We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern BBQ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dreamland BBQ

Dreamland BBQ
101 Tallappoosa Street, Montgomery, AL 36104
334-273-7427
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 376 Restaurants in Montgomery
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Montgomery, AL
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Southern BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Wonderful atmosphere in downtown historic building. Good BBQ & good service. Parking could be troublesome due to downtown location. Probably best BBQ in Montgomery.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    113
    43
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Alabama
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Tough to live up to Tuscaloosa's restaurant.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

BBQ is like lots of things: you probably have a "fave" against which others are measured. The BBQ at the original Dreamland in Tuscaloosa is fantastic and my all-time favorite. This restaurant in Montgomery just doesn't live up. Last time there it was a little dry and disappointing. Great location, though,in middle of downtown Montgomery's new Alley area.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eufaula, Alabama
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good Eats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I have eaten at Dreamland several times and have never been disappointed. The service is great and the food is yummy. If you enjoy barbeque, go to Dreamland!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhope, Alabama
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Great barbeque”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

The barbeque was great here. There was a limited menu consisting of every type of barbeque (chicken, sliced pork, pulled pork, ribs) but if you like barbeque it was great. The atmosphere was laid back and the place was packed.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great BBQ!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I came here with a big group on a Thursday night around 8 pm. They sat us right away and Brigid, our awesome waitress came over. She is a super nice lady, always showing her southern hospitality. I found out that they were out of the chopped chicken plate, and Brigid recommended the half chicken. It proved to be incredibly delicious! Our table also ordered a couple of the loaded baked potatoes, also awesome! Everything was just so good, including the potato salad and macaroni and cheese sides that came with my dinner. We all left very stuffed and content.

The next morning I was talking to a hotel staff member who asked if we tried the banana pudding…Unfortunately, we were too full to order any, but now I regret that we didn’t! If you’re in the area, this place is a definite must!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dreamland BBQ also viewed

Montgomery, AL
Montgomery, AL
 

Been to Dreamland BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dreamland BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.