We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chin Chin Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Chin Chin Restaurant
3449 Malcolm Drive, Montgomery, AL
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 385 Restaurants in Montgomery
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Alabama
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

The 4 stars would have been 5 stars had I been reviewing "Chinese Restaurants." For Chinese food, I believe it is great! As a regular restaurant, it was "very good"---I've had better, but I enjoyed it..

Chinese cuisine quite easily gets "one" taste going---everything tastes the same. Not so with Chin Chin. Three of us ate together. I sampled everyone's food and each was outstanding in its own way. I had the Cashew Chicken. One friend had sweet and sour shrimp, and the other had pork or chicken lo mein. The shrimp didn't have any vegetables in it, I would have enjoyed that, but the shrimp was done in tempura batter---large pieces, cooked to perfection.

We ate at lunch, and the cost was $5.70 per meal. We were completely stuffed---the meal comes with soup. My hot and sour soup was wonderful---not as sour as usual. I tried their won ton soups, and I didn't think the broth was seasoned well enough---tasted more like water.

The food came out in record time, and the environment was welcoming. There's a lot to commend this place, although I honestly wouldn't rate it as the #1 restaurant in Montgomery; It's a nice place to get a lunch if you're on the east side of Montgomery. It's about a mile south of East Chase.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    2
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
columbus, ga
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Quite possibly the best chinese I've had.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I must say that the food here is amazing. The best Chinese I've eaten in a very long time. The location is not what you would expect (it's in a strip mall and easy to miss) but very good. I highly recommend you eat here when in Montgomery. The vegetable spring roll was GREAT! I had the sesame chicken which was super! Go here your mouth will thank you!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“A great break on a long car trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Found Chin Chin's on Tripadvisor and we weren't disappointed. The food was fresh and the service was great. The flowing water from large vases soothed our tired souls from a long trip. We returned to the road well nourished and rested.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Alabama
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Flavor Explosion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

I don't usually 'rave' over Chinese food...but here goes!
This restaurant is new to Montgomery and NOT going away.
My teens describe the interior as 'Techno Funky' modern? Ha
The menu selection is deep & all encompassing.
The quality of ingredients very high, & the TASTE...as I stated in the title 'Exploding'!
The Kung Poa Chicken is a gorgeous medley that will light your tongue up, yet deeply satisfy you.
The Sweet/Sour Chicken hits a perfect note & my kids rave over the tenderness of the Pepper Steak.
The rice is absolutely cooked to Perfection.
Need I say More?
It IS on the pricier end for this stream of takeout, but worth the splurge a few times per month.
I won't eat Chinese anywhere else in Montgomery now (;

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdosta, Georgia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Amazing delivery Chinese! Best I've had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

. This is by far the best takeout/ delivery Chinese restaurant i have ever had.
The food was all delicious and remarkably fresh i even had some really delicious sushi to boot!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chin Chin Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Chin Chin Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chin Chin Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.