We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a return visit.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sa-za

Sa-za
130 Commerce Street, Montgomery, AL 36104
(334) 495-7292
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 385 Restaurants in Montgomery
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Naperville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Worth a return visit.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

My wife and I have visited Montgomery three times and each time we have enjoyed dinner at this wonderful Italian restaurant. The varied, the food and service are great and all in a fun atmosphere. Try it if you can.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    65
    21
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hoover, Alabama
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not the Piccata you are looking for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Chicken Piccata is a simple dish - flattened chicken cutlet, dredged in a little flour, seared and browned, with a tangy lemon caper sauce. Unfortunately Sa-za's failed entirely except that it was, in fact, chicken. A whole chicken breast, maybe steamed or boiled, certainly not flattened or seared, was atop a bed of spaghettini where a few lonely capers resided. The chicken was mushy, although I will admit the pasta was perfectly al dente. I was quite disappointed in the food.

My relatives and friends in Montgomery, who are frequent restaurant diners and, like me, of Italian heritage, told me if they'd known I was considering Sa-za they would have told me to go elsewhere.

That being said, I have been told that their pizzas are excellent. Also, it is a lovely space, and the service was outstanding.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Opelika, Alabama
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Not very good!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Went there to meet family & friends for a Happy Birthday dinner. There was ten of us, including three children. No one raved about there entree but the steamed mussel appetizer was excellent. My wife quit on the boneless ribs on the first bite. (too tough) I had a Caesar salad with chicken....terrible. No romaine, just iceberg hearts with a dry piece of roasted chicken tossed on top. the lobster ravioli (my daughter-in-law) didn't like the intense taste of her plate. the pizza & spaghetti was turned down by the kids. Now....whose kids do you know turns down BOTH of those dishes? My wife & I drove an hour one way and we both felt it was not worth it. the service was good, but we would not recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great pizza, lot of fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

This was our first visit here. Everything was very good. We had a shrimp bruschetta for an appetizer that we all enjoyed ( especially my 14 year old son). My son and I had the kafta pizza and really enjoyed it. We will be back for sure.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Italian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We were trying to find a place to eat, so I leaned out the window and saw this restaurant in front of the hotel. We decided to eat there. This place was so good we stopped there two nights in a row! The pasta was really good. We all shared a piece of chocolate cake the second time and it was soooooo good. Rachel took care of us and she was GREAT. She was really lively and friendly. The place itself was packed, but we only had to wait five minutes, taking into consideration the size of it (huge!). Overall, this is an amazing restaurant which I loved. Definitely a must if you go to Alabama.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sa-za also viewed

Montgomery, AL
Montgomery, AL
 

Been to Sa-za? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sa-za, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.