We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Snapshot of History” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Freedom Rides Museum

Freedom Rides Museum
210 South Court Street, Montgomery, AL 36104
(334) 242-3188
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 37 Attractions in Montgomery
Type: Specialty Museums
Attraction Details
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Snapshot of History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Of all the sites I visited on the Civil Rights trail, this one left the greatest impact on me. Very welcoming and knowledgeable staff, very educational experience and a wonderful tribute to those who risked so much to participate in the Freedom Rides.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    5
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great information”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

One Friday I got a chance to visit the museum and I must say i was well informed.. The museum has limited hours so check before you go.. I went on a Friday and the hours were from 12pm-4pm.. Fist let me say the guides are terrific, they are well informed.. Their was not a lot to the museum,but the guides pulled the story all together. Most of the information is written on the outside. On the inside is is more of an art gallery. in the back is a room with a computer where you can get actual experiences of some of the riders or witnesses who were there.. Their is a fee of $5, but students get a discount it may be $3-4. I felt the museum should of show more emphasis in how terrifying it must have been for the riders the PBS broadcast shows it but I was expecting the museum to show a little more feeling..

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Passionate Guides!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stopped by the Freedom Rides Museum on our way out of Montgomery. We were excitedly greeted by two young museum guides who explained the history of the bus terminal, the Freedom Rides movement, and the art gallery that is on display. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable, and I walked away with a much better understanding of the events of the Freedom Rides.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Inspiring slice of history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Very small but important museum and spot. One could almost see entire museum from admissions desk. But worthy cause and important history to raise up. Thanks

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Limited hours”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Was looking forward to visiting, but has very limited hours. Be sure to check this out before walking here. Did have some informative signs in front of the museum.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Freedom Rides Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Freedom Rides Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.