We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Montgomery Hotel and Spa at the Convention Center to your Saves list
Renaissance Montgomery Hotel and Spa at the Convention Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Tallapoosa Street, Montgomery, AL 36104   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #16 of 73 Hotels in Montgomery
Clanton, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

In Montgomery for a weekend volleyball tournament. Bed was wonderful - did not miss mine at home, which is unusual. Very quiet, even though the place was full of athletes (volleyball tournament and football all-star game). Had a problem with the TV; a technician was dispatched within 5 minutes to "reboot" our receiver. Did not have to use the valet parking or the adjoining parking deck ($12 per day), as the parking lot between the two hotels (Embassy Suites next door) was open for the weekend. Walked to two restaurants for dinner both nights of our stay. Small entertainment district is growing around the convention center. Good to see some nightlife in what once was a dead area at night. Overall a very enjoyable weekend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    97
    42
    16
    18
See reviews for
45
66
12
129
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Everything costs extra. No parking available other than the deck. They will close deck when full even if you have a room. My room was not very clean. Found white shower walls covered in long black hairs. Complained to front desk and I didn't even get an apology. Staff seemed indifferent and showed zero pride in their hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

We called off here on our way to Atlanta. We found the hotel really easy off the interstate.

The lobby is very large with some unusual and "interesting" artwork. I found the dolls behind the reception a little off putting.

The check in was easy and we were offered an upgrade to a suite at a reasonable price but we preferred the privacy of two seperate rooms.

The rooms were of an excellent standard and we had a view over the river. The bathrooms were good quality and larger than many hotels we have stayed in on this trip with a seperate bath and walk in shower.

A coffee machine was available but this only had one sachet of coffee in it and on the second day no milk/cream was provided. I am sure this was an oversight.

We also had a fridge in the room and there were vending machines and ice on each floor with a small shop in the Lobby for essentials.

There is a happy hour each evening from 5pm to 7pm with all drinks discounted.

They have a full service restaurant and bar menu on offer. Which seemed reasonably priced. My son had the chicken and pepper jack quesadilla which were very tasty.

The lady running the bar was very nice and chatted with us all evening in between serving others and was very knowledgeable on the local ipa beers. They had different entertainment on each evening. There was also a great outside area with heating if you wanted to sit outside.

Breakfast was extra and approx $15 plus tax for a full buffet with a member of staff to make omelettes and waffles on request. The omelettes were fantastic! Orange juice and coffee were plentiful. I was even given a complimentary fruit smoothie yum!

There were a few places to eat outside the hotel but it was limited as this was the business district.

We found plenty to occupy us as Montgomery is full of historical significance and I enjoyed walking around and visiting the various sites.

As it is more a business hotel there was a charge for wifi which is a first this holiday but they do provide a business support area with computers and printer available that is free to guests.

They gave a pool and spa that is outside in the car park area but it was too cold during our time there. They also provide a laundry

All in all I loved thus hotel and would recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

This was a family stay (with young grandchildren) and I was given an early check-in. I requested a room on a high floor with a view of the river. There was a Christmas Village set up across the street, and we really enjoyed the Christmas lights from our 10th floor room. Our room was sparkling clean and the bedding was wonderful. The bathroom was spacious and efficient. Staff was responsive. The artwork in the common areas is interesting. Hotel parking deck ($12.00/night) was very convenient. Restaurants are available directly across the street as well as in the hotel. There was absolutely no noise from trains passing through town.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dothan, Alabama
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I've stayed here several times, and in previous visits I've been very satisfied. This time I was put in a handicapped room (not by request) and after spending all night listening to train whistles and rail cars banging together, I got up to take a shower and the poor design of the shower caused a flood. As the floor was not sloped correctly for the roll-in shower, all the water went across the floor under the vanity. Thankfully I did not not need to use a blow-dryer standing in all this water.
On a positive note, I was moved to another room but this came after standing in line at the front desk for 30 mins because it was check out time at 7:30 am and they only staffed one clerk!
I would say the second room was a great improvement, however there was mold on the shower and a big spot of dried blood on the bathroom door.
The bedding was unsatisfactory, the pillows are flat and there are no blankets, you have the choice of a sheet only or very heavy comforter. Goldilocks was disappointed....

Room Tip: A word of advice to everyone -- be sure to get an even numbered room unless you want to listen to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I recently attended a Legal Conference that was held at the Renaissance Montgomery Hotel & Spa, and I could not have been happier with the accommodations and service provided during my stay. The hotel is conveniently located in the heart of the city within walking distance of excellent restaurants & bars. There is a wonderful outdoor patio lounge area with beautiful fire pits which took the chill out of the air and made for a really neat hangout to meet up with friends and colleagues. I would recommend staying here to anyone looking to spend a little time in Montgomery.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the river for a super sunset view in the evening!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Staying in a downtown hotel is always a different type of stay. While this location has the typical valet parking fees ($17/day) and Internet charges ($9.95/day) that annoy travelers, the quality of the rooms, the views, and most importantly the fabulous staff more than make up for the irritating charges at a downtown hotel. There are numerous restaurants within a 3 minute walk - most across the street. A wonderful place to stay with huge rooms and bathrooms!

Room Tip: Try to get an odd numbered room that faces the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Montgomery Hotel and Spa at the Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Montgomery Hotel and Spa at the Convention Center

Address: 201 Tallapoosa Street, Montgomery, AL 36104
Location: United States > Alabama > Montgomery
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Montgomery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Montgomery Hotel and Spa at the Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Renaissance Montgomery Hotel & Spa at the Convention Center boasts stunning architecture highlighted by modern amenities and a rooftop pool. An Alabama capitol hotel situated downtown near Maxwell Air Force Base, this stylish hotel features more than 103,000 square feet of meeting space, an 1,800-seat performing arts center, a 73,000-square-foot exhibit hall, and a 9,000-square-foot European spa. Comfort reigns supreme in each of our guest rooms, featuring high-tech amenities, such as HD LCD TVs, wireless and touch screen phones, Wi-Fi and a connectivity panel for all your electronic devices. Enjoy delectable cuisine at The House restaurant, sample high-quality seafood at Wintzell’s Oyster House, or mingle at The Exchange. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Marriott, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Renaissance Montgomery Hotel and Spa at the Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Montgomery Hotel And Spa At The Montgomery
Montgomery Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Montgomery Hotel and Spa at the Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.