We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need more flavor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Miyako Japanese Steak & Sushi

Miyako Japanese Steak & Sushi
8173 Vaughn Rd, Montgomery, AL 36116-6705
334-215-2275
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #101 of 385 Restaurants in Montgomery
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Eufaula, Alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Need more flavor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Maybe I'm spoiled by a similar restaurant with a different name in another city but this was good it just needed more flavor. The people however were GREAT

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    7
    1
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Alabama, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Family friendly enviroment!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Fresh Sushi in a wide range of variety, large quantities of Hibachi style food and the best plum wine ever. My kids were fascinated by our friendly chef and the interaction he shared with them. The servers were wonderful and checked on us frequently. If you are looking for a restaurant that is family oriented this is the place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallassee, Alabama, Usa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice family atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This, in my opinion, is one of the better family restaurants in Montgomery. Each grill can seat around 8 or maybe a couple more. The menu consists of Hibachi chicken, shrimp, scallops, and steak. All the meals come with soup, salad, rice, potatoes, and vegetables. They also have a very good sushi menu. The quality of the food is good. The staff are very friendly. All the chefs put on a good show, but it does not vary much between chefs. The price is roughly $20 per person, depending on what they order. Lastly, if you find yourself passing through town around dinner this is one of Montgomery's more reliably good restaurants.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good show”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I took a group of friends out for the hibachi dinner. The show was good (not great) and the food was good. My actual complaint began after the meal was cooked. I realize the cook gives the grill a quick once over before he leaves, but then the kitchen guy came out in his greasy white t shirt and started really scrubbing the grill. I was willing to let it go, but then the guy in the t shirt then dumped the 5 gallon bucket below the grill full of the evenings raw steak, raw shrimp, raw chicken water into a mop bucket. The smell was the most disgusting thing I have smelled. Myself and the rest of the group I was with all lost our appetite immediately. Then after we all were done gagging he turned around and did the table on the other side of the room, that mop bucket full of raw food was just as disgusting. I hope your experience will be better than ours.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Story, Wyoming U.S.A.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Sushi was very good and the shrimp and lobster plate was more than delicious. Staff was very helpful. Would highly recommend to all travelers.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miyako Japanese Steak & Sushi also viewed

 

Been to Miyako Japanese Steak & Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miyako Japanese Steak & Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.