We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely worth it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hank Williams Museum

Hank Williams Museum
118 Commerce St., Montgomery, AL 36104
334-262-3600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 31 Attractions in Montgomery
Type: History Museums, Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hank Williams Museum in Montgomery, AL is a number-one destination for music fans. Exhibits include the 1952 Cadillac in which he died, 17 stage suits including Nudie , custom made boots, cowboy hats, tie collection, furniture, portraits, records, horse saddle, piano,awards, rare photos, family history and personal film footage. Experience the history of the first country music superstar and see how Hank Williams transformed country music and sowed the seeds of what was to become American Music, blues, rockabilly and even rock and roll.
Arden, North Carolina, USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Definitely worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Very nicely displayed memorabilia. Lots of donated items as well as items on loan from Hank Jr! There is also a gift shop. Easily handicap accessible.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    19
    13
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monee, Illinois
Top Contributor
271 reviews 271 reviews
87 attraction reviews
Reviews in 136 cities Reviews in 136 cities
376 helpful votes 376 helpful votes
“Great museum for Hank Williams Fans”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

After stopping at the Oakwood cemetery to say "hi" to Hank I came here to check out the museum. It's located downtown and easy to get to. Admission is $10.00, I think. No cameras allowed in the museum but are ok in the lobby. Unfortunately there's not much worth photographing in the lobby.The museum is self guided with lots of Hank memorabilia. There's some old videos including one showing his funeral. The 1952 Cadillac which he was riding in when he died is also on display. Also are lots of Nudie suits including the one he wore when he died. Some other things are from when he was young. There's displays scattered about in no particular order and lots of newspaper articles. The museum is all on one level and it'll take you an hour or two to check out everything. Simple gift shop is located when you enter. Also, pay the meter if you park on the street. I got a 10.00 ticket for forgetting to.
Hank Williams was a country music legend and died way too young. If your interested in music history or just like Hank Williams, you owe it to yourself to check out some history here.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great for country music fans”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

OK, I admit up front that I went to humor my husband. I am not a fan of country music and didn't know much about Hank Williams. There is a lot of memorabilia here, and so I suspect it would mean a lot more to those familiar with his life and music.

I tried to piece together his life story from the exhibits, but there isn't a summary biography, nor is the exhibit organized in any particular order. So I learned a bit but still felt like I was missing something.

I am amazed at the number of Hank Williams songs I actually know, but were made famous by other singers who recorded them. But I learned this mainly from the CD my husband bought, not from the museum itself.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley Chapel, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Impressive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We visited the museum and was very impressed. They have the car, which he died in. Plenty of stories, pictures, and displays. They are playing his music throughout the museum. This museum consist of 2 store front. Audrey's and Hank's 1st kitchen set is there. The person in charge knew a lot about Hank, step sister and his supposed half sister. There is a small shop there w/ 78' records and CD's for sale. They looked like they were in excellent condition! and reasonably priced.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Well worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

If you are a classic country music fan, you cannot miss going to the Hank Williams Museum. Lots of great information presented in interesting and interactive ways.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hank Williams Museum also viewed

 

Been to Hank Williams Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hank Williams Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.