We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FIRST TRIP TO MONTGOMERY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   120 Madison Ave., Montgomery, AL 36104 (Formerly Madison Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points!
Ranked #18 of 75 Hotels in Montgomery
Shelbyville, KY, United States
1 review
“FIRST TRIP TO MONTGOMERY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

This was our first trip to Montgomery. Pleasantly surprised to find excellent service and accommodations and enjoyed touring the city and local area. Recommend DoubleTree to any visitors. Centrally located.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Good Evening,

Thank you so much for your positive feedback! I will be sure to share your kind comments with our entire team. We look forward to seeing you back soon!

Sincerely,

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    63
    46
    18
    7
See reviews for
64
26
11
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Great service, everyone is very friendly. The rooms are all very nice and clean. It is a great location close to downtown restaurants and the waterfront. Ate breakfast at the hotel and was very good. I stay here on all my visits to Montgomery!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Good Evening,

Thank you so much for your positive feedback! I will be sure to share your kind comments with our entire team. We look forward to seeing you back soon!

Sincerely,

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tupelo, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

First time using Honors program. I was disappoint with Hotel room, small beds, no micowave, ref. Didn't know Hotel didn't have swimming pool. My daughter was disappointed by that. parking was also tight. I will ask more question next time before I book. Staff was very nice and helpful, came down to run marthron, but next time down will look for a hilton with swimming pool, as well as other ammenties that we like.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Good Evening,

I am so sorry the room booked did not have all of the amenities you desired. I have shared your comments with our ownership as well as our entire team. Refridgerators and microwaves are a valued amenty and completely understand the need for these. Currently we do not have any in our standard rooms; however, we do have them in all of our junior suites, and multi-room suites. In addition, I we have recently taken steps to have these on standby for our standard room available upon request. We value each and every one of our guest and always want to ensure you receive nothing but the highest level of service. If there is anything else we can do, please let me know. We truly hope you give us another opportunity here at the Doubletree.

Sincerely,

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

my room was right above the kitchen. the noise in the kitchen starts early and goes till late. that was the first day. the second day at about 1145p there was some loud noise that started in the kitchen and at midnight I called to the front deck to see if they would look in to it. 15 mins later no change. I got out of bed and had to go to the desk. the person on duty stated they were doing some cleaning there tonight. He did offer to move me to a different room at that time. It was late and I don't think a guest should have to move at that time. they could of have informed me earlier in the evening and move me then. now on the third night there were teenage boys running around inside the entire hotel up and down being loud and without any supervision. they were outside on the deck throwing a football from the deck to the parking lot below. they were hitting my window and hitting cars parked in the lot below. I also saw one throw a can of pop to the lot below. I called the desk and advised them. I continued to watch but never saw anyone go out and address the problem. I was the one that went down and confronted the teens. when I asked what room they were in they said they couldn't remember. Later that night about 3am I could here the music over the hotel speakers that they play 24hrs a day and again called down to asked to have them turned off or at least down. They did turn down some but yet again another night was disturbed. The problems at breakfast was on the 3rd day of my stay they were about 15 mins past the opening time before breakfast began. They had no complimentary coffee in the lobby until 720a and there were at least 6 people waiting around for it. on my second day at breakfast I asked for OJ and never did receive any. Service was bad that day and I never did ask a second time. The buffet was ok but the people eating kept having to wait for the food to be refilled. I just felt someone should be making sure things are kept filled. The female on staff at my checkout did deduct one nights stay off my total bill. I thanked her and left. I was in town competing in a national sporting event. my REST was very important to me during my stay. I feel the hotel really failed at providing me that.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Good Evening,

I want to offer my sincerest apologies for the less than satisfactory experience that you had on this occasion. I was so sorry to read of your disappointment about the service and the noise issues encountered during your stay. I completely understand your frustration as I would have felt the same way. I have personally spoken with our management team in great detail about the problems encountered and have placed several policies and procedures in place to ensure similiar incidents do not re-occur. I want to thank you personally for providing us with your feedback. We pride ourselves on providing exceptional service and an exceptional product and we have obviously failed to provide that to you. We would love the opportunity to have you stay with us again in the near future. If you do decide to stay, please email me and I will personally ensure your stay is nothing but exceptional. If we can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to let me know.

Sincerely,

Brian Hass
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairview, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The first room we checked into had a broken air/heating unit making a loud squealing noise. The front desk was very accommodating and moved us to a new room, this one had very visible cob webs all over the ceiling, ugh... it was late we were tired so we stayed. Went to visit our friends down the road at another hotel only to find this hotel much less expensive, newer, far more amenities and cleaner.... to top it off, our bill was incorrect at checkout. Won't be making a Double Tree mistake again.....

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Good Evening,

I want to offer my sincerest apologies for the less than satisfactory experience that you had on this occasion. I was so sorry to read of your disappointment about the maintenance condition of the room. I completely understand your frustration as I would have felt the same way. I have personally spoken with our Chief Engineer and our Director of Housekeeping in great detail about the problems encountered. I want to thank you personally for providing us with your feedback. We pride ourselves on providing exceptional service and an exceptional product and we have obviously failed to provide that to you. We would love the opportunity to have you stay with us again in the near future. If you do decide to stay, please email me and I will personally ensure your stay is exceptional. Again, I want to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

Sincerely,

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I looooved my room on the 6th floor! It was spacious and enjoyable. The full kitchen was great...didn't need stove but we used fridge and microwave. Thought downtown would not be a good location but it was fine.We walked to riverfront and saw some historical buildings/churches. Mall was easy to find straight down the street. Used underground parking only when we could get close to door. I would definately stay again. Price was worth it (although had discount).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Good Evening,

Thank you so much for your positive feedback! I will be sure to share your kind comments with our entire team. We look forward to seeing you back soon!

Sincerely,

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Booked a room at the Montgomery DoubleTree based on proximity to the county courthouse. I wouldn't recommend walking to/from the hotel after dark--not becuase I had a bad experience w/r/t security, but the surrounding neighborhood looked sketchy and I tend to be more cautious when traveling alone. The suite was good sized and well-appointed. Had coffeemaker, mini fridge and microwave. Internet access in room was far better than the last several hotels I've been in. The staff really puts this hotel over the top. Everyone from front desk to restaurant to housekeeping was very pleasant, courteous and responsive to requests.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown

Address: 120 Madison Ave., Montgomery, AL 36104 (Formerly Madison Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Montgomery
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Montgomery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Montgomery, Alabama and in close proximity to area businesses, government offices and the Montgomery Convention Center (walking distance.) Completely renovated property packed with extra amenities including a warm Doubletree chocolate chip cookie on arrival, high-speed internet access, onsite fitness center, state-of-the-art business center, full-service restaurant and gorgeous views. This hotel is perfect for your Montgomery, AL travel needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Hotel Montgomery
Best Western Montgomery

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.