We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Italian spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sa-za

Sa-za
130 Commerce Street, Montgomery, AL 36104
(334) 495-7292
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 385 Restaurants in Montgomery
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Wheatland, California
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Nice Italian spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

This restaurant was recommended to me by a local while I was in town visiting. She mentioned they have good pizza, but we opted for typical meals. I had the ravioli which was good, but not amazing. My husband enjoyed the special lobster ravioli. We also tried their appetizer garlic breadsticks.

It was a good place, but I have had better Italian food in my lifetime. The location of this restaurant is great. There was plenty of parking available and it was down the street from the Riverfront.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    65
    21
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisiana
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Dinner was good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

We had a nice dinner at Sa-za. The salad was large and the dressings tasted very good. The spaghetti and meatballs came in a large bowl with two huge meatballs. The pasta was cooked well and everything tasted good. I would eat here again. We did eat inside and the noise was loud making it difficult to hear each others conversations. Outside dining might have been a better plan.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnesville, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“consistently delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Working in Montgomery has given me several chances to visit Sa Za. I have had nothing there that wasn't good. The Sunday sauce is a dish you may need a couple of friends to help you out. Amazing sauce but a huge portion. I love meatballs and am truly impressed that I can get them on several of their salads. The garlic bread comes crusty and warm with chunks of sweet fresh roasted garlic on top. The pastas are good. Not overcooked. And then there is the Lemon dessert. A lemon meringue with lemon curd, fresh berries and fresh mint infused whipped cream. I'm glad to spend more time in Montgomery so I can eat here again

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Not excellent, not poor.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Sa-Zas is OK, that being said I'd rather pay for delivery from Pizza Hut. Pizza isn't bad, just not what I expected. Plus the place is constantly packed and really noisy. I'll go again if someone else is buying.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erzenhausen, Germany
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Don't get the salad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This was a neat restaurant. Ate here the other night. I wasn't bad food and the atmosphere was a little sports-bar-esque. The pizza looked fantastic, I wasn't too hungry and got one of the most boring salads I've ever eaten. On the positive side the ingredients were very fresh, I just wish it was more than the meatballs, lettuce, and onions.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sa-za also viewed

Montgomery, AL
Montgomery, AL
 

Been to Sa-za? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sa-za, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.