We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unit # 316 Was Excellent !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phoenix X

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Orange Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Phoenix X
29576 Perdido Beach Boulevard, Orange Beach, AL 36561   |  
Hotel amenities
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Unit # 316 Was Excellent !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Our family, Mom, Dad, Son (18), Daughter (15) stayed in Unit #316 the last week in July 2013. The condo faced the gulf and had a large balcony that was a great place to watch for dolphins. The complex is right next door to the famous FloraBama bar. We spent most of our days right on the beach.

The unit was clean and had a king size bed in the master bedroom and two queen beds in the second bedroom. There was a big screen tv in the living room.

We walked right across the street to the FloraBama Yacht Club twice to eat. It's a great place to watch the sunset.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    19
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
37
23
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

This was my second stay at Phoenix X, this time for a reunion with some gal pals. Brett-Robinson was very helpful in booking the unit, the check-in process was quick, and the folks are very helpful. The attached parking garage makes it easy to get everything to and from the cars. My unit #705, was a one bedroom, 1-1/2 bath condo, which was high enough to have a great view. Kitchen was well stocked, furniture was comfy, good balcony seating. The beach was clean, even though it was busy with so many vacationers. Early mornings were quiet with most folks getting down to the beach around noon or later. We rented beach lounge chairs for the week and Nick was very helpful, moving the umbrellas for shade or sun as we needed. The choice of an indoor or outdoor pool as well was a nice touch. Phoenix X is at the Florida-Alabama state line and the Florabama next door aims for the adult crowd after dark with different types of bands playing in different parts of the establishment. Also, it is a short drive into Gulf Shores with an assortment of food and activity choices. Nolan's was a bit more upscale dinner and dance place; The Gulf is a unique beach bar built around shipping containers and various seating options with a limited but excellent menu; but our favorite was the out-of-the-way local place Tin Top. Their fried pickles, sweet royal red shrimp, lima beans, and bread pudding are not to be missed while enjoying the open air covered patio. I would definitely consider staying at this property again, especially since there are so many options to accommodate large or small groups.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
metairie
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

A group of my friends (seven girls) recently stayed at the Phoenix X. We found this condo through Brett/Robison vacations -- they were extremely helpful in placing us in the perfect room with all the right accommodations. (http://www.brett-robinson.com) Our room was clean and comfy, and had a big balcony overlooking the beach. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. In fact, we noticed that everyone in Orange Beach is just really nice! We spent two days on the beach enjoying the waves and sunshine. We enjoyed a night out at Florabama, in which we just walked to and from instead of having to drive, which was great. We also had another great night spent in the room with some Rum Chatta and great conversation! Overall, this was a memorable trip, and we'll definitely be back. Thanks Brett/Robinson for hooking us up!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipton, Iowa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We recently returned from a 5 night stay celebrating our 55th anniversary. In the past we have stayed in several different units in Phoenix X. This time we rented three units and brought our entire family (18 of us). They quickly realized why we kept telling them what an enjoyable place this was to come and visit. The units were very clean, well furnished and properly maintained. Everyone enjoyed the beautiful view of the beach from their balconies(10th floor). Our family spent many hours on the gorgeous white sand. We always rent through Brett Robinson Realty and have found them to be reliable and have felt that we received good value for money spent. We are looking forward to returning again in the near future.....

Room Tip: Get on a Higher floor so that you can have a panoramic view of the area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Thanks for allowing us to complete this survey. I normally don’t fill out surveys regarding a negative experience, but I feel for the money we spent, others need to know the truth. My wife and I stayed in condo 1105. The internet photos looked great but a different look once we got inside. The frig was disgusting, rust on the exterior sides, and don’t even look at the door handles for either the freezer or frig section. On to the bathroom, mold along the top side of shower, drain was nearly stopped up. Soap dish falling off the wall, some of the towels were soiled (stained). We didn’t use the stove, another area of disgust. Lamps in the bedroom were not used due to the switch had a short; you had to switch on and off numerous times to get the contact in the switch to work. Knowing electrical I knew to avoid using switch. We visit the gulf coast quite often and this condo should have been half the price due to the condition. There are way too many condos way nicer at the same price level. By no means am I bashing this particular condo or resort, just stated the truth. Beach area was great, pools were nice! A little time and money could be spent on the unit would go a long long way with guest resulting on wanting to return!
Charlie W

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We come to the beach a few times a year and have stayed at several condos. For the price, the room was nice. We had a ground floor unit, 102, which was a good value. Very clean and very close to the pool. Downside, there were no basic supplies found in essentially every other development where we have stayed. Like kleenex, and dish soap and a small packet of laundry detergent. So be forewarned when we called for these items, we were told that they are not furnished. The unit also could use an update, but not to the extent that it felt shabby. Our Unit was well sized. Workout room -- limited weight and aerobic machines only.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoover, Alabama
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This was our second stay at the Brett Robinson property, Phoenix X, but our first stay in P10-909. It is a wonderful three bedroom/three bath condo. The parking deck makes it easy to stay out of the rain on those bad weather days. This is definately more of an adult location, mainly due to the nearness of the FloraBama, but this complex is just mere yards from the waterline. The condo had great furnishings (no rattan) and was perfect for our all adult family gathering. Ten days just wasn't enough!

Room Tip: Carpet, a necessity. How do you get in bed with sand on your feet?
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Phoenix X? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix X

Address: 29576 Perdido Beach Boulevard, Orange Beach, AL 36561
Location: United States > Alabama > Orange Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 40 Specialty lodging in Orange Beach
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gulf front property located 10 miles East of Hwy 59 and right next to The Flora-Bama! Walking distance to great restaurants and shopping is a convenient drive or bike ride across the Perdido Pass Bridge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Phoenix x Hotel Orange Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phoenix X, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Phoenix X to your Saves list