We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern BBQ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dreamland BBQ

Dreamland BBQ
101 Tallapoosa Street, Montgomery, AL 36104
334-273-7427
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 418 Restaurants in Montgomery
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Montgomery, AL
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Southern BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Wonderful atmosphere in downtown historic building. Good BBQ & good service. Parking could be troublesome due to downtown location. Probably best BBQ in Montgomery.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank greenman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Tough to live up to Tuscaloosa's restaurant.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

BBQ is like lots of things: you probably have a "fave" against which others are measured. The BBQ at the original Dreamland in Tuscaloosa is fantastic and my all-time favorite. This restaurant in Montgomery just doesn't live up. Last time there it was a little dry and disappointing. Great location, though,in middle of downtown Montgomery's new Alley area.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dhr199s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eufaula, Alabama
Level Contributor
81 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good Eats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I have eaten at Dreamland several times and have never been disappointed. The service is great and the food is yummy. If you enjoy barbeque, go to Dreamland!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gruder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhope, Alabama
Level Contributor
135 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great barbeque”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

The barbeque was great here. There was a limited menu consisting of every type of barbeque (chicken, sliced pork, pulled pork, ribs) but if you like barbeque it was great. The atmosphere was laid back and the place was packed.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
75 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great BBQ!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I came here with a big group on a Thursday night around 8 pm. They sat us right away and Brigid, our awesome waitress came over. She is a super nice lady, always showing her southern hospitality. I found out that they were out of the chopped chicken plate, and Brigid recommended the half chicken. It proved to be incredibly delicious! Our table also ordered a couple of the loaded baked potatoes, also awesome! Everything was just so good, including the potato salad and macaroni and cheese sides that came with my dinner. We all left very stuffed and content.

The next morning I was talking to a hotel staff member who asked if we tried the banana pudding…Unfortunately, we were too full to order any, but now I regret that we didn’t! If you’re in the area, this place is a definite must!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Melisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dreamland BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Dreamland BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing