We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great bed & breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Bluff Cottage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Red Bluff Cottage to your Saves list
Red Bluff Cottage
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   551 Clay Street, Montgomery, AL 36104   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Montgomery B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“a great bed & breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

As part of a 2 months self drive tour of the south east of U S A we stayed two nights at Red Bluff and couldn't have made a better choice. Bonnie and Barrie were perfect hosts and the b and b they run so professionally is excellent. The house is not only quite beautiful but also very clean and comfortable. The breakfasts we had were superb. It is well situated close to the centre of Montgomery and has ample parking. All in all we thoroughly enjoyed the experience of our stay at Red Bluff and without hesitation can recommend it to others.
Ron and Jennie Cross Brisbane Australia

Room Tip: we had the benefit of a ground floor room which m
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    26
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
43
154
27
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

We truly enjoyed celebrating our 16th wedding anniversary at the Red Bluff Cottage. It was our first time staying at a bed and breakfast and because of the hospitality and friendliness of our hosts we are now planning when our next visit can take place!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

Loved this B&B. And the owners are awesome! If I pass through again, I'd love to stay here anytime!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

We stay at B&Bs whenever possible and the Red Bluff Cottage is the best so far. It felt like coming home. Barry and Bonnie were so very attentive and sweet. We had the added luxuary of a professional chef during our stay, but I believe that Bonnie is a marvelous chef in her own right. The food was absolutely wonderful. Barry told some great stories and is the perfect southern gentleman. Can't wait to visit Montgomery again!

Room Tip: Our bed was wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

For a B&B in Montgomery,it couldn't possibly get any better than Red Bluff Cottage. The location is extremely quiet and peaceful. Bonnie and Barry make you feel like family from the minute you arrive. When they say that if there is anything you need,just ask,they are SERIOUS!! The breakfasts are out of the ordinary and delicious.We are looking forward to being able to go back and would,without hesitation,recommend Red Bluff Cottage.

Cathy and Dan

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

My husband and I had a wonderful 2-night stay at the Red Bluff B&B. We had 2 terrific breakfasts and really enjoyed taking advantage of the front porch as we sipped our morning coffee. Believe the hype: The beds are very, very comfortable. Our room (the Rose Room) was as clean and cozy as can be. I loved all the extra reading material and maps that were available in our room and in the hall right outside. If you are in Montgomery, skip the hotels and stay at this B&B!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

In this case you should believe everything that you read! Red Bluff Cottage really is as wonderful as the reviews say. Barry & Bonnie are incredible hosts who make you feel at home immediately. Breakfast was a real treat - the yummy food and the friendly and warm environment. The house is wonderfully kept and exceptionally clean. Thanks Barry and Bonnie and if we are in Montgomery again, we will be back!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Bluff Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Bluff Cottage

Address: 551 Clay Street, Montgomery, AL 36104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Montgomery
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Montgomery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Bluff Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for a getaway that is extraordinary and distinct - a warm experience that will linger as a pleasant memory for years to come? That is exactly what Red Bluff Cottage offers. Experience "Southern Hospitality - Alabama Style." From the first point of contact on the telephone or via email to when you actually meet the innkeepers face to face, Barry and Bonnie Ponstein look for ways to make you feel comfortable and at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Red Bluff Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Bluff Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.