We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of True

True
503 Cloverdale Rd, Montgomery, AL 36106
+1 334-356-3814
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Reserve with OpenTable
Update
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 365 restaurants in Montgomery
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Cloverdale Road and Graham Street
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

I was looking for a great restaurant to celebrate with my daughter for completing Commissioned Officers' Training and I found it. The food was wonderful and the service was great. Everything from the cocktails (homemade tonic water), to the entrees, to the delicious dessert (apple strudel). We were just thrilled. Menu was limited, but what they do, they do right! Prices were average for a restaurant of this caliber, not over the top.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    26
    6
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Flemington, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

My friend treated me to a 50th birthday dinner at True. The restaurant is located in an adorable eclectic boutique area of Montgomery. The decor is ecco modern with high ceilings, poured cement floors, great textiles and artwork. Our server Amanda was very familiar with the current menu, comfortable in making recommendations, knowledgeable about the area, friendly, accommodating and professional. The food was very well prepared with local, fresh ingredients, layered flavors and unique pairings. The owners obviously care about what they are presenting and the quality behind their name. The value was very good. Definitely a memorable meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I went to True on "date night" and it was a super dining experience. This was a first time visit and although it was a higher priced meal than we normally go for, it was worth every penny. Service was super and very attentive. The atmosphere of the restaurant was relaxing and calm. Will be back for another meal in the future.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding food, great service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

I visited this restaurant on Friday night and was a surprise. The food was fresh and the presentation was beautiful. The service was excellent. The value was fair. I like this restaurant and I planning to come back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

all but the vegetarian in the party enjoyed their meal. Pork, steak & fish. The vegetarian in the party did not had much choice and ended up with a rather skimpy strawberry salad which probably had more dressing than lettuce and at most two small strawberries sliced. However the ingredients have been all fresh and first rate.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed True also viewed

 

Been to True? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage True, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.