We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Continental Bakery

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Continental Bakery
1909 Cahaba Rd, Mountain Brook, AL 35223-1015
205-870-5584
Menu
Improve this listing
Restaurant details
Manahawkin, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Yum!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

We found this place by accident and we were pleasantly surprised. We sat outside with our breakfast. It was delicious and homemade. The people working here are very nice and helpful. They even recommended a place for Cinco de Mayo dinner!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    1
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
35071
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun and Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

Nice relaxed atmosphere for a snack, etc. I have also been there in the spring and summer and it is great to sit out on the sidewalk and watch the world go by with some good food.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Amazing breakfast, quality food, astonishingly inexpensive!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

We are new to the area and woke up with no electricity (and no way to cook breakfast!) last Saturday... headed out in search of coffee and simple breakfast. The rustic, cozy bakery was welcoming and touted a dazzling array of options. We each went with salt bagels toasted with a nutella smear... so delicious. Top it off with a machiato for me and an Americano for the beau. We were shocked when the bill came to a mere $8! For fresh baked bagels and made to order coffee this place can't be beat!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2009

Great bakery! I wish we had one of this caliber in my hometown. We ate here on both mornings of our stay in the Birmingham area. Great croissants and muffins, tarts, pie, bagels, coffee, etc. Very European and authentic-feeling.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Except the price, there's nothing to complain about.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2008

Except the price, there's nothing to complain about.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Continental Bakery also viewed

Mountain Brook, AL
 
Mountain Brook, AL
 

Been to Continental Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Continental Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.