We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and cosy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Bluff Cottage

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Red Bluff Cottage to your Saves list
Red Bluff Cottage
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   551 Clay Street, Montgomery, AL 36104   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Montgomery B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Beautiful and cosy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights for our honeymoon and found this to be a very warm and cosy setting with beautiful rooms which were well decorated. Our breakfast was delicious and was different both morning to accommodate for my wife's sweet tooth and my savoury preference. We will definitely stay here again in the future thanks so much for your hospitality. We stayed in September 2011 took us awhile to write the review. Sorry.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    24
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
41
146
26
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This was our second visit to Red Bluff. We stayed in the same room, The Great Gadsby room, we stayed the last time. This is their largest room and we were very comfortable there. It was nicely furnished and was very quiet. Overhead fans helped to modulate the temperature. I almost ate all the M&M's that were set out for the guests, until Barry, our host, put me on probation. Fortunately, Bonnie his wife, put him in his place and said I could have all the candy I wanted. Good for her.

We enjoyed meeting the other guests and had a wonderful breakfast the next morning served by Barry and Bonnie who sat with us to enjoy the fellowship. All in all it was another wonderful visit we shall remember and look forward to our next visit in the Spring.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enid, Oklahoma
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Red Bluff Cottage! Bonnie and Barry were excellent hosts and went above and beyond to make our stay amazing! The breakfasts were delicious and we truly enjoyed their company! The room was clean and spacious for us to be comfortable with our 2 year old daughter! Great location near downtown and 8 minutes from Maxwell Air Force Base!

Room Tip: We loved the Rose Room and it was great to have a couch for our daughter to sleep on!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Bonnie and Barry made us feel so welcome and the accommodations for so darling and comfortable! Outstanding hospitality! Much better than staying in another chain. It felt like I was visiting a family relative's historical home.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Very nice & comfortable B&B with friendly and helpful hosts! House is VERY interesting with a most relaxing atmosphere. My room was clean, comfortable & entire home is well decorated with a cozy feel. Breakfast was good and a nice end to my short stay. Was an easy walk to the Renassaince where I had friends staying.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Highly recommend the Red Bluff Cottage for a stay in Montgomery. It is literally right up the street from the downtown area...a VERY short car ride from great restaurants, Montgomery Performing Arts Center, Rosa Parks Museum, State House, the White House for the Confederacy, etc. Barry and Bonnie were extremely knowledgeable and accomodating hosts...and Barry makes a great breakfast as well!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

What a wonderful alternative to an impersonal hotel or motel. Gracious hosts, comfortable accommodations with everything needed, safe, gorgeous view from the front porch, incredible breakfast. I'll be back.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Bluff Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Bluff Cottage

Address: 551 Clay Street, Montgomery, AL 36104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Montgomery
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Montgomery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Bluff Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for a getaway that is extraordinary and distinct - a warm experience that will linger as a pleasant memory for years to come? That is exactly what Red Bluff Cottage offers. Experience "Southern Hospitality - Alabama Style." From the first point of contact on the telephone or via email to when you actually meet the innkeepers face to face, Barry and Bonnie Ponstein look for ways to make you feel comfortable and at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Red Bluff Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Bluff Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.