We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy mid-scale lodging” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Montgomery

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites Montgomery to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Montgomery
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9151 Boyd Cooper Parkway, and Eastchase Parkway, Montgomery, AL 36117   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #24 of 73 Hotels in Montgomery
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Noisy mid-scale lodging”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

The location of this budget hotel puts it between the Interstate at the front and a railway track at the rear so don't expect a quiet stay.
Noisy fridge/freezer in the room completes the continual disturbance and in case we were hard of hearing they put us in a room next to the lift - yes, one of those that sounds an alarm every time it arrives at your floor !
Some of the utensils in the room were dirty too eg cooking pot and drinking glasses.!
You would probably do better at the other IHG lodging up the road at the Staybridge although being franchises these hotels vary a lot in quality standards.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine W, Manager at Candlewood Suites Montgomery, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Our hotel is located conveniently close to interstate 85. The train tracks that are located behind our property are not working train tracks. When making reservations at our property we do take special request, so if you request to be on a certain floor or away from the elevator we try our best to assign rooms due to the request you have ask for. Our property is only 3 years and is a very nice property. When coming back to the Montgomery area i hope you consider us and give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    14
    6
    2
    8
See reviews for
26
10
6
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Stayed here on route to Florida so was a minimal overnight stay
On the positive- staff were super nice. Rooms very cheap, minimal but clean so fine for an overnight.
On the negative, it's a few miles to downtown (of which there is very little anyway) and npvery basic so I wouldn't stay for more than a night. It was incredibly cold the night I arrived and the rooms were pretty cold.
But would recommend for a value short stay

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellenwood, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed during Thanksgiving week, we arrive early and the receptionist Roxanne was very nice, she allowed us to check in early.

Everyone we encounter was very nice and always willing to help.
I was expecting a bigger room and the bathroom could use more lights, its was rather dark. Our room was facing the interstate the traffic woke us up several times. The walls are very thin. We heard someone on the phone at 6am it sound as if he was in the room with us. We could hear the entire conversation.

But overall a nice stay and would stay again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

I was looking for a place in this area and the price here was good plus they had a $20 gift card offer. I was greeted quickly on arrival but it started downhill from there. They didn't have the gas card and told me to come back down in a little while and she would find it. So I went on up to the room to settle in. The "studio suite" was pretty small, nothing fancy and paper thin walls. I could hear everything in the halls and adjoining rooms. No problem-turn the TV up a little.

So I ordered a pizza and decided to go down and pick up my gas card. And-yep, not there again. Headed back up and when the pizza got there I decided to grab a plate. WOW. There was a sign that said utensils have been washed but not sanitized but it was NASTY! I added a couple of pics.

On the bright side, the bed slept well and my breakfast was next door at cracker barrel so I was able to walk over. After breakfast my gas card was ready when I checked out. Overall there are much better choices in this area and I usually stay at the Hampton or Fairfield. When I told them about the plate and showed her the picture all she did was say " I'm sorry".

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin,TX
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Traveling on Thanksgiving week, particularly Thanksgiving day can be tricky. Made a reservation on the way to the hotel. Only had a short wait to check in, was surprised to see such a large DVD library behind the front desk. All the staff is excellent. The pantry is well stocked, and not a massive ripoff for a captive audience.

Our room was open as some have noted (the door is heavy and needs to be pulled shut in some cases), but not a big deal. Room is large, new and clean. The TV is slightly smaller than I'd expect for a room of the size, but htat's no problem. Full sized dishwasher and fridge, large microwave and complimentary popcorn, sink and two burner range. There's a leather recliner and we got a room with two queen beds. Bathroom is large and ventilated. Our room faced the highway, but had very little noise, pleasantly the windows open most of the way allowing for some fresh air. But the AC is cold enough to make snow so you don't need it for the temperature, but I could have used an extra blanket as I do like to sleep cold.

The DVD player is a cheap, nice touch I wish other hotels would pay attention to, especially with Redbox so prevalent. The wireless internet is fast and works great. Plenty of available plugs is good.

I'd stay here for business or with my family. Other hoteliers should definitely spend an evening here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The room we stayed in was not clean. There was hair in the bathtub and on the sheets of the bed. There was also a weird slimy substance on the alarm clock, tv stand and thermostat. We told the front desk about it, and the woman seemed totally unfazed, and then sent the maintenance man. She clearly had not listed to what the problem was. Eventually we got someone in to clean, but that was not after being really grossed out. I will say the women who did come to clean up the room were very friendly.

Room Tip: Make sure you room is clean before you unpack.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Montgomery, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Terah H,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you received service from our front desk which was unacceptable. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Headland, Alabama
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

this place was great,everybody was so helpful,room was extra nice. it has all the comforts of home. so much to do so close by. and if u want a snake in the middle of the night there is a cupboard right there filled with goodies!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Montgomery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Montgomery

Address: 9151 Boyd Cooper Parkway, and Eastchase Parkway, Montgomery, AL 36117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Montgomery
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Montgomery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Montgomery 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of The Shoppes at Eastchase and Colonial Bank Headquarters, and only minutes from Auburn University at Montgomery, Maxwell AFB and Gunter AFB, Candlewood Suites at Eastchase extended stay hotel is the perfect alternative to corporate apartments.At Candlewood Suites, we put the amenities in your room. Cook meals in the fully equipped kitchen, or relax in the overstuffed recliner while watching movies from our free movie library. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites Montgomery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Montgomery Hotel Montgomery
Montgomery Best Inn
Best Inn Montgomery

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Montgomery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.