We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Auburn Opelika at Grand National

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Auburn Opelika at Grand National to your Saves list
Marriott Auburn Opelika at Grand National
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3700 Sunbelt Parkway, Opelika, AL 36801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Opelika
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brentwood, TN
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Wonderful Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

It has been a long time since I have slept in a hotel with the doors or windows open. Did it last night. None of the highway noise you experience staying close to the highway. The Marriott is a ways off the main roads, but absolutely worth it. My only regret is that I was there on vacation and could not spend a day sitting by the pool. Absolutely first class in all ways.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, General Manager at Marriott Auburn Opelika at Grand National, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you so much for the review. Our remote location does help to get a peaceful night's sleep. We've also been enjoying some cooler than normal temperatures this summer. Please come back to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    38
    20
    6
    5
See reviews for
42
33
6
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We were very happy with this hotel as it was all we needed and all it said it was and very clean, which is the main thing for me as a woman. Stayed one night going through Montana and would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, General Manager at Marriott Auburn Opelika at Grand National, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for staying with us. We are very proud of our housekeepers and the great job that they do!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We stayed at this hotel last year and loved it. Had a wonderful Jr King suite with sofa bed with room for kids. Great room. This year could not be worse!! Awful room. Could not get a room that had beds for our kids. How does a room with 1 King bed sleep 4 with no rollaway bed?? And not even extra bedding! We are here (last year and this year) for the Junior Team Tennis Championship at Auburn - so of course we have kids. Told them when I made the reservations we had adults & kids and asked for a suite or at least 2 Q beds. All I was told was we can't guarantee anything. We are Marriott Rewards Silver Elite Members and stay at Marriott's whenever we can This year I called daily and begged for a suit or a larger room with 2 Q beds and no one would help us. Said we would pay whatever necessary to upgrade but all I heard was hotel is full for 3 months. That is extremely hard to believe. Asked to be put on waiting list - was told we can't help you and reservation clerks said they couldn't put us on waiting list. I don't believe it. How hard is it to do if you have someone needing a room and willing to pay for it. Told them when we checked in we needed 2 beds (begged for 2 beds and told them we had 2 kids) and NOPE - no help. Kids sleeping on the floor and can hear people next door. Extremely disappointed in size & quality of room. No extra sheets, pillows or blankets and room is smaller than at a Courtyard. Not what you would expect. We spend a lot of money at Marriott's and we spend a lot of money when we stay at a hotel like this - on food, drinks, etc. You would think the hotel would be a little more accommodating and not make us put our 2 boys on the floor to sleep. Won't even give us a roll away bed and no extra bedding to help them sleep on the floor. Not what you expect from a hotel of this class. Especially disappointing after the good experience we had last year.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, General Manager at Marriott Auburn Opelika at Grand National, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
I am so sorry that you were not able to get the room type that you wanted. It was an extremely busy weekend and almost everyone in the hotel wanted rooms with two queen beds. After all of those rooms had been reserved, we accept requests for speciific bed types but cannot guarantee them. The reservation is guaranteed but not the bed type. So, at the time you made your reservation all of those bed type rooms had been reserved.

This weekend had been sold out for almost a year. I hope that you have the opportunity to stay with us again and can make your reservation early enough to get one of the guaranteed bed types.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, GA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at hotel for a family wedding and had a wonderful time. However at check out I realized my bill had extra charges. I had receipts to prove items were already paid but when I asked for the correction and even an apology to their mistake, I was asked to prove I already paid. Then when I went to manager , he didn't care either. There was NO customer service just me trying to prove their mistake. I stay at Marriott often and I will now tell everyone they don't care and the customer is never right. I won't stay again. No customer service !

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, General Manager at Marriott Auburn Opelika at Grand National, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
I am so sorry that you were dissapointed. Our policy on disputed charges is to immediately remove those charges for the guest and then go back to verify how the charge had been posted to your account. That's what occured in your situation also. The charge was removed for you on your date of departure. We were never able to verify that the charge had been paid for by your credit card, but nonetheless did not charge you. I hope that you have the opportunity to visit us again and were happy to hear that otherwise you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The rooms are clean and the pool area is incredible. We stay during the busy football game weekends and still enjoy the five-star service from the staff! The breakfast buffet is good too. The location is quiet and relaxing.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, General Manager at Marriott Auburn Opelika at Grand National, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for the kind words about our hotel. We always enjoy having you as our guest. The football season will be here soon!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I booked an overnight stay at this resort recently because it's reasonably close to home. I was very pleased. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Wayne, especially, was most informative and always offered to help. My husband was on crutches but I felt Wayne would've been the same w/o any physical disability noticeable.

My son enjoyed the pool, in particular the slide. The pool area had plenty of chairs. Love the cabanas! Our room was nice and beds were extremely comfortable. My husband and I plan on coming back for a romantic getaway in the future.

The only concern I had was a charge for the internet. One of our party must've accessed it via our cell but we really didn't want the faster speed. For the cost of the resort, internet (at any speed) should've been free. Very minor problem, though.

Room Tip: The rooms on the 1st floor actually allow you to park right outside of the room. Might be helpful if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, General Manager at Marriott Auburn Opelika at Grand National, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Thank you for the review. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay. Wayne will be pleased to hear that he made a positive impression on you. We are so proud of our staff members and the service that they provide.

We do have a charge for an enhanced version of our wifi. That version is helpful if you are downloading large files or viewing movies through your device. The free version offers plenty of capability for most functions. Please come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Alabama
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Last weekend our family stayed at the Marriott to celebrate my son's 1st birthday. We had a wonderful time. We were allowed to check in early so the kids had a full day at the pool. We were also allowed to stay at the pool until 5pm after we checked out at 12. The pool was great for the kids age range 1-11 and the cabanas and shaded areas were great for the adults. We ate supper outside and the kids had a lot of room to run in the grass. We all enjoyed the smores station on Saturday night. Raven was very helpful making sure we had all we needed. Rooms were nice and clean and we all enjoyed having balconies. Even though we live 10 miles down the road we will be back again. Hopefully soon! Oh and can't forget all the guys had a good time fishing at the pond.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, General Manager at Marriott Auburn Opelika at Grand National, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We love having local guests come and enjoy our hotel. I will be sure to share your comments with Raven - she does a great job for us. Please come back and visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Auburn Opelika at Grand National? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Auburn Opelika at Grand National

Address: 3700 Sunbelt Parkway, Opelika, AL 36801
Location: United States > Alabama > Opelika
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Opelika
#3 Romantic Hotel in Opelika
#5 Business Hotel in Opelika
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Auburn Opelika at Grand National 3.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the award-winning Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail, Auburn Marriott Opelika Hotel & Conference Center at Grand National is on par with the nation's most distinctive facilities and accommodations. Nestled on 2,000 acres of lakefront countryside, we are an exceptional golf and business retreat located in the quaint, historic town of Opelika. Our property is situated on the shores of Lake Saugahatchee, offering a peaceful and serene atmosphere and featuring access to 54 holes of championship golf. Escape from ordinary Auburn, Alabama, hotels and indulge in our spacious guest rooms with complimentary high-speed Internet access and stunning views from your own private balcony. Guests love the swimming pools, fitness center and on-site dining options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your Marriott Auburn Opelika at Grand National reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Auburn Opelika At Grand National Hotel Opelika
Marriott Opelika
Opelika Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Auburn Opelika at Grand National, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.