We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good meal in Montgonery” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Central

Central
129 Coosa Street, Montgomery, AL
334-517-1155
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Central is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 377 Restaurants in Montgomery
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Tallapoosa St
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good meal in Montgonery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The folks at Central did a fine job and the food was good but I have to agree that Montgomery is limited when it come to high end restaurants. However Central is at the top of the list from what I have expereinced. Great atmosphere and good location.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    33
    15
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
TN
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Good meal,not great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

No offense, but Montgomery is not a foodie Mecca. I have eaten at Central several times.
Without question, it is a great looking place. Very hip vibe. It would fit in anywhere.
The food was ok. Some items better than others. Kind of hit and miss.
It's probably as good as it gets in Montgomery.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

The food was amazing. Service was fantastic. We really enjoyed our dining experience. Best place to eat in Montgomery.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville/Boston, MA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Gorgeous decor and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

While visiting Montgomery I ate here with my parents. It was nicely busy on a wed night but we could still get a table. We really liked the decor and atmosphere, we live in boston and felt it was one of the nicest laid our restaurants we had seen!! staff were very friendly and attentive. We really enjoyed the food, menu was very nice and varied, I highly recommend this restaurant. In a great downtown location, any of the other nice restaurants are outside of downtown area.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, AL
Top Contributor
244 reviews 244 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Good place, OK food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Atmosphere wise, this place is nice. Overly large space in a loft type atmosphere. Not a chain (that's a plus). Our server knew the menu and could describe and recommend the dishes professionally. The food runners where a bit less polished, but so what. Food quality wise, it was fine, but looked better than it tasted. My guess is they use average quality ingredients with superb preparation skills. I would certainly go back, but only on expense account. I felt the prices a bit high for the quality of the meal and the area. Two of ate dinner, plus dessert & nothing but ice tea to drink and the bill was north of $80 bucks.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Central also viewed

Montgomery, AL
 

Been to Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.