We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wintzell's Oyster House

Wintzell's Oyster House
105 Commerce St, Montgomery, AL
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #25 of 365 restaurants in Montgomery
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
North Augusta, United States
2 reviews
“Yum!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The restaurant had a festive, party atmosphere yet I would've taken my 9-year-old daughter there. Service was great. We had an excellent variety of seafood dishes, all delicious!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    31
    34
    13
    9
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Food, when hot, is great -- service...not so much!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Had a late lunch there last Saturday before a wedding I was in town to attend. I had checked out the website before I left home and being that I love seafood, I just had to go! I got there about 1:30pm and though they weren't crowded I had to flag someone down after no one came and greeted me at the table. The waitress does not get extra points on this review because I went to the bar and got water myself and then had to ask someone to check on my bloody mary which she seemed to have forgotten about. She then preceded to bring me a cold bowl of gumbo after telling me how good it was. After bringing me a hot bowl of gumbo - which actually was really good - I got down to the business of oysters -- a lot of them! I ordered the sampler platter of 16 oysters prepared 4 different ways. It was delicious and I felt guilty for wanting more but I had to go and check into my hotel. I'd visit again, but I would definitely need another waitress! LOL!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great service and very good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Visited with family including two 2 year olds, their parents and grandparents, at a fairly busy time. Staff took care of us - asked for speedy kids meals to keep them occupied, then the adult meals came right after, the quickest service we've ever had in a seafood restaurant. Very attentive wait staff and very good food. We had oyster plates, plus a variety platter of grilled Gulf seafood. Everything was very enjoyable and we felt it was a good value at around $25 per adult. The décor is delightfully tacky and does lean toward a bar atmosphere. Good to see downtown Montgomery thriving - we will be back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

I got the ribeye steak. If it would have had less salt, it would have been great, but since it was too salty, it was just good. Beer selection is good. Would go back again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff P, Manager at Wintzell's Oyster House, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our restaurant. I wish we had used less of our Wintzell's Steak Seasoning on your ribeye. Please come visit us again, and let your server know to ring in your steak with light seasoning, or no seasoning at all. I promise you will love your next steak.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Just order the fried platter and don't tell”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

You are in the South. Indulge in the bounty of the nearby Gulf and settle in for some deep fried goodness. Okay, so have them raw or boiled if you must but, seriously, if you've never had an oyster, crispy on the outside and creamy inside then it is high time you tried one.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wintzell's Oyster House also viewed

 

Been to Wintzell's Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wintzell's Oyster House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.