We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upside Down House!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Bluff Cottage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Red Bluff Cottage to your Saves list
Red Bluff Cottage
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   551 Clay Street, Montgomery, AL 36104   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Montgomery B&B and Inns
Westlake, Ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Upside Down House!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

In mid September we had the pleasure of staying at the Red Bluff Cottage. It is a delightful “upside down house” purposely built with the bedrooms on the ground floor and the kitchen, dining room and living areas upstairs…so that overnight guests don’t have to haul their luggage up the stairs. Barry & Bonnie went out of their way to be accommodating ,made us feel very much at home, cooked us a wonderful breakfast and to sum it up…we truly enjoyed the pleasure of being their company.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    24
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
41
146
26
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lakeway
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

My profession required me to spend 8 to 10 days a month in hotels. My company always booked me in 4 or 5 star hotels. Now that I am retired I make it a point to always stay in B & B's...I enjoy the difference, but am particular about quality. Red Bluff Cottage offers very comfortable rooms that are appointed with all the little extras that pamper guests. The decor in guest and common rooms is appealing and interesting. The breakfast is delicious and not overdone. The hosts are friendly and truly want to make your stay enjoyable. You will not be disappointed in this excellent B&B with a convenient location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at many bed and breakfast inns all over the United States, and the RED BLUFF COTTAGE is by far the best. We rate it excellent, not only because of the comfort of the bed (slept like a baby) under 800 thread count sheets, but more importantly were the host and hostess (Barry and Bonnie). These folks made us feel like family. If you need a place to rest for the evening and wake up in the morning to the smell of a Southern breakfast, and enjoy the company of a great host and hostess, then the RED BLUFF COTTAGE is for you.

Joe and Pam
Monroe, North Carolina

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

On a visit to Montgomery, we decided to stay at Red Bluff Cottage. What a great experience! The room was cozy and comfortable. Bonnie and Barrie were so kind and hospitable and really made us feel like we were right at home. Breakfast was delicious, and fireworks and coffee on the beautiful porch were an added bonus!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Great Gatsby Room. Very comfy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I fumbled on Red Bluff on my pc. It is great. Clean,comfortable,quite just the right place. A perfect get- away.I twisted my hubby arm to stop. He loved it! Just what we needed. Bonnie and Barry is the best. It's a must stop, put on your to do list. Thanks The Abraham's

Room Tip: Have extra time to stay longer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Quick stopover on the way to NOLA, but it couldn't have been any nicer - was able to have a sumptuous Southern breakfast in Montgomery, fried catfish in Biloxi, elegant French restaurant scallops in New Orleans all in the same day. Red Bluff is spotless and comfortable (and underpriced, but don't tell the owners...)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickerington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We were driving through Alabama and stopped here to see the historic sites such as Martin Luther King's church and home, the capitol, The Rosa Parks Library, and the confederate White House. This place is so conveniently located and safe. Loved the room. Wish we were able to stay longer.

Room Tip: Any room is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Bluff Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Bluff Cottage

Address: 551 Clay Street, Montgomery, AL 36104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Montgomery
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Montgomery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Bluff Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for a getaway that is extraordinary and distinct - a warm experience that will linger as a pleasant memory for years to come? That is exactly what Red Bluff Cottage offers. Experience "Southern Hospitality - Alabama Style." From the first point of contact on the telephone or via email to when you actually meet the innkeepers face to face, Barry and Bonnie Ponstein look for ways to make you feel comfortable and at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Bluff Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Bluff Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.