We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They liked it” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wintzell's Oyster House

Wintzell's Oyster House
105 Commerce St, Montgomery, AL
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 376 Restaurants in Montgomery
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Blountsville, Alabama
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“They liked it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I ate here with a group of coworkers following conference. I am not a seafood fan. It was really tough finding something that I liked.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    46
    23
    11
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Varied Menu, Comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Seemed like a mixture of locals and out-of-towners. Long bar. Good draft beer selection (Abita Andygator- my favorite). Menu was varied with land and sea choices. Oysters were smallish but good.Dinner took a while to be served. Parking in the area after 6 pm does not require meter payment.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Fried, greasy, poor quality food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

I ordered the black and blue salad and the lettuce was wilted and the steak was not edible due to all the fat in the meat. The server did not even ask how I wanted my steak cooked! I complained and the manager was very eager to make me happy and did not charge me for the salad.

The fried pickles are great.
Restaurant is attached to the Rennaisance Marriott Hotel which makes it very convenient.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012 via mobile

We went with a group and had good service but the food wasn't fantastic.
I ordered dinner salad and crab soup. Not anything to rave about.
Prices aren't great.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“If you like Oysters this is the place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed for a hardware show and went around the corner and ate here one night. The food was great.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wintzell's Oyster House also viewed

 

Been to Wintzell's Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wintzell's Oyster House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.