We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best it could be” 5 of 5 stars
Review of No Way Jose Grill Cantina

No Way Jose Grill Cantina
8844 Minnie Brown Rd, Montgomery, AL 36117-7839
334-819-7363
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #106 of 377 Restaurants in Montgomery
Cuisines: Cuban, Mexican, Central American
Restaurant details
Rochester, NY
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
“Best it could be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

This is a modest restaurant with a great menu, friendly service, and very good food. A big bowl of yummy tortilla chips was brought with mild salsa. The fajitas were very good with tender beef, hot tortillas, and delicious accompaniments. Service was prompt and attentive. Very well done.. Also, there is a huge salt water fish tank with beautiful fish and other reef critters.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    7
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Alabama
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Best Mexican restaurant in town.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011 via mobile

We have been to all of Montgomery's Mexican restaurants, and this one is by far the best in town. There are a good number of vegetarian dishes, as well as some Cuban and other Caribbean dishes. The food is always fresh and well- prepared, and the service is usually fast and efficient. At some of the restaurants in town I am not always able to identify the meat. No Way Jose's meat is always good and exactly what I ordered. It's a good place for a family or a casual date.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
1 review
“Excellent Food, Fast Service, Great Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

Overall, this hidden restaurant is excellent. Service is always fast and the wait staff is funny and efficient. I always share a laugh with them. It's a great family atmosphere, but you can order the best margaritas in Montgomery there, as well. I've lived in Montgomery for a year now and since July 2011, I eat at No Way Jose a couple times a month.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“HORRIBLE SERVICE AND FOOD”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2010

The service was horrible. We complained to the owner and she literally screamed at my Dad on his 64th birthday celebration. I have never seen anything like this in my life. I encourage you not to patronize this restaurant unless you want to run the risk of being harrassed.

We were regular customers but will never return to this place again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Their salt-water fish tank is amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

The service was great, they were accommodating about our picky preferences, we were able to watch a March madness basketball game on TV, and the food was good (they even had fresh spinach!). But my favorite part was the fish tank, filled with a huge variety of colorful sea life.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed No Way Jose Grill Cantina also viewed

 

Been to No Way Jose Grill Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage No Way Jose Grill Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.