We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New property, but going down” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Opelika Auburn

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Opelika Auburn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Opelika Auburn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1801 Capps Landing, Opelika, AL 36804   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Opelika
Roswell, Georgia
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“New property, but going down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

The place is new so that is good. the rooms are nice but our bed was as hard as a rock. There was only one trash can, the maid woke up our daughter in an adjoining room to ask when she wanted the room cleaned even after we asked her not to. No towels in the hot tub, after asking they brought 2 for the 5 of us. The hot tub room overheats so they need to keep the door open to the outside, this makes it too cold. Little stuff, but it adds up.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynnDaughtry, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Opelika Auburn, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you for your valuable feedback. I regret to hear that the housekeeper woke your daughter up when she was inquiring about servicing the room. We will be sure to keep more towels in the hot tub area. I hope that you will come back to visit us again in the future.
Lynn Daughtry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    27
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
31
11
6
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Clean, modern, quiet, VERY helpful staff, great breakfast and great location. Could not have asked for more. Hotel was full every night with visiting college students and baseball teams. No problems with noise for access to breakfast. Convenient to lots of shopping and eating.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynnDaughtry, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Opelika Auburn, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Well, I could not have asked for a better review. Thank you for your valuable feedback. We strive everyday to meet and exceed the needs of our guest. I am so happy that you had a great stay with us and I hope that you will come back to visit with us again soon.
Lynn Daughtry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This hotel is a real gem! It was incredibly clean, beautifully decorated, and close to a great shopping area. The staff were all so friendly and helpful. The breakfast was a great ending to a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

I really love it there! It's very nice and clean! Great area! The shopping center is right down the street. There are a lot of restaurants in that area. Great staff, Latasha Dunn and Shaniqua Bailey. They were very helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynnDaughtry, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Opelika Auburn, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
I am so glad you had a great visit with us in Opelika. I am happy that you took some time to enjoy the shopping and dining at Tiger Town, just down the road. Latasha and Shaniqua go above the call of duty and take great pleasure taking care of our guest. They are good at their jobs and it really shows. We hope that you will find your way to stay with us again in the future.
Lynn Daughtry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

the staff was the best from the time i checked in ms Rene was very professional and the women in housekeeping where great ms latasha made sure i had everything and ms Jean in breakfast made me feel like i was home loved my stay

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynnDaughtry, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Opelika Auburn, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Ms. Jean, Ms. Latasha and Ms. Rene are such assets to our staff. They are role models for the hospitality industry. I will be sure to pass along to them your kind comments. We hope that you will be back to visit with us again in the future and wish you safe travels.
Lynn Daughtry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

I loved it I will always come here great rooms friendly staff and latasha really made my stay great I just loved the cleanliness of the rooms. I also enjoyed Mrs Jean in the breakfast area she really made me feel like I was at home.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynnDaughtry, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Opelika Auburn, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your valuable feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to pass your wonderful comments along to Mrs. Jean and Ms. Latasha. It will make their day! We look forward to your next visit with us.
Lynn Daughtry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I arrived at 1:30 am local time after two flights and a drive from Birmingham to attend the funeral services for my Daughter in Opelika. I tried to check in at the Hampton Inn across the street where my son-inlaw and grandchildren were staying. A clerk at the Hampton told me they do not take guests after 10:pm. I went to the Holiday Inn and was immediatly checked in by two of the nicest gentlemen. I was given the best discount rate and was told anything I needed was avaliable, just ask. The room was great, the service fantastic, the breakfast buffet was one of the very best I have ever had. A Mr. John Sackie Jr. who was working at the hotel gave me directions, advice and helped me any way he could to ease my grief. Being from Rhode Island and not a traveling person I would like to recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Opelika. Since I am a 3 cup of coffee morning person, the coffee pot in the room was great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynnDaughtry, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Opelika Auburn, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
I am sorry to hear of the loss of your daughter. I am glad that you found comfort staying with us.I will be sure to pass your kind comments along to the gentlemen that work at night and also to John. They all take pride in taking care of the needs of our guest and go to great lengths to do so on a daily basis. I am thankful to work with such people every day. We hope to see you again in the future.
Lynn Daughtry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Opelika Auburn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Opelika Auburn

Address: 1801 Capps Landing, Opelika, AL 36804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Opelika
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Opelika
#4 Family Hotel in Opelika
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Opelika Auburn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest addition to Opelika Auburn, is the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Opelika-Auburn, Alabama! We are conveniently located on I-85 at exit 58, just a short drive to downtown Auburn and Opelika. With our world class service and many Opelika-Auburn businesses, restaurants and attractions within minutes from our front door, you ll discover why our guests have selected us as their preferred hotel in Opelika-Auburn! This state-of-the-art hotel features special in-room amenities such as free wireless high-speed Internet access and 32 flat panel LCD TVs. We offer a variety of room types and suites to suit all travelers. Whether you are staying with us for business or pleasure, take time to relax and enjoy our indoor whirlpool, outdoor pool, business center, wireless Internet access in all public areas and fitness center. Take advantage of some of our convenience amenities such as our guest laundry and complimentary Smart Start breakfast bar. Points of interest: Companies: Benteler, Donaldson, Briggs and Stratton, Gambro, Mando Hospitals: East Alabama Medical Center Universities: Auburn University AU Local attractions: Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail, Auburn Softball Complex, Chewacla State Park, Jordan Hare Stadium Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Opelika-Auburn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, IHG, Priceline, BookIt.com, Tingo, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Opelika Auburn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Opelika Auburn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Opelika Auburn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.