We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I like holes in the wall” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Martin's Restaurant

Martin's Restaurant
1796 Carter Hill Rd, Country Club Shopping Centre, Montgomery, AL 36106-2002
334 265-1767
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 376 Restaurants in Montgomery
Price range: $8 - $12
Cuisines: American
Description: Martin's Restaurant featuring "Home Style Cooking Since 1930's"Join us for Lunch or DinnerReservations AcceptedDine In OR Carry Out is Available
Restaurant details
Description: Martin's Restaurant featuring "Home Style Cooking Since 1930's"Join us for Lunch or DinnerReservations AcceptedDine In OR Carry Out is Available
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“I like holes in the wall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

I really enjoyed the cucumber salad, meatloaf and fried green tomatoes. I liked that they had a set menu based on the day of the week. Definitely worth a visit if you are in the area.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    22
    14
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Grove Hill, Alabama
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“See what you think- numbers don't lie....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Talk about feeding the multitudes, Martin's does. We had left in a hurry, skipping breakfast and our co-driver began telling us about the great menu. We arrived at 1PM with groups of people exiting, most of them toting to-go boxes. Upon observation, lots of chicken going out the door. We ate ribs based on the Tuesday menu and the review we heard down the road. They were good, almost great. Turnip greens- OK. Fried okra- average. Wife said big string beans were good.
As for the pineapple/ cheese casserole controversy- I love this stuff! The little bit of cheese was just decoration, I couldn't taste it. The pineapple, the dough and that sweet gooey filling(?) will bring me back.
Service was fine, food arrived in decent time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selma, AL
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Comfort Food at its Southern Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Had the Famous Fried Chicken and found out why it is famous! Very tasty, crispy, and tender. The meat and 3 is a southern tradition done very well at this restaurant. I was seated quickly, served my complimentary sweet tea immediately and asked for my order before I could even read through the list of daily specials. Enjoyed the fried chicken with rice & gravy, cabbage, and green beans. Was very disappointed in the rice & gravy, but everything else was well-seasoned and tasty. The cornbread muffins were excellent! Wait staff couldn't have been any better---they were friendly and attentive. My tea glass was never empty. I have heard how wonderful their chocolate cream pie with extremely high meringue was, but was too full to order it. Hope to go back soon!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Go if you're hungry. You'll leave full.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

My friends and I were in town and we went to church one sunday at MLK Jr's old church and then afterwards we made our way to martins. We got seated immediately despite the crowd and our waitress was quick. The food was good and the portions were hearty. We had a great time and we ordered pie for dessert. The pie was great but I was stuffed. It was a great place for southern style comfort food and the sweet tea was sweet indeed. Go if you're hungry. You'll leave full.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehigh Acres, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Skip it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

People were friendly. Corn bread, potato salad and fried chicken were good although there wasn't a lot of seasoning on the chicken. Might be better choices for restaurants. Read good things on Trip Advisor so figured we'd try it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Martin's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Martin's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martin's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.