We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible service at the bar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   120 Madison Ave., Montgomery, AL 36104 (Formerly Madison Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points!
Ranked #15 of 73 hotels in Montgomery
Nashville, TN
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Terrible service at the bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Sat for 10 minutes at the bar without service. If the bartender, Kasey, stopped flirting with old men, she would make better tips and serve everyone in a timely manner.

The rooms were nice and clean. Everything else seemed in order. Checking in was easy.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    50
    31
    11
    6
See reviews for
43
20
9
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Note, this letter was sent to the Director of Brand Public Relations at DoubleTree by Hilton a week and a half ago.

I recently had a stay at your Doubletree location in Montgomery, Alabama, reservation confirmation number XXXXXX. The best word I can use to describe my stay at this time is interesting in a baffling way. As the Director of Brand Public Relations for “Full Service Brands” I believe you are the best person to walk through my experience with the room odor, inadequately supplied room, poor attitude/laziness/ineptitude of the front desk staff, inadequate cleaning, and poor restaurant service.

As we arrived walking into the hotel from the covered drive area (which had a lingering smoke odor) on Friday August 30th, we were greeted and provided our room keys as well as the complementary cookies. This was the third best interaction we had with your staff, which isn’t saying much.

We made our way up to our room and found it, along with much of the hotel, to have a vague scent that combined cigarette smoke, wood chips and animal urine. The scent is overpowering each time you enter our room, #611. I’m not sure if the carpets have been cleaned or if these carpets are originals since this hotel was apparently remodeled not long ago (or I assume as there is a “Now Open” sign out front).

As we settled into the room I found that my pre-arrival request for additional towels was not accommodated, however, since there was a standard of three sets of towels per bathroom I did not follow up.

Had we only been staying one night you would not be hearing from me, as we did not use any of the hotel services that evening. Unfortunately for us, we were not due to check out for four days. Day two we started running into the incredible inadequacies of the hotel, and at times complete ignorance for customer service.

The morning of Saturday, August 31 we began planning our day, we found that the room, which is equipped with a full kitchen including a stove and dishwasher (one of the reasons I booked this particular room), was only stocked with four plates, eight glasses and four sets of silverware. I called the hotel’s “Careline” and was advised that I had to come down to the desk and request any pots/pans/etc. to use in the kitchen. I understand that you may have guests that walk off with kitchen equipment, though at a hotel like the Doubletree I expect that I would only need to say that I needed the kitchen stocked with equipment and it would be completed with a standard set of items. This was the beginning of my first negative experience. I stopped by the desk on the way to breakfast and filled out the form in which I requested spoons, spatulas, two saucepans, a sauté pan, tongs, a cutting board, two knives and two mixing bowls. Not long after completing the form the woman I provided the form to at the front desk found me in the restaurant halfway through my meal, and asked me to come speak with the chef, whom had some questions about my request. I obliged figuring he was going to ask if I needed additional items or specifying what type of items I needed. I left my family and went to speak with the chef standing at the front desk looking at my written request, and found his only question was which room I was staying in for delivery. I chalked it up to miscommunication between the front desk woman and the chef and rejoined my party at breakfast.

We finished our meal and returned to the room to find that we received industrial sized items from the restaurant kitchen, including a two foot by one and one half foot cutting board, incredibly large metal mixing bowls, and instead of two knives we received one giant meat carving knife. I’m not sure what the chef thought I was going to cook that I needed a 14-inch serrated carving knife, but it certainly didn’t include any vegetables. I called back down and asked for a paring knife or a chef’s knife or any sort of vegetable knife, the individual on the “Careline” said they would speak with the chef again and call me back. Forty-five minutes later as we were leaving, I had yet to receive a call back.

Our family went on a walking tour of the downtown Montgomery area, including stops at local museums and memorials, returning what I believe was approximately two - three hours later. There were still no knives. I called again. The man that answered advised that there was liability for them supplying knives, for which I advised I had already signed for it AND there was no more liability for providing a small paring knife than a 14-inch carving knife. He agreed and said he would send one up. As we left to go to the grocery store about 15 minutes later, we had not yet received a knife nor had we heard back from the front desk.

Since we now found the lack of service amusing and had minimal if any confidence in the hotel staff, we purchased a set of knives at the store along with our groceries. Upon returning we wanted to wash the new knives. It was at this time that we found that there was no dish soap (sink nor dishwasher detergent), no sponges, no paper towels or kitchen towels. Yet again we called the “Careline”, yet again I was told they would call me back, and yet again we received absolutely zero service. We watched football in the room for about an hour or so before my brother went to the front desk. He spoke with a young woman who advised him she spoke with her manager and was told that they do not supply any items. She specifically stated “That doesn’t come with your room, you were suppose to bring those things with you”. Incredulous my brother asked, “I’m on vacation and I’m suppose to bring a sponge and dish soap with me?” for which she confirmed and when he asked if that sounded as crazy to her as it sounded to him, she confirmed again. He advised that we would be using towels out of the bathroom as this was ridiculous.

