We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pool drained and unuseable” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Quality Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 Eastern Blvd., Montgomery, AL 36117 (Formerly Montgomery Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #38 of 75 Hotels in Montgomery
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Pool drained and unuseable”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I have edited this review TWICE to try and meet tripadvisor guidelines since it was removed the first time because I referenced what another guest told me concerning an amenity to which I PERSONALLY was commenting on. The second review was removed about a month later, i'm assuming because the property/company doesn't want the sad state of the pool disclosed.

The reality is, the property did not disclose on the corporate website, as required, about the status of the inground pool. We had a room on the pool side of the building. During our visit it was clear the pool was unuseable. See attached photos. If tripadvisor receives another request to remove this HELPFUL HONEST review, then don't just remove it, contact me by email and provide CLEAR instructions as to how I can post this review and help other customers be aware of the property condition.

Subject: Quality Inn & Suites
Location: Montgomery, Alabama, United States, North America
Title: Misrepresented amenities - pool mostly empty with black water, no laundry
ID#: 173327520

Arrived Aug 5 to a room on the inground pool side of the building. The pool was drained and had about a foot of black water in it. I went to desk and also asked about laundry facilities and was the desk clerk said they are not available, that they are waiting for new machines. There is no excuse for the lack of proper information on company website. At a different hotel from this same chain, that we stayed at in Nashville, they followed corporate guidelines and indicated right on the website that their pool was out of service during renovations.

The Quality inn and suites in Montgomery did not.

Room Tip: Don't book on the pool side of the building if you don't want a disgusting view of a drained...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dharmesh p, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We truly value the opinions of our customers.
We apologize for not having updated the website about the pool not being usable, as it was out of service for renovation, and for not having removed the info about the laundry facility.
We would like to inform you that as soon as you reported this information we removed the info about the laundry facility from our website.
We would also like to inform you that very soon we will be able to provide the laundry facility.
The pool is now closed for the season and it will be again functional next spring.
The Management changed a few months ago, there’s a lot we have to catch up with, and we are making important investments in order to improve the Hotel
As a matter of fact we already started it, and very soon we will be proud to present you the new Quality Inn & Suites.
Valentino SaBe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    7
    8
    9
    4
See reviews for
5
11
3
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Falls City, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We booked this for a night because it had good reviews. (this was back in July 2013 before the newest reviews. Wish I would have seen them before I went!) We drove all day, 15 hours, so when we got there we were tired and I wasn't able to check it out that well. The sheets were clean and the room seemed clean. The worker at the front desk was very nice,both in the evening and in the morning. That is the good news! It was my sons birthday and he really wanted to swim, we checked out the pool and there was no water in the pool. We couldn't see how bad it was until the morning, which we found out that the water was green/black. GROSS! Also not that the motel can help it but the people staying beside us seemed kind of shady. Then our room smelled like mildew, we figured it out in the morning. The hose from the air conditioner was draining into the room, on the carpet, instead of outside. In the morning when I went to take a shower I about died. I did not look in the shower before then and was very disappointed when I seen it. I added pictures of the room. The breakfast was OK. Nothing to write home about. For some reason the manager takes the key to the juice machine home so we had to eat our breakfast without juice. I would NOT recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dharmesh p, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write about us on TripAdvisor.
When working in hospitality and dealing with people from all walks of life on a daily basis, we know that it is not an easy job to please each one of them.
We do not perceive criticism as something negative, but as a means to learn from our guests and improve our services.
We would like to thank you for the kind words you spent about our staff.
We were happy to learn from your review that you appreciated the cleanliness of the room although at the same time you’re saying that it smelled like mildew and you only figured it out the next morning.
Form the photos attached we fail to see the reason why you were so disappointed about the shower.
We apologize for you not being able to use the pool as it was unusable last summer.
The pool is now closed for the season and it will open next spring.
The Management changed a few months ago and there is a lot we have to catch up with.
This is not meant to be an excuse, it’s just that we “inherited” some of the things that didn’t work under the previous Management and we are making investments in order to bring our property to standards aligned with its name.
We would also like to inform you that the Housekeeping has been implemented in order to provide top quality standards.
We would like to assure you and our next guests that the area where the Hotel is located is a safe area with a very low (if not, inexistent) delinquency rating.
However, if you have noticed “shady characters”, you could’ve informed us and we would have promptly investigated the matter in order to give you a more sense of tranquility.
We would also like to take the opportunity to list some of the things that our hot continental breakfast include: coffee, decaffeinated coffee, tea, milk, fresh orange juice, muffin, bread, cereals, sausage, eggs, fresh waffles and plenty more…
We really hope that you will give us another chance, we promise that everything that didn’t work when you stayed at our Hotel, will be only history. 
Valentino SaBe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We didn't make reservations so we spent 2 1/2 hours looking from Birmingham to Montgomery for a hotel- it was a Friday night and during high vacation time. We even had OnStar calling as well. So it was literally the only thing available and we now know why- the guy that check me in was absolutely WONDERFUL!!! It was almost 3 in the morning and he was so nice and have me a great deal for $55 bucks- that's all the positive I have to say. Now the bad- no lights outside vacant lot next door looked bad the rooms though kinda updated smelled awful!! We used just the beds no shower they were ok. The door in the morning you could see daylight around every side. There was maybe 6 inches in the mosquito haven they called a pool. The breakfast was the worst ever! Cereal was stale, bread molded, no eggs and she didn't want to make more. Sausage patties like rubber and the mix for waffles was just water. Now like I said this was all that was available from Birmingham to Montgomery but it was a Quality Inn and I would hope that they continue the effort to improve because it really puts a bad make on the Quality Inn company and their affiliates.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dharmesh p, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
First of all we would like to thank you for your kind words on our
Staff and services .
We agree on some of the problems that you have encountered while
staying with us, most of the problems were “inherited” by us from the previous little functional Management, and we are making investments in order to solve those issues that didn’t work out well in the past.
At the same time, we would like to inform you and our future guests that
important changes have been made since you stayed here.
The Housekeeping has been implemented, the breakfast has been enriched with plenty of things and the quality of the food we provide for breakfast has been improved.
Said this we are sorry that your stay was not what you would have expected and we do hope that this has not compromised completely your stay in Montgomery.
Thank you again for taking the time to review our hotel and we hope to welcome you again very soon.
Valentino SaBe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

