We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Vacation Ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Perdido Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Perdido Beach Resort to your Saves list
Perdido Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   27200 Perdido Beach Blvd, Orange Beach, AL 36561   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Orange Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Macomb, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Vacation Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This is my first review, but had to take the time to share my wonderful experience, since some reviews make you skeptical. We stayed 6 nights, which was a perfect amount of time. This was a little drive for us driving from Michigan, but it was well worth every penny. We just got back yesterday, we went for the week of the forth of July. When we arrived we were greeted with the valet guy who got us a travel cart and helped unload all of our stuff. He even walked with us to our room and brought all of it in for us. Also, explained the hotel and stuff to do in the area. It is free to valet park. They do have a lot for you to park your own car with a ticket in your window, which we did the rest of the trip to come and go as we please. The lobby is beautiful when you walk in. We got there around 3:30 our room was ready we had the west tower pool/beach view 7th floor, it was a great view of everything. The room was very clean and loved the balcony. We had two sinks which was nice, one in the bathroom with shower and toilet and one outside the door. Also, the fridge is good size for drinks. Bring lots of water bottles. They have a ice machine on the floor and microwave over there is you wanted to bring microwave popcorn or etc. The pool area is just beautiful. The beach has the white sand and clear water. The pool area did not seem over crowded. I always got a pool chair. During the hotel weekend they had people walking around cleaning up towels left on chairs asking if you wanted drinks. They don't do that during the quiet weekdays. They have music playing during the day and live music on the weekend right by pool in a gazebo area. The pizza was good and reasonable. Ice cream was good it was hard scoop with cake cones or waffle cones or a cup. The most money was 3.50 for double scoop waffle cone. Also, you can bill everything to your room if you want so you don't have to carry money. The fireworks they do for the fourth of July were amazing, we watched them from our hotel room. They did them on July 5th and had a barbeque which was for purchase that was good. Also, a live band. They light them off from the beach. it was a 20 minute display with music playing during it. On your first day there I would recommend going to the orange beach visitor center and get brochures and coupons of the area. We liked the track for go karts, fat daddys for arcade and lulus buffet was nice for the kids and the hangout in gulf shores was fun, also, check out the wharf. Dolphin cruise was ok, we did sunny lady by the wharf we paid 20 a person then we went to visitor center I think we could have paid 10 somewhere else. Also, we did alley gator it was worth it. It is about 25 minutes away. $10 a person see lots of alligators. website is (gatoralleyfarm.com). Fun place to eat was Lamberts in Foley. You may wait 2 hours but it is well worth it. They throw hot fresh rolls at you. They are good. Look up there website. Lamberts Café in AL. Ducks Diner was real good for breakfast or lunch. They are all only open from 10 to 2 on certain days. I don't think they are open on Mon or Tues. Very good and reasonable. Just posted this places because it helps to have something to look at when your there that some else did. I would stay here again. This is the best place to stay in the area. A few people I met at the people said they have stayed here three years in a row and will only stay here. Lots of people from mobile Al who come for the weekend and said they only stay here.

Room Tip: Loved our room it was the west tower 7th floor. We were 7007.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    119
    71
    32
    26
See reviews for
102
105
4
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houma, Louisiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I made a reservation in January for a June stay and called back several times over the next months to confirm the reservation & requests. The reservation lady was not friendly and was only concerned about charging extra for each adult in the room over 2. When we checked in, none of the requests had been noted on the reservation therefore were not honored; low floor, pool/beach view, the check in staff was not concerned. I was completely turned off for the rest of the 3 night stay and will not be going back!

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer P, Interactive Marketing Manager at Perdido Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
We are sorry that you felt your requests were not honored. The pool view room you requested (as well as the gulf front rooms) are actually charged at a higher rate. If a guest specifically books one of these rooms, that room type is guaranteed. However, often times if we are at lower occupancy we will gladly upgrade a reservation as a courtesy if we have the space available. At the time of your stay, we were near capacity and could only offer you the deluxe room that you booked. If you decide to stay with us again and desire a pool view room, we suggest that you book a pool view room to avoid any disappointment. We hope to have the opportunity to offer you a more enjoyable stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This was my first time going to orange beach. I brought along my mom, aunt, and 5 year old son. Upon arrival, the place is beautiful! Parking was ok & there was also valet. It was 4th of July weekend & it was busy, but I would've expected for a luggage cart to be available. There wasn't - so it was just quicker & easier to take up our own bags. The staff was kind & friendly, what little interaction I had w/ them. We arrived early & our room wasn't available yet, but we were able to enjoy the pool & beach while we waited, so that is hardly a complaint.

The building it beautiful outside & in. The pool was spacious and there was lots of seating. The problem is that people left there towels on the lounging chairs closer to the pool over night or for several hours to "reserve" them. I do not think that the hotel should allow people to do that. There are also 2 hot tubs that are great until they are over-run with kids. Being a mom, I shouldn't complain, but in the evening when the water is too cold so swim it would've been nice to relax without dozens of kids running in and out of the hot tub.