We proceeded to make and eat dinner before bellman brought a small bottle of Palmolive, a roll of paper towels and two washcloths. He asked if we still needed knives, though he didn’t bring any, which I almost asked for just to see how long it would take, but instead declined.

The following morning we went to the hotel restaurant for the made-to-order omelets. We were initially greeted by a young woman by the name of Tenelle who took our drink order but got distracted by a man that sat down at another table and proceeded to spend a good 5-10 minutes flirting with him. When the other server came over he asked Tenelle about our drinks and she said “I left them over there” motioning to the back server station. While the idea of omelets was great we found that there was a significant lack of comprehension between my family, the server, and the cook. The standard omelet was egg, cheese, ham, peppers and onions, with options to add tomato and/or mushrooms. Our orders were as follows: Seat 1 – Egg white omelet no ham add tomato and mushrooms, Seat 2 – Egg white omelet no ham add tomato and mushrooms, Seat 3 – Egg white omelet no ham, no cheese, add tomato and mushroom, Seat 4 – Egg white omelet no ham, no cheese. We received: Three egg white omelets with only peppers and onions and one omelet with peppers, onions, tomatoes and mushrooms, to be fair they didn’t put ham on any of them so at least that part was correct. After our ordeal with the inability to receive items for our room the day before, we determined it was improbable that if we asked for a correction we would ever eat, so we did not bring this to the attention of the server.

We left for a few hours and upon returning found that the kitchen had not been wiped down (still large spots of food on the stove), the dishwasher which we had loaded and left partially open to show it was full- had not been run, nor had the towels which were left dirty in the sink been replaced or even just removed. We changed for dinner and went down to the hotel bar for a drink, on the way down I stopped by the front desk to ask that the kitchen be cleaned and the dishwasher run. The man at the front desk said he would find someone to get on it, however about three to five minutes later he returned and said there were no housekeeping staff in the hotel. He stated they had all gone home and that no one would be able to clean the stove off, nor run the dishwasher until morning, and asked if we would be checking out the following day. I was absolutely astonished that instead of saying housekeeping staff were unavailable but he or another staff would be happy to go back and clean the items for which other staff had left dirty, or even provided dishwasher detergent for us to run the machine on our own, he insinuated that we should just leave the next day.

We sat at the hotel bar amazed at the horrible service experiences and actually contemplated checking out to go stay at the Renaissance just down the street or the Residence Inn a few miles away. At this point we finally encountered a member of the staff that I can say gave not only decent service but actually service to the level that I expect from the Hilton and Doubletree brand, the bartender JC. He was lovely, personable, helpful, attentive, knowledgeable and courteous. Every single member of the staff could learn about customer service from JC.

The following day, much to the dismay of some of the staff I’m sure, we did not check out. Instead we explored the town in search of brunch (as the buffet breakfast had closed early), returning about 1pm. We sat outside chatting in the nice weather before one of the members of our group had to leave for a flight, but returning to the room to utilize the restroom I found that the room had not been cleaned. I asked the front desk to please clean the room, for which they did send someone up. We continued sitting outside for approximately one hour, giving housekeeping plenty of time to clean, yet upon return to the room the dishwasher – still loaded and ready to be run – had STILL not been run, nor had the obviously dirty washcloths that we had now hung over the faucet in the sink been exchanged. I located a housekeeper in the hallway and asked for some dishwasher detergent, she gave me a few daggered glances before turning to a gentleman behind the storage door and out of my eyesight. He came out of the closet area, was kind, and said he would bring some detergent to me, which we received a few minutes later. I hate to say this was actually surprising as he was able to provide simple service adequately and we didn’t have to ask for this detergent more than 3 times.

That evening we received the second best service of the stay from Kasey at the restaurant bar. While she did not know about the local restaurants that were open for the holiday (for which I cannot fault her) she was friendly, knowledgeable about her products, personable and prompt with our refills. Somehow the bar staff are the only ones that know customer service and are decent brand ambassadors.

Finally Tuesday morning September 3rd, the day of our departure arrived. Of course the bill was incorrect, but the front desk staff was able to correct and brought our receipt (since it took quite a bit of time to fix) to me in the restaurant. Unfortunately we encountered Tenelle again and we knew immediately that this was not going to be the quick breakfast we were hoping for. She informed us that because there were only a small number of guests in the hotel that morning there was no buffet, but we could buy breakfast from the restaurant. I advised that it was included with our room, and she asked that we speak with the front desk. The front desk staff provided additional breakfast cards, which the other server had taken on Friday morning stating that they were unnecessary. As we sat down she took our order for waters and spent quite a bit of time acquiring two glasses, ice and water. This was surprising considering we were the only people in the dining area. I’m sure she just got distracted talking to the other staff, while thankfully we could not hear the details of their conversation over the TV which was airing an in depth report on the history of child sex abuse by priests, we did hear that there was a full conversation taking place. She eventually returned to take our order, for which only returned half correct despite my suggestion that she write it down since we both wanted two items each including omelets and they would be different. Tenelle did not return to our table until our plates were ready to be cleared, since she was so enthralled in her text messaging conversation and giggling to herself reading from her phone at the hostess stand.