My wife and I spent five wonderful days at the Montgomery Al. Bottom line it was a great hotel. The hotel staff are without exception all friendly, helpful and very professional. All the guys in the front desk are friendly and extremly helpful. The wonderful young ladies that work the continential breakfast at Quality Inn is super effiecient, friendly and always constantly asking if we needed anything.

As I stated, we were drawn to this hotel due to the closer to all restaurant and easy to access interstate. While the cost of the hotel was at right price than other comparable hotels, we picked the Quality Inn because of the above stated factors and because of the continential full hot breakfast. It was well worth it for this reason and the location. We could have paid less but the location, friendly staff and ammenities made it all worth the extra cost. I should also say that the hotel is very quiet.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dharmesh p, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thank you for staying with us that was god to have you here and we are greatly appreciated that you put this review so other can see and they can decide to stay with us. We forward to seeing you again and again in future stay. Thanks!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beulah, Michigan
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Our first impression was very poor. The exterior of the building and the sign needed paint, trees were trimmed but not cleaned up. The agent was wearing a dirty white tee shirt, and barely spoke English. The next morning he had on a different white tee shirt. Very unprofessional, and never left his chair to wait on us. Light fixtures were hanging from wires, and switch plates missing. The room had an odor, but sheets were clean, and the area was quiet. Furniture was old and in need of repair. We planned to stay for 2 nights, but moved on after one.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor, and the entrance was from the parking lot. We prefer interior hallways...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldport, Oregon
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was a free stay for us with one of our hotel memberships. The desk clerk gave us a two room suite. Two baths, living room. Two tvs. She has pizazz too. Great place. Clean and quiet. You would do well to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deep South
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

Starting with check in I had the feeling that this was not going to be a great motel. I am okay with foreign hotel workers, but it is nice when they speak English well enough to understand what I need. It took at bit, but I got checked in. The next surprise was that the door to our room was very hard to open and required a firm shoulder applied before it would give. The room was suppose to be non-smoking and was marked as such, but you could still smell the odor of cigarettes. My daughter opened the drawer in the bedside table and found out why--someone had used the drawer for an ashtray and it was full of ashes! There was also a used tissue and an empty wrapper. The bathroom mirror had what looked like a phone number written on it in soap and only half an attempt at removing it had been made. On the positive side, the beds did look fairly new and were comfortable. The tv worked as a tv should and the wifi was okay. Breakfast the next morning was a bad joke. The guy behind the desk was just finishing making a waffle when we came in, but there was no waffle batter in sight. All there was was two muffins, 5 small danish like pastries, packets of salt, small amounts of cereal and a bit of milk in a jug. This was early in the morning when most motels are well stocked for breakfast if they offer one. All around were empty places where food should have been. The drink dispenser had apple juice and something that was suppose to be orange juice, but looked more brown than orange. It was creepy the way the guy behind the desk watched us so we left and went else where for breakfast. Overall motel was poorly lit at night and felt creepy though I could tell from the rooms that attempts had been made at updating. Maybe this place will improve in the future, but I don't think I will give them another try.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Address: 1401 Eastern Blvd., Montgomery, AL 36117 (Formerly Montgomery Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Montgomery
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 75 Hotels in Montgomery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Montgomery Alabama hotel - Quality Inn & Suites near Troy University. The Quality Inn & SuitesTM hotel is centrally located and is four miles from Troy University-Montgomery Campus. This Alabama hotel is minutes from local points of interest like the Montgomery Zoo, the Garrett Coliseum and the Eastdale Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.