We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So so” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chuck's Bar B Que Incorporated

Chuck's Bar B Que Incorporated
905 Short Ave, Opelika, AL 36801-5857
(334) 749-4043
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 85 Restaurants in Opelika
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Rolla, Missouri
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“So so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

Saw on Trip Advisor and like Bar B Q so stopped by. Probably would not again. Service was ok, friendly staff. I ordered a Bar B Q sandwich and my wife a chicken plate lunch. Her chicken could have stood a little more meat on the bone and the two white bread slices were fresh out of the loaf from the grocery store (how about a nice roll?). Our slaw was grocery store quality and as far as my sandwich went, was tasty but still have to figure out where the "Bar B Q" comes into play. Came with some type spicy sauce, not Bar B Q sauce for sure. Price was ok, but did not come for price, came for Bar B Q, still wondering where the Bar B Q comes into play. Still want Bar B Q, still looking....

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    8
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Opelika, Alabama
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“chucks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Pretty good BBQ eatery - not a joint but family atmosphere. I prefer the sliced vs chipped. Spatious but a little loud if there is a crowd. Opelika and Auburn are covered up in BBQ places - this is one of my top three....or four.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newborn, Georgia
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Friendly and good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

If you are an athiest then your senses will be overloaded with Biblical text. Starting with the sign to the scripture quotes on the backs of the employees T-shirts. Thank goodness I'm in the Bible Belt. PTL!!!!
Food is fresh and prepared very well. Better offerings than your standard "Q" joint in the south. I happened to have the BBQ salad with pork today. Tomatoes were fresh; 2 slices of bell pepper were just enough, and topped with a mound of BBQ pork set the whole lunch in motion.

VERY friendly staff. Other restaurants can take a lesson from the helpful people that work here (evidenced by a group of Japanese workers on their lunch break-----local Japanese manufacturing plants are near by).

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buford, Georgia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good barbeque, excellent sides, good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Stopped in for a late lunch while traveling I-85 from Atlanta to Montgomery. It's about a half mile off the highway but worth it. The person that took our order was very helpful and friendly. The sandwiches were great as was the baked beans and potato salad. If you stop there, be sure to get one of the chocolate brownies. They are to die for.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Top Contributor
263 reviews 263 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“The best BBQ in Auburn Opelika”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Their BBQ is our favorite in this area. They have a really good Brunswick stew, I am not fond of Brunswick stew but tried theirs and love it.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chuck's Bar B Que Incorporated also viewed

 

Been to Chuck's Bar B Que Incorporated? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chuck's Bar B Que Incorporated, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.