We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When at Capital...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Confederate Monument

Confederate Monument
19-79 S Bainbridge St, Montgomery, AL
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 37 Attractions in Montgomery
Type: Monuments/ Statues
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Commemorates more than 122,000 soldiers from Alabama who fought and died for the Confederacy during the Civil War.
Traveling
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“When at Capital...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

It is right out the north door of the capital so there is no reason not to see it if you are at the capital anyway, I like the seaman statue the best.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    5
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saucier, MS
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Now that's a monument!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The Confederate monument on the north end of the Alabama State Capitol grounds is one of the biggest I've ever seen. On our walk around the Capitol, I was "wowed" when I first saw it. I was most impressed that the cornerstone was laid by President Jefferson Davis himself! Each department of the Confederacy was represented in this impressive memorial.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevallo, Alabama
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
109 attraction reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Nice monument on the grounds of the Alabama state capitol”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

This large monument on the grounds of the Alabama State Capitol building in Montgomery. Honoring the confederate dead, the monument stretches high atop Goat Hill. In addition to this monument, there is a nice statue of Jefferson Davis the first president of the confederacy, the moon tree which is a large pine that was grown from seeds that were taken to the moon, a monument honoring Albert Patterson the Alabama Governor who was assassinated in Phenix City because of his battle against organized crime, a replica of the liberty bell, and flags and stones of each of the 50 states of the union.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleson, Texas
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
130 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Monument next to Capital building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This monument honors all the branches of service the fought in the civil war for the Confederacy. Monument was constructed in the 1800's and is a nice monument. It located next to the



Monument was constructed in the 1800's and honors all branchs of the confederacy that fought in the Civil War. There are other smaller statues and monuments in the area next to the monument.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Only for real history buffs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

I love wandering through old cemeteries, so this Confederate Cemetery and Monument was right up my alley. There is an informative information center on site, but the grounds were where I spent my afternoon. As noted above, not for everyone, just us history buffs!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Confederate Monument also viewed

 

Been to Confederate Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Confederate Monument, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.