We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TU-GRADUATE1” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cock of the Walk

Cock of the Walk
1702 Frederick Rd, Opelika, AL 36801-7208
334-705-0004
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 84 restaurants in Opelika
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“TU-GRADUATE1”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Food was great, nothing like a down home southern meal. I look forward to coming down and eating there again. This where I had my graduation dinner at and it was amazing, and was not pricey cause sometimes to get good food its expensive. but here the food was priced just right!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    21
    13
    8
    1
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“First Choice When Visiting the Auburn/Opelika Area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Our family always chooses to dine at Cock of the Walk when visiting the Auburn/Opelika area. I enjoy the delicious grilled catfish and my husband orders the fried catfish. The baked potatoes are just right and served piping hot. The cole slaw, pickled onions and cornbread are always a big hit. And, we always order a pot of greens! If you are a customer that enjoys the slaw and other pre-dinner foods before your entrée is served, be sure to tell your server to wait to serve the entrée until after you complete those foods. Tonight our server brought our catfish plates almost immediately after serving the cole slaw, etc... That is fast service, but a little too fast for us! The next visit will call for a reminder to allow us to finish our cole slaw and all before serving the entrée. Go and enjoy!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fried Southern Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

If you like fried fish, chicken, or crawfish, you will enjoy this restaurant. We had a group of 16 and the servers did a great job of working us into the restaurant. Most at the table agreed the fried catfish was the best dish. The mustard greens, fried pickles, and grits were also very tasty and enjoyable, especially since they are not typically an option in Kansas City.

Price was reasonable and it looked like it might be a nice restaurant to eat at in daylight with a pond right out side the restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley, Alabama
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A hidden Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Fresh food, great service, and a really nice location. Definitely will be back again and again. The server was very informative about menu options as well as non-menu items.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A gem of a find in Opelika”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I was taken to this spot by family friends who decided that my dad and I needed a night out. A quick drive from Montgomery and we were there. Loved the rustic decor and there was ample parking. Friendly and welcoming staff. Our waiter Gabriel was knowledgeable about the simple yet very tasty menu, and was very entertaining. Appetizer was onion rings and fried pickles, which were awesome. We ordered po boy sandwich, grilled and fried catfish and chicken platters, baked sweet potatoes and coleslaw on tin plates. Sweet tea and pink lemonade were served in tin cups, which I thought was a great touch. Everything was cooked perfectly. Cornbread served in a cast iron skillet was tasty too. The only thing that I would change is the size of the tiny serving bowl of the pickled onions... they were falling out of the side, and a larger bowl of them would definitely have been devoured quickly by our group; these onions were delicious! Price averaged around $16 a person.

I wish I had room for dessert since I am sure there was a good variety of southern inspired deliciousness. This spot is definitely on my list for a repeat visit, with more friends.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cock of the Walk also viewed

 

Been to Cock of the Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cock of the Walk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.