We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must-eat in Montgomery” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mr. G's Ristorante

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mr. G's Ristorante
6268 Atlanta Hwy, Montgomery, AL 36117-2894
334-356-4662
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 370 Restaurants in Montgomery
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A must-eat in Montgomery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Best pizza in town, great pasta, wonderful Greek salad, awesome brunch. Every meal has been great! The service has always been above par and the wait is minimal. It is a tad bit cramped, but after you sit down, you don't notice. We are regular customers!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    6
    2
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tallassee, Alabama
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I am 22, and recently just moved here from Florida, I know the importance of Trip Advisor because I had worked at a five star italian resturant for four years as a server in Cocoa Beach. My Boyfriend and I were craving pizza so we scouted out several places in the area that had pizza and Mr. Gus' was one out of four in the area. The parking lot looked pretty full on a Sunday afternoon so we decided to give it a shot. Walking in was a pleasant surprise. We were greeted by a smiling host and seated promptly. The only thing i would of changed about the situation was how I was dressed... it was casual but not shorts and flip flops casual... oops. Our server was excellent, my drink was never empty, he was knowledgable and relatable as well as very professional. (I forgot his name.... Mr.Blonde) We ordered a greek pizza and it was WONDERFUL. So fresh, delicioius, great ingredients. We were excited to eat it for breakfast haha. Running a resturaunt is NOT easy and honestly i was so impressed on how smooth everything went ... since I just moved to Alabama I obviously have no clue how long Mr. Gus' has been here but Bravo! Thanks for a great experience guys!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Perfect dinner with hubs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Perfect - food, service and atmosphere. The owner checked on us 2 times, gave me a bottle of his secret sauce after having a conversation with him about how delicious it was. The price was about $50. With appetizer and dessert . Will return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not as good as it used to be”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Lapses in service really hurt. First we were “lost” in an overlap of servers. Then one of our orders was mis-entered. This resulted in one of our party getting served after everyone else was nearly finished. Gus was obviously aware of this but never acknowledged the problems. Other than a short apology from the server, there was no acknowledgement, no offer of dessert of even a reduced rate for the late meal.
The spaghetti was good. The cannelloni would have been, but it suffered from having been held to long and was dry. The potatoes in the moussaka were tough and under seasoned. This was a good reminder why we no longer frequent this place.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Overpriced Saturday lunch”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Not worth the trip. Garlic hard and cold. OVERPRICED Saturday lunch. Server was VERY nice but would not go back to this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr. G's Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Mr. G's Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mr. G's Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.