We departed shortly after discussing that from now on we would definitely be more apt to select a Marriott hotel, even if it meant selecting two adjoining or neighboring rooms.

Should you have any questions about the above, or wish to provide your take on the situation, maybe confirming that these are in line with brand standards, please feel free to contact me

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Good Evening,

My name is Brian Hass and I am the new manager at the Doubletree in Downtown Montgomery. I am not sure if you received a past response back from the previous manager, however, I wanted to personally reach out to you. I first wanted to apologize for the inconveniences, lack of attention to detail, and lack of service you encountered during your stay. I completely understand your frustrations and would like to try and speak with you in more detail about your stay. Your feedback is very valuable to us and I can assure you that all these issues have been resolved. If you would like to contact me, my email is brian.hass3@hilton.com. I would love the opportunity to personally express my deepest apologies. Thank your for feedback and I look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,

Brian Hass
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The interior of the hotel and rooms is done tastefully and the staff was great to work with. Nothing out of the ordinary and a great stay.

A major rainstorm prevented me from walking to the local restaurants and I ate the hotel restaurant and the meal was excellent!

Suggestions for Management:
The desk is too small to spread out items to do work. I had to take off the coffee tray and move all the other items placed on the desk in order to make room for laptop and accessories. The room is large enough to hold additional furniture.
Add end tables to place items when sitting in chair
Add additional towel holders in bathroom. One hook on the door is not enough.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a friend's wedding this past weekend and although I didn't spend much time in the hotel, the time I did was pleasant and very relaxing. The hotel lobby was very well appointed and the staff was very friendly and professional. Check in was smooth and easy and the staff was prepared with the wedding bags for guests checking in and were conscious of the fact that guests needed to be checked in quickly because the wedding would be starting in about 1 1/2 hours. Parking was easy and check out was easy as well. Hopefully I'll have more time to actually check out the hotel and what it has to offer next time I'm in Montgomery.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Was recommended to stay at this property for a family wedding. Likely one of the better hotels in Montgomery, Alabama--base on comments from others regarding different local properties. I called prior to arrival to ascertain transportation from airport to the Doubletree. The front desk stated that it should cost circa $12 while the cab cost was $28! They have no hotel shuttle.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Property is very clean and nicely appointed. Very conveniently location in downtown. Staff was very friendly and helped with all of our needs. There are only a few hotels in Montgomery that I would rate at this level and the Double Tree is the most reasonably priced.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Good Evening,

We want to thank you for your positive response. Your feedback is so valuable to our team and I am pleased to share your comments with our entire team. We truly hope you will stay with us again in the near future. If we can be of any further assistance, please do not hesistate to call.

Sincerely,

Brian Hass
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I enjoyed my stay for one night at this location. Previous trip to Montgomery for work I stayed at the Embassy Suites because it was recommended and because I enjoy them in other locations. Unfortunately it was not the best experience, so this time I looked into other options. I found this Doubletree hotel and it was relatively the same distance to the office so I said I'd give it a try. Upon walking into the hotel I felt like I had made the right decisions. Just the look was welcoming. The front desk staff at checkin that afternoon, later that evening and upon checkout the next morning were extremely helpful and friendly. I had no problems with the room or anything, wi-fi, etc. Lobby bar attendant was extremely courteous and food was great as well. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom Q, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thanks you Nicole, for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate your decision to try us after having used the Embassy Suites on prior occasions. We do have a great front desk staff, eager to please and many of the ameinites offered by the Embassy (and Renaissance for that matter) are erased after then having to pay for wi-fi and parking. I also appreciate your comment regarding the food in the restaurant which is really superior to most of the restaurants in town as well as the hotels. Again, thank you so much for your comments.
Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown

Address: 120 Madison Ave., Montgomery, AL 36104 (Formerly Madison Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Montgomery
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Montgomery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Montgomery, Alabama and in close proximity to area businesses, government offices and the Montgomery Convention Center (walking distance.) Completely renovated property packed with extra amenities including a warm Doubletree chocolate chip cookie on arrival, high-speed internet access, onsite fitness center, state-of-the-art business center, full-service restaurant and gorgeous views. This hotel is perfect for your Montgomery, AL travel needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Hotel Montgomery
Best Western Montgomery

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.