We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for just passing through” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Montgomery

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Montgomery to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Montgomery
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4273 Troy Highway, Montgomery, AL 36116   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #9 of 73 hotels in Montgomery
Celina, Texas
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good hotel for just passing through”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The hotel was in what seemed to be a questionable neighborhood, but we had a reservation and it was late, so we stayed. Check in was seamless, without any problems and quick. The check in clerk was friendly and welcomed us. Our room was clean, the bed was comfortable and everything in the room worked properly. We just stayed one night and left very early the next morning so we didn't get a chance to try the breakfast or any of the other amenities. The hotel has no issues and we would stay there again if passing though. Overall, satisfied.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda V, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Montgomery, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay here. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Montgomery.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    24
    9
    6
    6
See reviews for
30
18
8
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

This hotel was in a very quiet location. As we went into the drive the gun shop was a bit of a worry at the front. The hotel looked modern and clean.

We had just completed a long drive and needed a quiet nice sleep which we got

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Montgomery, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to let us how your visit was. We realize that you could have stayed in any number of hotels in our area but you chose us. We appreciate your loyalty to the HI brand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I stayed here July 11 and booked three rooms. Although one room had an odor to it, we were promptly moved to another room. My first impression was it was HIE fault for having a room that had an odor to it but after talking with my family I came to realize the odor probably came from a guest who was in the room illegally smoking. All rooms are non-smoking. People breaking the law is not HIE fault. The staff was nice and the breakfast bar was great.

Room Tip: A nice place to stay over night if you are traveling from Nashville to Panama City beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda V, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Montgomery, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate your understanding with the smoking issues. We try very hard to keep our rooms looking and smelling fresh and clean. We have put policies in place that will allow us to do so. While some people do not appreciate that, we are thankful for those that do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern california
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

In town for high school state softball tournament. Same exit as Lagoon Park, but opposite of hwy. Staff friendly, room clean, standard continental breakfast. Plenty of restaurants to choose from near by.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda V, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Montgomery, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment. We appreciate you staying with us. Come back to see more often so we won't be so hard to find. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Plains, Al
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Our grandchild was in the NICU in a Montgomery hospital so we spent most weekends up there and usually in different places depending what events were happening in town. I decided to order online at the holiday inn website the romance package to celebrate our 21st wedding anniversary which included champagne,flowers and a non smoking room with a Jacuzzi. When we arrived there were no flowers or champagne and the room smelled badly of cigarette smoke and the desk clerk had no idea what I was talking about. Anyway we get to the room and about an hour later the desk clerk came to the room with a bottle of champagne that he went to the store to purchase and told us he would make it right in the morning.
We had a pleasant night and we had to leave very early the next morning and the front desk clerk for the next shift told us the other clerk was on his way to buy flowers for us. I found this to be very kind and generous. they contacted him and told him we were leaving and the flowers were not necessary and gave us the room at the cost without the romance package.
I found this was a problem of communication from reservations to the hotel but the clerk did his very best to make it right and we appreciate this very much. The only other thing was the smell in the room and this I feel needs to be addressed otherwise whats the purpose of choosing non smoking rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Montgomery, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear bigboy62,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. We are pleased to see the staff made every effort to make your stay as best as it could be. It is unfortunate the condition of the room prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gray, Georgia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

May 2013 Jerrold P. We chose this hotel because of previous reviews and the value. The exterior was appealing, however my room was very disappointing, holes in the security drapes, HUGE SPOTS in the carpet, breakfast was a disaster, and no restaurants near by. Smell of cigarette smoke at the back entrance (employees smoking at the back door). Steam shows writing on the mirrow after taking a shower.

This is not the quality of room I expected from Holiday Inn Express. Probably will not stay at this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Montgomery, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Jerrold P,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible.

While we are pleased you found the hotel exterior appealing, we would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations in regards to the room you received. We can assure you that your experience is not indicative of the quality we are known to provide. Nevertheless, I have taken note of your comments and have shared these with our housekeeping team for the purpose of bringing improvements needed.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and leaving us a candid feedback.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This hotel was in a very quiet location. As we went into the drive the gun shop was a bit of a worry at the front. The hotel looked modern and clean.

We had just completed a long drive and decided to use the pool, well the pool was advertised however apparently the Local Authority had not been to visit so it was unable to be used. We were not best pleased as it was the hottest day of our holiday we had so far.

The room was ok, fairly large and clean, but I was worried about the location. It did not seem to be near anywhere. There was a wallmart 5 minutes along the road which we visited and bought a few bits in and a couple of restaurants including a longhorns. That is fab and you must make a visit if you are here.

The staff were friendly but I expected more from an HIE

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Montgomery, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Muke,

We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. Nevertheless, we’re sorry for any inconvenience you experienced because we did not live up to your expectations. Though we would prefer you had a better experience, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts, and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Montgomery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Montgomery

Address: 4273 Troy Highway, Montgomery, AL 36116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Montgomery
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Montgomery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Montgomery 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montgomery's first Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites invites you to "Stay Smart" Conveniently located on Hwy 231. It's a great stop for roadtrippers, business travelers and anyone who values a comfortable stay, in a clean environment and with a great staff. Malls, Restaurants and Montgomery's main activities are within few minutes. This facility offers 59 spacious guest rooms including specialty suites with amenities such as mini fridges, microwaves, coffee makers and sofa beds. Handicap accessible rooms available with a roll-in-shower or bath tub with a swing down bench, non-smoking or smoking.Hotel guests enjoy a delicious complimentary breakfast bar beginning at 6:00 AM until 9:00 AM (featuring fresh, hot cinnamon rolls, assorted breads, fresh fruit, whole grain cereals, pastries, muffins, milk, juice, sausage patties, biscuits & gravy, and so much more!!!) Lobby coffee is available after breakfast hours and complimentary coffee or tea is available for guest rooms 24 hours a day.All of our rooms have spacious work areas, 2-line speaker phones with data ports, voice mail, and free high speed Internet access. Maintain your fitness routine in our on-site cardiovascular fitness facility or soak away your troubles in a Jacuzzi tub suite. We also have a conference room with 65 seats, and a board room with 12 seats.'Stay Smart with us.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Montgomery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Montgomery Hotel Montgomery
Holiday Inn Montgomery

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Montgomery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.