We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hiker's Benedict...Oh MY!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Egg & I

The Egg & I
2920 Zelda Rd, Montgomery, AL 36106
(334) 277-0802
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 370 Restaurants in Montgomery
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Prattville, Alabama
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Hiker's Benedict...Oh MY!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We love The Egg and I. I've tried several menu items and everything has been delicious. I tend to try the benedicts the most and the Hiker's is my favorite. It is PLENTY of food so I like to have someone to split the entrée with. My daughters love the waffles and the chocolate chipper pancake. The prices are fairly reasonable, maybe a little more than your standard bacon, eggs and grits eatery but well worth it. You will not be disappointed with The Egg and I!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    11
    14
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Millbrook, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good End to a Hard Shift”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I'm a RN at one of the local hospitals and me and my friends stopped by for breakfast after a long shift. Mind you they are only open for Breakfast and Lunch so no late night dinner dates here!

I ordered a rather spicy dish the Green Chili Chicken Hash. It was cooked nicely and my eggs were smothered in a green chili sauce all placed on a bed of ranch potatoes. Mind you it was spicy and had quite the kick! As for quantity there was plenty to eat and I was nicely filled. (after a hard shift most people are starving!)

Service was great and my water glass never stayed empty, and I drained it quite a few times. My coworkers dishes looked amazing as well and they had nothing bad to say to about them. Truly I'll be trying their breakfast burrito next time.

If you've got the time, stop by and have a hearty breakfast. They have a wide assortment of omelets as well as freshly made waffles.

Final bill:
Water: $0
Green Chili Chicken Hash: $8.90

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“lots to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

plenty different egg dishes. Eggs Benedict in many varieties. Very filling and well tasting egg based food.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good hearty food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

So glad we ate here. They have great service and no request is too small. Very busy restaurant which means good food!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Best breakfast place around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Just ate here for breakfast. I had never heard of the place and someone recommended it. It was amazing! I had a Parisian Benedict which was like eggs Benedict but on a croissant. They had various kinds of omlettes and waffles and other options with good ingredients. It was a delicious breakfast!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Egg & I also viewed

 

Been to The Egg & I? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Egg & I, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.