We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a mixed experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Montgomery

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites by Marriott Montgomery to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Montgomery
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1201 Towneplace Drive, Montgomery, AL 36106   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 75 Hotels in Montgomery
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“a mixed experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2007

On the positive side:

Hotel employees (front desk, breakfast service) were extremely quick and competent - not typical for the area. Great.

My room was fantastic - great colors and decorations - great suite set up - perfect, really, for 1-2 people. Good climate control, pretty good toiletries, etc. Nice.

On the negative side:

I couldn't get their wireless internet to work with my computer. This, despite the fact that I was able to use the (weak signal) network of a neighboring hotel. Their system was not down but no one I spoke to from their service provider was able to tell me anything that helped me get on line. Very frustrating on a business trip.

Their workout room is miniscule. 3 outdated cardio machines and nothing else. No water. Terrible, really.

I thought the free breakfast didn't really compare favorably to breakfast at competitors like the Hampton Inn but it was clean and well presented and could have been worse.

  • Liked — nice room, helpful efficient staff
  • Disliked — internet access didn't work and workout room poor
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    18
    10
    12
    16
See reviews for
19
9
5
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Maitland, FL
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2005

I reserved 2 rooms at SpringHill Suites July 28-31 2005. The hotel is actually nice, but has a few problems. I will be visiting Montgomery in the next couple of months and do not think I will stay there again.
Marriott quoted me $82 per night for each room and sent me a confirmation email. When I received my statement on checkout morning, I had been charged $92 per night for two nights on one of the rooms. I brought this up to the front desk clerk who told me that there was a different rate for the weekend. I pointed out the difference in price between the two rooms. He basically made me feel as if I were trying to cheat Marriott out of money. I went as far as showing him my laptop computer with the email from Marriott that quoted $82 per night. He said he could not fix my bill and that I would have to call some other time and speak with the manager (ie...inconvenience me to fix an obvious mistake on their behalf).
On the last day of our stay, my 6 year old was swimming in the pool and found a USED CONDOM at the poolside. I brought this to the attention of the desk clerk (since there was no manager on site). Also, upon waking on Sunday morning I found a PILE OF CHICKEN BONES just outside of my door and scattered down the hall and in the elevator.
I emailed the manager who has agreed to refund the $20 back to my credit card. He apologized for the used condom and chicken bones.........
Other than those things and the fact there was not a manager on site to handle the situation, I would say it is ok. However, I will be staying elsewhere on my next visit.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chillicothe, Ohio
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
316 helpful votes 316 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2005

We stayed at SpringHill Suites on Saturday, July 2, 2005, after having made a reservation. We found our room ready for occupancy. It was clean and comfortable. The desk clerk was helpful in directing us to church and restaurants. The breakfast provided was satisfactory. If we were traveling to Montgomery in the future, we would not hesitate to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2004

Stayed here on 09/03/04. Called ahead to tell them we would arrive very late. Arrived at hotel at 1am local time. No problem checking in. Room was clean and comfortable. We had a handicapped accessible room which eliminated the normal suite room layout but still had a couch and chair with ottoman along with 2 double beds. Also had a mini fridge with a counter and sink. Would definitely stay at one of their properties again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2004

We stayed at the SpringHill Suites in June 2003. There was a cockroach in the bathroom in the first room we stayed in, but were given another room on the third floor immediately without a problem. Both the first and the second room we stayed in were VERY clean and extremely comfortable. The second room we got was a room with two double beds and a living room/kitchen (incl. 2 TVs - great for families with kids!!).
The Suites are located directly off the highway which is very convenient for sightseeing in Montgomery. Great value for the price ($79). Would definitely stay again, despite the cockroach!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2003

clean, safe, convenient, comfortable, friendly staff!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2002

clean, comfortable and convenient. Excellent value.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites by Marriott Montgomery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites by Marriott Montgomery

Address: 1201 Towneplace Drive, Montgomery, AL 36106
Location: United States > Alabama > Montgomery
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 75 Hotels in Montgomery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — SpringHill Suites by Marriott Montgomery 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, you'll love our Montgomery SpringHill Suites hotel. Our all-suite Montgomery, AL hotel is just off I-85, minutes from downtown, and convenient to Maxwell AFB and the Lagoon Park Tennis Center. We're near Hyundai, Viscofan, Dongwon, and Alabama state offices, as well as the Alabama Shakespeare Festival, Montgomery Motorsports Park, and Harriott II Riverboat. Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail at Capitol Hill is a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites by Marriott Montgomery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites By Marriott Montgomery Hotel Montgomery

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites by Marriott Montgomery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.