We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run as fast as you can.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   120 Madison Ave., Montgomery, AL 36104 (Formerly Madison Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points!
Ranked #17 of 73 Hotels in Montgomery
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Madison, United States
1 review
“Run as fast as you can.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

I made reservations for a 2BR suite at least 2 weeks in advance. A few days prior to arrival, I requested an early check-in. My family arrived at the hotel around 2:00 and had to sit and wait in the lobby until the 2 or 3 housekeepers on duty had time to clean our room. We were there for a wedding that began at 4:00. When the room was finally available, there was not crib for my daughters baby. I had ordered the crib 2 weeks earlier as well. When we asked for the traditional cookies, the staff appeared baffled. Worst Hilton property I have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you for your review of your past stay at our hotel. Hearing from our guests helps us provide the best experience possible. We’re sorry that the comfort of your stay was interrupted and we’ve shared your comments with our team so we can do a better job of check-in. I did see you checked in between 2pm and 3pm. Our goal is to always fullfill our guest requests, however, we have a very limited amount of our 2 bedroom suites therefore it is difficult for us to guarantee a early check in before 3pm when the suites were used the prior night. In addition, I want to apologize for any confusion about the cookies. Other Hilton brands do have the traditional Otis Spunkmeyer cookies, however, the Doubletree by Hilton brand only serves the world famous Doubletree Chocolate Chip cookie. Again, I want to offer my sincerest apologies for the issues you encountered during your stay. The next time you travel to the area, we hope that you’ll be our guest again.

Sincerely,

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    75
    57
    23
    8
See reviews for
72
33
16
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

This hotel certainly lived up to the high expectations that I have from Hilton properties. The only thing that I would like to see is a microwave and small refrigerator in the room. Since I only stayed overnight this was not a big issue. Had I stayed more than overnight it would have been an issue. It is strange that less expensive chains often provide microwaves and refrigerator.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed at the down town double tree for an overnight stay before a technology competition. the rooms were very nice, beds were comfortable only complaint would be no kitchen utensils for the kitchenette.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiggins, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Room and service was okay but the meals are pricey and below average. Stayed 4 nights. Would try somewhere else next time but if you just need a bed its okay. The restaurant staff seemed to be below par as far as customer service and in todays world if you charge over $12 bucks for breakfast it should be memorable. I have had much better for free. Overall I was disappointed but not enough to complain. The folks that worked the front counter seemed to be nice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

The rooms were large and clean. There was a two bedroom suite with a kitchen. That configuration is hard to find at a nice hotel. And, the rate was very reasonable. It has obviously been recently rennovated and everything looks great. Staff was courteous and I will go back. Also, it was close to the downtown nightlife.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albertville, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

The hotel was recently renovated but still appeared to be a little dated. The room and common areas appeared to be clean. It is frustrating to check in hearing that there are 15 rooms available but they are all out of government discounted rooms. I ended up paying approximately $60 more than my colleagues with my room being no different than theirs and overhearing the check in personnel stating on the phone that there were 15 empty rooms on the phone... why not accommodate a traveler that is their on business and not receiving reimbursement from their employer to stay with your colleagues that you were traveling with rather than leave 15 rooms open without any rent being paid on the rooms.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Was recently in town for a conference at the Rennaisaince downtown. After checking rates there and at the Hampton, I found the Doubletree for quite a bit of a discount. After checking in, i was upgraded to a very nice 2 bedroom suite with all the amenities of home. The hotel was an easy walk to basically anywhere in town include the conference center. Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown

Address: 120 Madison Ave., Montgomery, AL 36104 (Formerly Madison Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Montgomery
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Montgomery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Montgomery, Alabama and in close proximity to area businesses, government offices and the Montgomery Convention Center (walking distance.) Completely renovated property packed with extra amenities including a warm Doubletree chocolate chip cookie on arrival, high-speed internet access, onsite fitness center, state-of-the-art business center, full-service restaurant and gorgeous views. This hotel is perfect for your Montgomery, AL travel needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Hotel Montgomery
Best Western Montgomery

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.