The beach itself is amazing. It is spacious & beautiful. You can rent the lounging chairs w/ umbrellas for $25/day or just for a few hours. This was good for us because we did not have room in the car for our own chairs & umbrellas. There seems to be plenty to rent, but I would go ahead & rent them out for the weekend and reserve them for your group, especially if you do not plan on bringing your own. The beach staff will come around and adjust the umbrellas as needed & are attentive, but not pestering. People brought tents & chairs and just left them out on the beach & no one messes w/ anybody's stuff. Next time, I will plan to bring my own tent & chairs b/c we stayed on the beach for hours & you can get really cozy out there.

As far as the food goes...there is Half Shell Grill where you can order food inside or out by the pool or take it down to the beach. It's pretty good, especially if you want to grab a quick bite to coat your tummy before having drinks. But Cafe Palm Breeze...whoa...that place. I only ate it because I was hungry, it was convenient, & it wasn't totally disgusting. The staff was nice & attentive. But the food was pretty much frozen. I would not eat here. The buffet breakfast was nice though. Based on their food, I did not even try Voyagers...the "higher-end" restaurant there. It was pricier (and so was Cafe Palm Breeze, considering the quality of food they had) so I did not want to even chance it. The Splash Bar outside was nice, but it's hard to get your order taken when it's crowded. I could not comment on the drinks, considering I was only ever able to get a beer. There are so many places up & down the strip that you could just as easily go for a quick drive and find something better that cost less and would be more enjoyable than any food & drink the resort had to offer.

The room itself is nice as well. The room looks better online (which is to be expected) but on the same hand, I have no complaints. It seems as though all the room have an ocean view. The bathrooms are modern and clean. The linens are fresh & comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

My family really enjoyed this property! Great location, with a beautiful view of both pool and beach from our balcony. Room was larger than I expected. Maids kept room clean and hallway free of sand. In addition to several restaurants, a cafe serves freshly made pizza and delicious Blue Bell ice cream. Separate kiddie pool and adult hot tub. This stretch of beach is great - we saw crabs, dolphins, a ray, and small pufferfish! Great wading/swimming for kids. Not cheap, but we thought it was worth every penny!

Room Tip: Our room in the middle of the East tower had a great view of both pool and beach.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer P, Interactive Marketing Manager at Perdido Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope you can come back and visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corning
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here a total of 3 times over the past years. A nice, clean place to stay and affordable prices. Great views too and easy access to the beach. The pool is a wonderful bonus if you get tires of the beach.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

We arrived today for a 4th of July weekend stay to find the hotel overbooked and had given away our reserved room. Management was not willing to offer acceptable accommodations (rollaways in the nonbedroom half of a suite for 1/2 price) or comp the remaining nights of our stay. Wish I had stayed home for the 4th. Highly unimpressed and will not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer P, Interactive Marketing Manager at Perdido Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
We are very sorry for inconveniencing you and certainly understand why you are upset. Although we make every effort to provide each guest the room type that they prefer, unfortunately circumstances made it impossible on this day. In an attempt to remedy the situation, we placed you in a suite parlor with roll-aways for your first night at a heavily discounted rate. We also provided free breakfast buffets for you and your guests for the following morning while we prepared your room, which was upgraded for the remainder of your stay at no additional charge. Our understanding was that these arrangements were acceptable to you and we regret that you felt we should have done more. We take customer satisfaction very seriously and hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Perdido Beach Resort over a holiday weekend in 2014. I want to begin by giving the positive aspects of the resort. The beach and pool area are very nice. The bellboy, maintenance group and housekeeping services were excellent. We had a beachfront king room that had been given a recent makeover - beautiful. This is a great family resort. If you want a couples getaway, I would probably choose something else.
The downside is the onsite restaurant, Cafe Palm Breeze. The food was absolutely not good and pricey. We ordered appetizers and dessert. Stay away from the crab dip, oysters and biscuit bread pudding. Go to the pizzaria or the poolside grill at the resort instead. If you want excellent seafood, leave the resort for that.
Over a holiday weekend, the bar area had one bartender after about 7pm. Be prepared to wait in line for 20-30 minute
Air conditioning system is old and corner beach front rooms will not cool properly.
Management not approachable, but the hotel workers are helpful.








Also, unfortunately the air conditioning system at the resort is older and if you
reserve a corner room that is beachfront, it will not cool properly.
Lastly, the Management is not approachable, but the workers at the resort are great.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Perdido Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Perdido Beach Resort

Address: 27200 Perdido Beach Blvd, Orange Beach, AL 36561
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Orange Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Orange Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Orange Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Orange Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Perdido Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a full-service Mediterranean-style resort hotel located on the beautiful white sand beaches of the Alabama Gulf Coast. Perdido Beach Resort is perfect for a weekend-getaway, a relaxing vacation or a business meeting accompanied by beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, EasyToBook and Hotwire so you can book your Perdido Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Perdido Beach Hotel Orange Beach
Orange Beach Perdido Beach
Perdido Beach Orange Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Perdido Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.