We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful staff, good food, amazing muffins” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Louisa

Cafe Louisa
1036 E Fairview Ave, Montgomery, AL 36106-2145
334-264-4241
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #88 of 379 Restaurants in Montgomery
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, Bakery, Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Montgomery
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful staff, good food, amazing muffins”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I moved to Montgomery about two months ago but avoided going to Cafe Louisa because I knew once I started going I wouldn't be able to stop. I bought my first bagel there about a week ago and have already gone back at least 3 or 4 times. Their everything bagels are solid and their morning glory muffins are amazing! I could easily eat those every day for the rest of the year.

I recently went there around 8PM for some late night work and ordered the soup of the day which the cashier/server happily got for me even the kitchen was closed. The soup was delicious but not quite as hot as I wanted it to be. I went back and asked him if it would be a problem to heat it up to which he apologized and said they didn't have a microwave. I told him not to worry about it but he came out 5 minutes later with their hummus plate and told me it was on the house since he didn't want me to go hungry and felt bad about the soup. I thought this was really going the extra mile to take care of a customer who had come in after their kitchen was closed and not too long before their usual closing time. He was very polite and seemed genuinely concerned that I was satisfied as a customer. All in all my experiences there have been great and the staff is awesome.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    10
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mobile, AL
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Nope, doesn't make the cut”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Food was OK, overpriced a bit, but OK. Service was totally unacceptable and unprofessional. I get how the whole "slacker" attitude fits in but these folks transcend trendy and enter into just plain inept. Bottom line is this place has a good menu with terrible execution.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Alabama
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Great lunch with friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We 3 ladies were having a girls lunch out and one friend suggested we come here. We weren't disappointed. We ordered 3 different things and each was very tasty and carefully prepared. The portions were generous as well. The hummus plate had 2 different kinds of olives which was great to see.

Our Italian Creme sodas we ordered were short on flavor and when I brought them back the server promptly and attentively added more flavoring, re-mixed them, and placed them in a new cup very kindly. That's attention to customer service and we greatly appreciated it. No attitude, no fuss, simply thoughtfulness and professionalism. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama, United States
1 review
“Overpriced, staff is rude”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Everything is overpriced. Quality isn't that great. They have a ridiculous debit/credit card limit to try to force you to buy more to meet the minimum.

Employees are snobs who are slow and don't seem to care about good service.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Gelato was great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

They had baked goods, gelatos, and coffees. It is connected to the Tomatino's pizza shop, so you can head next door for dessert. There are some non-dairy sorbets as well.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Louisa also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Louisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Louisa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.