We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great southern food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Derk's Filet & Vine

Derk's Filet & Vine
431 Cloverdale Rd, Montgomery, AL 36106-1801
334-262-8463
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #49 of 365 restaurants in Montgomery
Cuisines: Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Wheatland, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great southern food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

While visiting Montgomery, I asked a local for a recommendation on lunch. She recommended Derk's (aka Filet and Vine). The food is served cafeteria style and you can see all the sides and other food available. I chose fried chicken (I got a HUGE piece), mashed potatoes with gravy, cheesy broccoli and cornbread. It was a generous portion and tasted very good. It hit the spot for my comfort food craving.

It was a very busy place for lunch which always says a lot about a local restaurant. Definitely worth checking out if you're visiting.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    15
    10
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grayson, Georgia, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Go To Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is where the locals eat and it is more than worth the effort to find it. The food is great and plenty of it too. Not much for atmosphere as you dine among the coolers and racks of wine and specilaty beers. Can't beat the food.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food all the time.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The food is always great. The portions are always huge. If you need a casserole, don't waste time making it, they have them ready to go. The beer and wine portion of the store has a selection that can not be equaled in the city. Go out of your way to find this place!!! It's worth it!!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice Neighborhood Market, Great Southern Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I really like the ambience of this little neighborhood market, and the food is actually very good! I had the ribs and they were fantastic, as were the veggies. The market area has a superb selection of craft beer and wine. I really enjoyed my visit and this will be a regular stop for me when in Montgomery!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacksonville
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Deli and specialty restaurant & market”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Very popular place; eat in or outside. Moderate prices. Charming area very near the F. Scott & Zelda Fitzgerald Museum--go to both and make a morning or afternoon of it.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Derk's Filet & Vine also viewed

 
Montgomery, AL
Montgomery, AL
 

Been to Derk's Filet & Vine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Derk's Filet & Vine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.