We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good eats” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wintzell's Oyster House

Wintzell's Oyster House
105 Commerce St, Montgomery, AL
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 368 restaurants in Montgomery
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
tuscaloosa
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good eats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Food was excellent ,especially the oysters. I had a shrimp po boy and it was filling.
Only problem is that if a convention is held in town there will be a wait, but worth it.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    36
    39
    18
    10
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Wintzell's in Montgomery Hits the Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Wintzell's is located near the convention center in downtown Montgomery. However, when there is not a convention, it's a pretty sleepy scene, and on this Tuesday night Wintzell's was about a third full. It's decorated in a casual-country way and the walls are covered with silly jokes and sayings. Think Cracker Barrel with a liquor license. But the food was very good, the service very quick, and the prices reasonable. Being seafood a joint I started out with a half-dozen raw oysters which were big and tasty. We New Englander's don't think Seafood when we think the South, but the Gulf Coast has some great oysters among other things. The price was $2 per oyster, which is the going rate these days. A lot of the seafood at Wintzell's is fried -- not my cup of tea -- so I aimed for something else reasonably local: Red Beans and Rice with Chicken and Sausage. It's a simple dish but really hit the spot: Pleasantly spicy with a great sauce, good sausage, and chicken that was not overcooked and tough. Plus it arrived in about 10 minutes. The dinner salads was not inspired but fresh and not freezing cold, and after a long day with no lunch I even opted for dessert. The chocolate cake with vanilla ice cream was typically too large but the cake was moist and the icing not overly sweet. Downside? Given the hard walls and surfaces, it can probably get loud on a busy night. Otherwise, Wintzell's is low on pretension, cooked up some very well prepared food, and backed it up with friendly and fast service. It won't blow you away, but won't leave you disappointed either.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willoughby, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great oysters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

very good seafood, stoped for happy hour oysters every night, great soups, very friendly and helpfull workers

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st simons island, ga
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“It's not Mobile”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

If we hadn't been to the original one we would have been very happy.

This location just doesn't have the spirit or feel of the original....despite signs all over the walls like Mobile. Difference these signs were pre printed somewhere (think Benegins) not originals like Mobile.

But the oysters were still fabulous and I think the menu was the same.

Something happened with the guy who was shucking. Dinner took forever to come. Waitress said mgr was helping shuck. He came over and apologized and we did get a dozen oysters comp'd. Which was very nice!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selma,Alabama
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“OK fish dishes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Its nice inside with lots of funny sayings on the walls. Friendly staff. It's just that the redfish was overcooked. I've had better oysters. I would probably try it again.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wintzell's Oyster House also viewed

 

Been to Wintzell's Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wintzell's Oyster House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.