We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat this Thai” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lek's Railroad Thai

Lek's Railroad Thai
Union Station, 300B Water Street, Montgomery, AL 36104
334-269-0708
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 376 Restaurants in Montgomery
Cuisines: Sushi, Thai
Restaurant details
Montgomery, Alabama
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Can't beat this Thai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Lek's has become an institution in town. Providing some of the best sushi (at reasonable prices) and a varied menu of Thai food in varying levels of heat makes this the "go to" restaurant for locals and visitors alike.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    19
    7
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aviano, Italy
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Thai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Great Thai in Montgomery. Neat to sit outside and watch the trains roll by. They also serve very fresh and good Sushi rolls (think California Sushi Roll). Plenty of room for a large group and great service both times I visited.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Opelika
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Located in the Historical area of Montgomery. When I was there, there was a sign notifing people of a guided trip to be made by the owner. Sounded like the perfect way to visit Asian countries.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musashimurayama, Japan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Slow, poor service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

The restaurant is in a nice building and we enjoyed sitting on the patio in the evening. Our drink orders were taken immediately by friendly staff. Once we had our drinks, we ordered appetizers and main dishes. About 10-15 minutes went by before the 'Bama Crunch Rolls arrived (Very good), and then we waited another 20 minutes for the main dishes to arrive. We were all semi-impressed with the food... it was good, but not what others had raved over. We ate our food and sat for about 20 minutes after our plates were cleared from the table for a check. the check took another 10 minutes to clear. this outing lasted approximately 1 hour and 45 minutes total. Our drinks were allowed to sit empty frequently. The restaurant wasn't busy at all either, which puzzled us. We could never figure out what was taking so long. The worst part of the slow service was the 20% gratuity added to the check automatically. 20%! I won't be returning.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Alabama
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Delicious, but painfully slow service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Excellent, fresh tasting food. Duck curry at medium spice wasn't very spicy. But, the food was really, really good. Service, however, was friendly but VERY slow throughout the night. A 45-50 minute meal at most places turned into a 1 hour, 20 minute meal just because of the delays--10 minutes to just pick up our credit card and run it!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lek's Railroad Thai also viewed

 

Been to Lek's Railroad Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lek's Railroad Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.