by screaming kids in the hallway. Overall, we had a nice time but will not return. We will stick to Amelia Island in Fl or Kiawah Island in SC. Orange Beach is ok, however there are much nicer, more luxurious resorts for the same money. Keep this in mind if you are looking for a couples get away in search of peace and quiet.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batesville, Mississippi
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I like Perdido Beach Resort because it actually seems like a resort. Some girlfriends and I came for a concert weekend at the Wharf. We wanted to stay in a hotel that provided better amenities than the average hotel so we could relax during the day. I think this place was a great choice. Our room was nice, the service was excellent, and the beach access was great as well. All of the staff was helpful, especially the bartenders at the pool bar and the attendants on the beach. I would recommend this place for a couple, group, or families.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer P, Interactive Marketing Manager at Perdido Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for the great review. We are so glad you had a wonderful stay. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed for four days over the Fourth of July Weekend. The negative is that the place was simply packed. According to the hotel they were at 100% occupancy. Because of this service was slow at the various outlets like the bar and restaurants.

The resort is pretty and we were entertained enough to hang out there for the majority of the trip. The pool bar was cool. The bartenders during the night are not as good as the day time ones. We ate pizza poolside one of the days and everyone liked the pie. Also we had a dinner in the Palm Breeze Café which was nothing memorable but ok. The spicy crab dip was excellent.

On Saturday night they had a BBQ buffet, music, and a live fireworks show at the hotel which was probably the highlight of the trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Perdido Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Perdido Beach Resort

Address: 27200 Perdido Beach Blvd, Orange Beach, AL 36561
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Orange Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Orange Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Orange Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Orange Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Orange Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Perdido Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a full-service Mediterranean-style resort hotel located on the beautiful white sand beaches of the Alabama Gulf Coast. Perdido Beach Resort is perfect for a weekend-getaway, a relaxing vacation or a business meeting accompanied by beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Perdido Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Perdido Beach Hotel Orange Beach
Orange Beach Perdido Beach
Perdido Beach Orange Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Perdido Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.