We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Red Bluff Cottage gets Better & Better...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Bluff Cottage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Red Bluff Cottage to your Saves list
Red Bluff Cottage
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   551 Clay Street, Montgomery, AL 36104   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Montgomery B&B and Inns
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Red Bluff Cottage gets Better & Better...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

A disturbing trend for B&Bs is to be more about Business & Bucks than Bed & Breakfast. Well, Bonnie & Barry are old school. They live on the property and treat there guests like ..... guests in their home. Lovely hospitality. Thought-filled and gracious breakfast experience. Very clean and fresh experience.

No in-room TVs, which was nice. But if you need to watch, there is one on the second floor, which is open and welcoming to guests. Better yet, sit on the balcony or the gazebo and listen to the birds!

Thanks

Room Tip: All nice, in the four corners of the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    24
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
41
145
26
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
The Villages, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed three nights to play golf on the Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail. The golf was great and the stay at Red Bluff Cottage was even better. Excellent accommodations. You could tell the owners loved running this business.(Which seemed more like staying at a friend's home). We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I stayed here with my husband right before his graduation from AMS, and it exceeded every expectation we had. The service was outstanding - the owners, Barry and Bonnie, were so hospitable and kind; you'd believe they never met a stranger! They made our stay there a great experience. The sit-down breakfast was served at 8:30 AM and it was a full course meal. Such a great start to the day. Also, the owners were very helpful with activities to do while in Montgomery along with great restaurants to eat at. The B&B itself was beautiful and well taken care of; full of Southern Charm. I will highly recommend this place to anyone going through Montgomery.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The breakfasts were good, and Barry gave me help with a phoning problem I was having. THey also let me do my laundry. The room was great, the bed was great, and the shower very nice.
The place is a bit kitchy to my taste, but the better B&Bs seem to be.

I was put off by one thing. They had a sign in my room soliciting gratuities. This was not an inexpensive B&B, and I don't really feel that gratuities are appropriate for a family run business. I left a note telling them this and commented that this is not really compatible with one of their signs which said something like "you arrive as guests and leave as friends." I don't think that friends are asked for tips. Just saying -- it put me off for the whole stay -- just didn't feel right, just sort of feeling that their kindnesses might be part of sucking up for tips.
But all in all -- a great place ... it would be nice if they change their policy because of my note and review.

Room Tip: They are probably all equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attalla, Alabama
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Bonnie and Barry were the most gracious hosts I could have imagined. My wife and I were in town for a couple of days due to a rather stressful interview I was scheduled for. Red Bluff Cottage was absolutely the best possible place to stay to alleviate stress; the rooms were gorgeous, the house was decorated beautifully, and the breakfasts were AMAZING! It was almost like staying with family, but without the irritating social "baggage" of dealing with relatives! Bonnie and Barry have developed THE place to stay while in (or near) Montgomery!

Room Tip: Riverboat room is right by the morning coffee bar! (but don't worry about noisy traffic in hallw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My friends and I kidnapped our friend for her 50th birthday and took her to Montgomery for a dinner cruise on the riverboat, watch a play at the Shakespeare Festival, and stay at this wonderful Bed & Breakfast. The rooms are not only clean and beautifully decorated, the beds were so comfortable and Bonnie and her son, Kelly, made us feel like a part of the family. To finish off the weekend, Bonnie did a cooking demonstration in her kitchen and we learned to make scones and lemon curd! We were honored to be a part of this first demonstration and hope that she continues for future guests - it was WONDERFUL! The scones were amazing and we had so much fun! There's nothing like getting your hands dirty on a girl trip! I would highly recommend this B&B for anyone looking for something above the normal fare. You can't go wrong at the Red Bluff Cottage! We will definitely be back! Thanks, Bonnie!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harriman, Tennessee, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Red Bluff Cottage is a very beautiful, and very comfortable B&B. Breakfast was absolutely incredible! Bonnie and Barry are a very kind and gracious couple. We very much enjoyed chatting with them. We loved everything about our stay! The next time we come to Montgomery, we"ll stay at Red Bluff Cottage.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Bluff Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Bluff Cottage

Address: 551 Clay Street, Montgomery, AL 36104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Montgomery
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Montgomery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Bluff Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for a getaway that is extraordinary and distinct - a warm experience that will linger as a pleasant memory for years to come? That is exactly what Red Bluff Cottage offers. Experience "Southern Hospitality - Alabama Style." From the first point of contact on the telephone or via email to when you actually meet the innkeepers face to face, Barry and Bonnie Ponstein look for ways to make you feel comfortable and at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Bluff Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Bluff Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.