We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice people!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Montgomery East

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Montgomery East to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Montgomery East
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5155 Carmichael Road, Montgomery, AL 36106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 20%
Ranked #24 of 73 hotels in Montgomery
Alpine, AL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very nice people!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was really hospititable. Coming in on a very hot June afternoon after being on bike for 3 hours on 105 degree day. They gave us access to their pool until our room was ready and offered us bottled water to help cool us down. Once in room they called to ensure our room was acceptable and later delivered slippers and bottled water to our door. Very pleased and will return again. Pool and hot tub clean

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Montgomery East, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent visit. Guest comments are always appreciated.
We will share your comments with our associates so that every guest is just as happy with our hospitable and friendly service.
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    12
    13
    2
    6
See reviews for
17
6
4
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, AL
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

I was looking for an inexpensive hotel and grabbed an Internet deal on this property. The room looked almost new, was spacious, and clean. King sized bed was good. Breakfast was crowded, but in addition to cereals, included fruit, eggs, sausage, and biscuits.

Room included a sofa bed, refrigerator and microwave. There is a Walmart two miles away, so it was easy to pick up a few things I had forgotten.

The GPS didn't get the location right, the hotel is kind of tucked behind another property, but does have a sign fronting Carmichael. A spotlight shining in the window was the only downside to the experience, and a little tweaking on the curtains solved most of that. Parking was adequate and (too) well lit.

The staff was busy but very pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Montgomery East, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Good Morning John A.,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent vist.
Guest comments are always appreciated. It is always rewarding to receive positive feedback.
You can be assured that your review will be shared with our staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graysville
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

I finally got through to the Country Inns & Suites -Montgomery East location - GM Bob Gutkowski....this took forever for him or anyone to speak with us. We needed 11 rooms for one night in April for Our Rhea County High School Theatre Group to stay and attend the Shakespeare Festival in Montgomery. I am a parent rep of the Theatre Grp responsible for getting reservations. We are a rural community with low funding and I asked Mr. Gutkowski if we could get a disc. rate for our students. After much to do he said he would give us the room for $75 per room from a usual $89 rate. He confirmed the room reservations in several emails and phone conversations. When the group got to the hotel on 4/21, it took over an hour to get checked in and the Manager made the group pay $85 per room instead of the agreed upon disc rate of $75. He was very rude and hard to deal saying he did not remember speaking with us and we will NEVER use this hotel again! Because of the additional costs some of the students had to borrow money to eat. This General Manager is very unprofessional and untrustworthy so beware when booking ahead, if you can even get him to answer the phone!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else where there is a General Manager who is friendly, professional and trustworthy NOT...
See more room tips
Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob G, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Montgomery East, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Good Afternoon,
We are a bit confused with the comments attributed to the recent visit by the Rhea County H.S Theatre Group. The Group Rooms Agreement for 11 rooms that was signed & returned is a discounted rate and even lower than the rate you mentioned. I can only assume that the confusion involves the state, city and local taxes of 12.5% and $1.50 per occupied room. If you did not plan for the taxes, we can understand your reaction to feeling that you did not receive the correct rate.
You can be assured you that the 7 rooms that were actually used were charged the correct rate plus tax.
We would appreciate any additional information on the rude treatment you received at check in by a member of the hotel team or Manager.
The Country Inn & Suites, Montgomery provides our guests with comfortable, convenient & honest service. It is unfortunate that you believe otherwise.
I would be happy to follow up and discuss your concerns if you wish. Please feel free to call, send an email or leave a voicemail. A prompt response is guaranteed.
PS- The lost & found item left at the hotel was returned to a member of your group!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Stayed here just overnight after a long day. 3 March-4 March, 2012.
Room was very comfortable and clean with minor blemishes that distinguished it from being really excellent - bed spread had a few scattered "bleached out" spots, the fan in the bathroom clearly had not had dust removed in a long time, and the safe was locked when came to the room.
Free coffee and hot water for hot chocolate in the lobby. A coffee maker with coffee and tea in the room, along with a small refrigerator that seemed to make more noise than it should, but worked OK to keep juice cool.
Workout room was small, but sufficient, along with adjancent indoor hot tub and a modest pool.
Had some trouble with the free wi-fi access (way better than Hilton's high internet fee charges) and the young gentleman at the desk was out of his limit to go beyond suggesting that the free web site access should come on - No information sheet in the room information packet.
Breakfast was self-serve and splendid for a chain, as well as being included in the room charge - another favorable difference compared to US Hilton hotels. Had scrambled eggs, some fruits, waffles, coffee, cereals.
Plenty of parking.
Not a scenic location by any means, but convenient for business or tourism. Many of of our rather large group visiting Civil Rights sites in the region also stayed here and were pleased with this lodging.
Please do advise if this review proves helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Montgomery East, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review from your recent visit.
Guest comments are always welcomed and appreciated.
Your comments will be shared with our staff so that we can continue to improve.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012 via mobile

