We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Montgomery's hidden gem.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of F. Scott and Zelda Fitzgerald Museum

F. Scott and Zelda Fitzgerald Museum
919 Felder Ave., Montgomery, AL
+1 334-264-4222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 31 Attractions in Montgomery
Type: Historic Sites, History Museums, Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The legacy of this celebrated couple is preserved in the only remaining Montgomery home they lived in while married, saved from the wrecking ball when it was purchased in 1986. The historic house honors novelist F. Scott, best known for "The Great Gatsby," and his wife, Zelda, artist and author. The museum is open limited hours each week and by appointment.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
73 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Montgomery's hidden gem.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Putting together and maintaining such important artifacts from two of America's cultural talents in a single location is so important that I am glad that my wife and I were finally able to visit this museum. It is a fascinating place and the curator, Willie is a wealth of important information of many aspects of the lives of both Zelda and F. Scott Fitzgerald. A visit to Montgomery is not complete without stopping here.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thefitzgeraldmuseum, Director at F. Scott and Zelda Fitzgerald Museum, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Stucolco,

As the only museum in the world dedicated to either Zelda or Scott, we are thrilled that you commented in your response on our role in maintaining, for public display, a collection of Scott and Zelda's artifacts and memorabilia of their lives. We agree with you that "A visit to Montgomery is not complete without stopping here," and we hope that you will stop in again if you ever return!

Thank you for your review - your words and time are much appreciated.

Best,

The Scott and Zelda Fitzgerald Museum Association
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    24
    7
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Adana, Turkey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fascinating museum in a beautiful hidden area of Montgomery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

I was surprised to learn of the Fitzgeralds' strong ties to Montgomery and really enjoyed visiting the museum. The curator is extremely knowledgeable and loves the material, and it really enhances the experience.

Visited March 2014

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thefitzgeraldmuseum, Director at F. Scott and Zelda Fitzgerald Museum, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear cdelgior,

Montgomery certainly played a prominent role in the lives of Scott and Zelda. Zelda, as a Montgomery-native, charmed Scott with her southern, rogue debutante personality when he met her at a Montgomery Country Club Dance in 1918. The couple came back to Montgomery numerous times, but our house is the only house they ever actually rented and stayed for more than a few weeks together. Thank you for posting a review noting your observations on how important Alabama's capitol city is to this famous story.

Best,

The Scott and Zelda Fitzgerald Museum Association
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A place of romance, enchantment,emotion, and "writer's spirit.'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

An intimate setting to enjoy an indepth look into the lives of Scott and Zelda Fitzgerald. Seeing the notes and letters of Scott and taking in paintings by Zelda makes it an up close experience. Very informative.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thefitzgeraldmuseum, Director at F. Scott and Zelda Fitzgerald Museum, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear MicheleW431,

Thank you most kindly for your thoughtful visit to the Fitzgerald Museum. The "intimate" setting is something we consider to be one of our strengths. The museum itself is cozy, but the fact that our house is tucked away in one of Montgomery's oldest and most beautiful neighborhoods certainly adds to that feeling. We are always interested in return visits from our guests, so feel free to come back soon and see what's new at the museum!

Best,

The Scott and Zelda Fitzgerald Museum Association
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhope, Alabama
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“nice place old sport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

This is one of my and my seventeen yr old daughter's favorite finds. Serendipity comes alive in this quietly quaint and unpretentious place. It offered a nice way to explore our common interest and have her be the teacher. We are both fans of the literature, art and lives of the Fitzgeralds and their musuem brings that to life for us. We love that is small and off the beaten path in a still lovely historic neighborhood, All in all a special place. Thanks for the enthusiastic and intelligent guidance around the museum.

Visited March 2014

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thefitzgeraldmuseum, Manager at F. Scott and Zelda Fitzgerald Museum, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear AnonymousM4481MG,

Your description of us as "off the beaten path" is one we take immense pride in. Our location in the heart of "Old Cloverdale Historic District" gives tourists a vantage point to understand Montgomery in a way that other area do not - namely, the natural beauty of a southern city, the architecture, the flora and fauna, and, of course, the heritage. As the world's only museum dedicated to either Scott or Zelda, we are thrilled that you enjoyed the story we tell. Our best to you and your daughter - we hope that she enjoyed expanding her love and knowledge of the Fitzgeralds as much as you did getting your feet wet!

Best,

The Scott and Zelda Fitzgerald Museum Association
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A great curator can certainly make a museum visit inspiring”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

The well informed curator brought the Fitzgeralds' story to life during our visit to the museum. There are many letters from F. Scott and Zelda to each other, as well as, examples of Zelda's art work, family photos, etc. I never dreamed this would inspire me to reread some of the books and short stories by Fitzgerald as well as the couple's biographies. This is a great day trip for a senior group or literary students.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thefitzgeraldmuseum, Manager at F. Scott and Zelda Fitzgerald Museum, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Evelyn B,

Praise for our curators is praise for the museum! You are gracious in the time you spent to leave a review for us, and we are glad that you enjoyed our collection of Scott and Zelda's artifacts enough to want to read more about their lives on your own. We are always here to answer questions that your further reading may bring up, so please do not hesitate to contact us with anything related to our beloved couple.

Best,

The Scott and Zelda Fitzgerald Museum Association
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed F. Scott and Zelda Fitzgerald Museum also viewed

 

Been to F. Scott and Zelda Fitzgerald Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage F. Scott and Zelda Fitzgerald Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.