We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for Little Ones” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The MOOseum

The MOOseum
201 S Bainbridge St, Montgomery, AL 36106
(334) 265-1867
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 32 Attractions in Montgomery
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Children's museum devoted to the history and preservation of the beef cattle industry.
Mount Dora, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good for Little Ones”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The hologram guy that does the video is creepy but funny creepy. It gives you some information about what else cattle is used for some things I had no idea. Then they have a little area for kids to play, good for smaller kids up to maybe 10-11. It's free and a quick stop so if you have a little one bored from all the history museums take a quick stop.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    4
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Alabama
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“For the bovine inclined only”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Thought this would be a good placfe to take the kids on a hot or rainy day, but it really is just a bunch of information about the cattle industry in Alabama. Needs more work to make it more interactive and interesting to keep the kids' attention.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A fun time for kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

We recently visited Montgomery and were looking for something to do with our 4 year old grandson, when I wife learned about The Mooseum. I wasn't sure what to expect, but it was actually very entertaining and not just for our grandson. I thought it was very cool too. The exhibits were set up in such a way to help young people get a better understanding of cattle, cattlemen and life on a farm in general. A very interesting couple of hours!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“MOOOoooo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

My favorite wall paper ever! STEAKS! Very informative with a fascinating video man and nice spaces for children's educational learning.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
223 helpful votes 223 helpful votes
“Great fun for the little ones”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

Took our 6-year-old granddaughter here on a visit to Montgomery. Sponsored by the Alabama Cattlemen's Association, it is a free educational center near the State Capitol. Apparently, mostly school groups go there, because we went on Columbus Day, and it was empty. But great fun for our granddaughter, who had the place to herself. There are several spaces for the kids to play in. Her favorites were the dress-up room, where there are boots, chaps, vests, and cowboy hats of various sizes and colors, plus low-mounted saddles to pose on in your outfits. Next was the kitchen, where the nutritional value of beef is the theme, but when you are 6, the long chef's apron and chef's hat is much more fun. There are kitchen cabinets to open, a pretend stove and refrigerator, plus table and chairs. Not to mention a giant fabric hamburger you can take apart and serve. If you can read, there is lots of information around. There are also "stuffed" cows you can pose with, and a "cowboy" with a projected face who "talks" to you about cows and cow-raising, while you sit on haystacks and listen. There are also displays of products made from cows, and a gift shop. The staff was very friendly and even provided a coloring book. Well worth the visit. Web: www.bamabeef.org. We spent about 1 1/2 hours there, but there was no one else to share with. Age range would probably be 4-10.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The MOOseum also viewed

 

Been to The MOOseum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The MOOseum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.