We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Montgomery AL downtown” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Commerce Street, Montgomery, AL 36104   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 72 Hotels in Montgomery
knoxville, United States
1 review
“Montgomery AL downtown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Interesting historic hotel renovation in revitalized riverfront area of Montgomery. Would like to visit again to explore the downtown riverfront area and the Visitors Center located in 1898 renovated train station. Several nice restaurants in walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    81
    18
    12
    6
See reviews for
62
66
18
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for quite, this isn't it. It has a lot of street noise and you hear every door in the hallway open and slam shut. There really no parking so you pretty much have to valet($10) each time. The water was always hot in our room, no cold at all. The breakfast was just ok. They building is very nicely redone. The rooms are very nice and comfortable, spacious. It was good for a quick stay.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in room 203, which just so happens to be right next to the elevator. Upon arrival, we noticed there was a utility-type closet in our room. A little odd but was of no real concern to us at the time. We were out extremely late after a football game at Auburn and planned to sleep in the next morning - that is until bright and early we started hearing the most awful racket on repeat. Super loud and it was continuous, every 5 or 10 minutes. Never could tell if it was due to the elevator or something else. None the less, it woke us up hours before we wanted to be up and hours before check out. Very annoying but it wasn't until we tried to tell the front desk receptionist about it that I got angry. She never looked my husband in the eyes when he was telling her about the problem, never offered an apology, and shrugged it off like they had never had a similar complaint from that room. The hotel is nice - but please don't stay in room 203 - or might I mention anywhere on the 2nd floor as it is open to the main floor below and you get all the noisy chatter of guests checking out.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I was surprised that there really wasn't any parking available. I think only 15 parking spaces that were all used. The only option left was valet parking which costs money......my room was in an old building and some paint looked like it was chipping off the windows. My desk chair did not come up all the way so it felt like I was sitting on the floor trying to type on my computer. I saw another chair in the room so I used that. It was dirty on both sides of the chair and was really wobbly. The bed was comfortable but the pillows were too small and hard even though they were down. My duvet had big clups of down or whatever it was stuffed with. Overall, it wasn't a bad stay but I am used to staying at the Hyatt or Marriott so I shouldn't compare......thank you

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ozark, Alabama
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

As always when I stay in Montgomery Alabama I return to The Hampton downtown. The staff are always ready and eager to make your stay exceptional. Rooms are exceptional along with the breakfast. The BEST place to stay in downtown Montgomery Alabama !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Great hotel in a refurbished part of downtown. Lots of nice restaurants and bars on the block. Check out the Alley Bar which is top notch and fun. I would recommend this hotel. Clean rooms, friendly staff. The only downside is the parking. The valet lot is behind their building so if you need your car, call down a few minutes before you depart unless you want to wait in the lobby.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This could be a good hotel but corporate cheapness means I'll avoid Hampton in the future. Now you say I must leave 200 characters. Typical.This could be a good hotel but corporate cheapness means I'll avoid Hampton in the future. Now you say I must leave 200 characters. Typical.This could be a good hotel but corporate cheapness means I'll avoid Hampton in the future. Now you say I must leave 200 characters. Typical.This could be a good hotel but corporate cheapness means I'll avoid Hampton in the future. Now you say I must leave 200 characters. Typical.This could be a good hotel but corporate cheapness means I'll avoid Hampton in the future. Now you say I must leave 200 characters. Typical.This could be a good hotel but corporate cheapness means I'll avoid Hampton in the future. Now you say I must leave 200 characters. Typical.This could be a good hotel but corporate cheapness means I'll avoid Hampton in the future. Now you say I must leave 200 characters. Typical.This could be a good hotel but corporate cheapness means I'll avoid Hampton in the future. Now you say I must leave 200 characters. Typical.This could be a good hotel but corporate cheapness means I'll avoid Hampton in the future. Now you say I must leave 200 characters. Typical.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-Downtown

Address: 100 Commerce Street, Montgomery, AL 36104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Montgomery
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montgomery
#6 Business Hotel in Montgomery
#8 Family Hotel in Montgomery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-Downtown 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get a poignant sense of history or just have some fun when you visit Montgomery, the capital of Alabama. The Hampton Inn & Suites® hotel in Montgomery-Downtown is located in the heart of downtown Montgomery in Alabama's freshly redeveloped historic district. Take a fascinating trip through American history in Montgomery, a city with an important heritage as it is often considered the birthplace of both the Civil War and the Civil Rights Movement. Start with the Civil Rights Memorial & Center and the Confederate War Memorial, both within minutes of our Montgomery hotel. You can even walk the historic Selma to Montgomery National Historic Trail, where civil rights leaders bravely marched to fight oppression. Our hotel in Montgomery also puts you within walking distance of the Hank Williams Museum, and just minutes from the Alabama Shakespeare Festival grounds. Golfers will love the Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail, and the family will enjoy Fort Toulouse/Jackson Park, featuring a reconstructed 1700's French fort. Check with the friendly team at our Montgomery hotel for more tips on all the area's attractions. The hotel itself is an historic icon, originally opening in 1927 as the Greystone Hotel. Our lobby has been renovated to show off its original architecture and craftsmanship; and our guestrooms have a distinctively modern flair which compliments the antique design of the building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-Downtown Hotel Montgomery
Hampton Inn And Suites Montgomery-Downtown
Hampton Inn Montgomery

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.