We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Beer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Railyard Brewing Company

Railyard Brewing Company
12 West Jefferson Street, Montgomery, AL
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 381 Restaurants in Montgomery
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Montgomery, AL
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good Beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Good Beer, but the food leaves a lot to be desired. Smaller area. Has occasional music, but little space for it. Historic downtown location.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    32
    17
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Alabama
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Food is fine...service a little "scattered".”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Been several times. My favorite entree was a beautiful chef's salad. Fresh, delicious and great ingredients. Many of our friends routinely go and enjoy the different beers and a great burger selection. Their signature "moon pie" fried dessert was fun to enjoy as well. Each time we've been, the service always seemed uncertain. I would recommend that you try it at least once.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Shrimp and Grits was off the charts good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Great selection of beers to and plenty of items to select from on the menu. The shrimp and grits was the best I have ever had and I did not even come close to finishing!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Alabama's "Cheers"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

The bar where everyone knows your name, and they treat strangers like friends they just don't know yet. All ales brewed on site, and are DELICIOUS. Truly, this place is comfortable, not too busy, and a real feel of Montgomery.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Enjoyed my visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

As a first time guest I really enjoyed the down home atmosphere and friendliness of the staff. For a starter I had the scotch egg and found it to be very tasty. After enjoying a glass of Railroad's Wee Heavy scotch ale I tried the Mema's burger. I tried both sweet potato fries and onion rings. Both were good but will opt for the onion rings next time. In summary: friendly neighborly service, tasty brews, good food plus Kip Taylor was performing at the restaurant = awesome.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Railyard Brewing Company also viewed

 
Montgomery, AL
 

Been to Railyard Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Railyard Brewing Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.