Booked using rewards points. I chose an 'accessible' room which resulted in an odd configuration, but was quite comfortable. Staff at checkin friendly and quick, morning staff not quite as impressive. For instance, at breakfast time I overheard a guest ask the front desk clerk if the little "breakfast to go" bag was for people to take. Clerk said, "they're only for guests who don't eat a breakfast." Why not simply smile and give the guest a bag, which only had an apple and bottle of water? How hard was that? My room was clean and spacious. A few issues: as I said, was an accessible room, but the shower head - the type that can be hand held- was attached so high that I had to stand tiptoe to get it down. There was a little adjustable holder where you SHOULD have been able to attach the handheld shower head, but the mechanism had clearly been replaced in the recent past and now the ONLY choice in the shower was to leave the shower attached up there or stretch up - WAY up- and hold it or let it dangle. While this is a reasonable choice for the able-bodied guest, someone who needs a roll-in shower in the first place - a wheelchair user - would not have any way to use the handheld shower. Sort of defeats the point of having a handheld in an accessible shower.
Coffee pot in-room one of those pod thingies, but only one pod of regular coffee and one of decaf. What if my spouse wanted coffee too?
The "extra blanket" on the shelf was no such thing: it was a fleecy MATTRESS PAD, complete with elastic on the corners to hold it on a mattress. Oh come on, guys, put a real blanket on the shelf!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Montgomery East, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review from your recent visit.
Guest comments are always welcomed and appreciated.
Your comments will be posted and shared with our staff.
Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

My family & I recently stayed here while we were in town for a funeral. The man at the front desk was awesome (his name began with a D). We emailed him pictures and he printed them and was exceptional. He made things very easy and made sure we got our rooms next to each other. The breakfast was amazing as well and he made sure the coffee was hot and fresh. We would defiantly stay here again!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob G, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Montgomery East, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Aleecia F,
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the exceptional service. We will share your review with our associates.
We welcome the opportunity to have you as our guest again.
Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perry, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

Generally we love this chain. THis was our first experience with a sub-par Country Inn and Suites and it is really bad. We had a $50 room for almost twice the price...which I'm willing to pay for a quality room. The lobby looks nice and the folks were nice, but the rooms are absolutely terrible. Dirty and smelled bad. We sucked it up but had this been our first time at a Country Inn we would not have gone back...ever. Do not stay at this hotel. We were shocked and extremely disapointed by this place. The wifi was not consistent either. Constantly cutting in and out. Overall, a very bad place to stay. Spend your money somewhere else....I know we will.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel. Do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Montgomery East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Montgomery East

Address: 5155 Carmichael Road, Montgomery, AL 36106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Montgomery
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 73 hotels in Montgomery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Montgomery East 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style & Convenience at out Montgomery East HotelLocated just off I-85 in the heart of Montgomery's fastest-growing area, the Country Inn & Suites Hotel Montgomery East offers comfortable hotel rooms, convenient services and the perfect location in Montgomery for business and leisure guests. Our hotel's outstanding guest rooms and suites put you within reach of Montgomery East’s growing retail and dining district. Visit popular local attractions including the First School of Flight and Civil Rights Memorial. Business guests can benefit from the close proximity to Montgomery Regional Airport. Take advantage of convenient amenities like free high-speed Internet access, a heated indoor pool and complimentary free breakfast. Stay in the heart of Dixie at the charming Country Inn & Suites hotel in Montgomery, Alabama (AL). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Carlson, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Montgomery East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Montgomery East Hotel Montgomery
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Montgomery East
Country Inn Montgomery East
Montgomery Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Montgomery East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.